We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Low standard - high prices”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of El Aguamiel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
El Aguamiel
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Maipu
Miami Springs, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Low standard - high prices”
Reviewed 17 July 2012

Typical for south american hotels the price don't match with the standard.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sofia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    10
    6
    4
    5
See reviews for
7
47
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights as part of our three month travels through South America. We spent most of our time staying in cheap hostels but this was one of the places we decided to spend some more money and enjoy a little bit of luxury. We had come from trekking in Peru and Bolivia so some rest and relaxation was exactly what we needed. We had some trouble finding the place but it was worth it when we got there!
We were there in January so spent alot of time enjoying the sunshine, relaxing next to the pool and taking in the spectacular view across the vineyards to the snow capped mountains.
We wanted to go on a wine tour which the staff happily organised for us. We were really happy with the company they suggested.
We had dinner in the restaurant one night and whilst the menu is limited the food was delicious! We even had the restaurant to ourselves. We speak very limited spanish and the chef (who also acts as wait staff) did not speak English which was a bit of a hurdle.
El Aguamiel is located quite a distance from town but we had a hire car so it didn't bother us too much, in fact we loved the privacy and gorgeous setting so much that we barely wanted to leave whilst we were there. Be sure to try the vineyards Malbec whilst you are there, we loved it!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

Minimal chic hotel in a great scenery in Maipu. The balcony is great and you can get a grape in the wineyard in a few steps. Very cozy and you will disconnect from everything here. It's beautiful, staff is friendly, food is pretty decent. Only 8 rooms, to is really calm. I would recommend for a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sarahgalvao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

Beautiful hotel located in the surroundings of Mendoza. Yes it is far away from the city and not truly on a vineyard but the staff is great, the hotel architecture very appealing and the food delicious. Perfect for those who enjoy a quiet atmosphere and prefer modern minimalist interior design rather than standardized luxury.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ly-Antho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin Ireland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

We stayed at El Aguamiel for 3 nights in April 2011 and really loved it. The rooms are very comfortable and staff very friendly and helpful. We wanted to do a wine tour of the region and got some excellent tips from the staff. One thing surprised us was that the restaurant is under used. The food was fantastic as was the wine!! We ate in the restaurant all three nights as we figured it would be hard to beat the quality of the food and the wine. The Hotel has its own small vineyard producing excellent wine. We used the Hotel as a base to see Mendoza but quite honestly ended up staying put and relaxing at the Hotel a lot - we did do a wine tour of the region though - it would be rude not to!!
Rooms are very comfortable with superb views of the Andes. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: All rooms are equally good
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MartinByrne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2011

I'm glad I didn’t take too much notice of the last couple of poor reviews - seemed to me to have been written in anger. I had a great stay and would certainly recommend this place (indeed it had been recommended to me by someone who travels to this area a lot). The design is outstanding. Think luxury minimalist Scandinavian spa - very simple, clean lines, natural materials and beautiful views (all the rooms have large sliding glass doors looking out over vineyards and with the snow-topped Andes in the background). The rooms are quite spacious and comfortable with good lighting (as well as plenty of natural light) – especially noteworthy was the wonderfully comfortable bed. Plumbing was a bit rickety in parts, but it all works.

But what really made this hotel stand out for me was the unbelievably good service. The ladies at the reception spoke great English and worked really hard to make everything perfect. Their recommendations (places to visit, restaurants, car hire, tickets) were thoughtful and they made a ton of great bookings for me. Really couldn't be more helpful and efficient.

The place is hard to find - you need GPS. It is well away from main roads, which is wonderful. Yes there are some noisy dogs in the neighbouring area who seemed to
set each other off for a while in the evening (Argentina does have a lot of dogs!), but they settle down after half an hour or so. Apart from that the nights were unbelievably quiet - wonderful. Breakfast was excellent. One evening I had a glass of their malbec wine and liked it a lot – very natural and characterful (artisanal). Wine is my passion and the purpose of my trip.
I visited Club Trapiz briefly to take a look and it seemed nice too. Similar wine theme but quite different atmosphere – more luxury holiday camp, less luxury Skandi spa.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank skyblazer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2011

The 6 foot electric fence around the compound was said to be for "the animals". I was expecting a hotel on a vineyard with some good food and tasty wine. That's not the case. It's quite a production to have dinner. If you want to eat dinner there you are instructed to tell them in advance so they can get food to prepare for you (our cheese dish wasn't good so we didn't want to spend those prices on food that reflected the cheese dish), if you want to eat anywhere else you need to hire a driver to come and get you and bring you (Club Tapiz is just down the road but out of the slums, has amazing food, and guests there are treated to complimentary wine tastings for about the same amount of money a night). To return after dinner you have to have wherever you are eating call you a driver to bring you back. It has a serious feeling of being locked in once you are there. There are about 30 rows of vines, they make an organic wine that isn't bad there though but you will have to pay to taste any of it.

Our biggest gripe was that Aguamiel presented itself as a boutique hotel but once there it became clear the owners cut corners and charge for EVERYTHING they can. The staff are so sweet, it hardly seems fair that they should be working for owners who charge $20US a load for laundry that isn't returned dry (and somehow tried to tell us we had too much laundry so it was 2 loads for $40US... we were pretty much backpacking so that is hard to believe unless it is the worlds smallest washer). When we had an issue with corruption in Uco Valley one of the members of the staff offered to see if he could charge our card for a certain amount of cash and give us money to spend as all the banks were closed on holiday. It was such a kind gesture, and would have been really appreciated but the owner had some big problems with the credit card rates that would be charged. When we offered to change some American cash we brought instead he was told to exchange it but to keep an exchange fee. It wasn't a lot of money to keep as an exchange fee but it was a great example of how the owners view the guests at Aguamiel. At Aguamiel they built 8 rooms on the cheapest land possible, in the cheapest way possible, and charge everywhere they can. Again, the staff are so sweet and helpful. We would have left early without them.

Room Tip: Go down the road to Club Tapiz.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Soon2bebride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maipu
4.8 mi away
Villa Mansa Wine Hotel & Spa
Villa Mansa Wine Hotel & Spa
#2 of 4 in Lujan de Cuyo
516 reviews
3.6 mi away
Posada El Encuentro
Posada El Encuentro
#4 of 9 in Chacras de Coria
306 reviews
1.6 mi away
Club Tapiz Hotel
Club Tapiz Hotel
#2 of 6 in Maipu
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Casa Glebinias
Casa Glebinias
#1 of 9 in Chacras de Coria
787 reviews
4.4 mi away
Esplendor Mendoza
Esplendor Mendoza
#1 of 6 in Maipu
788 reviews
8.0 mi away
Cavas Wine Lodge
Cavas Wine Lodge
#1 of 4 in Lujan de Cuyo
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Aguamiel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Aguamiel

Property: El Aguamiel
Address: Calle IV esq. Anchorena, Maipu, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Cuyo > Province of Mendoza > Maipu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Maipu
Hotel Class:4 star — El Aguamiel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your El Aguamiel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Aguamiel Hotel Maipu
El Aguamiel Mendoza, Argentina - Maipu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing