We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Made to feel very at home at Christmas by Hans and his family.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Posada Cavieres Wine Farm
Ranked #2 of 11 Maipu B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 December 2012

Stayed for three nights over Christmas and had a wonderful time. Hans was very welcoming and helped us with everything from an airport transfer to planning our winery tours to personally dropping us back in Mendoza at the end of our stay.

There are three rooms in total. We had room 1 at the front of the house which was fine. The other two rooms at the back of the house benefit from patio doors on to the terrace with a table and chairs and are brighter than room 1. Our room was cleaned daily and the bathroom was spacious with a hot shower. The bed has a mosquito net as well as mosquito covers on the windows.

Breakfast was included in the rate and was very good - eggs, ham, cheese, fruit, toast, lots of different condiments, fresh juice, tea, coffee...everything you could ask for. Lunch, dinner and snacks are also available for an additional cost. The empanadas and pie were delicious. Hans also sells his own wine at a very reasonable price - we enjoyed numerous bottles!

There are lots of wineries within cycling distance of the posada. We also planned a tour with a driver to wineries further afield. Hans helped with this by recommending an excellent driver at a good price.

Room Tip: Room 2 and 3 have patio doors leading on to a terrace with table and chairs. These rooms are bright...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KimAndJLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (190)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 190 reviews

Reviewed 22 December 2012 via mobile

We stayed in this Posada to discover the wine area surrounding Mendoza. The owner Hans and his wife helped us with planning a wine-tour with private guide and made sure we felt at home.

On request Hans will do an Argentinian "Parilla" (BBQ) for his guests; it is a must! They have great wines, salads and one of the best steaks in Argentina! And it is very relaxed to do it on the porch of the Posada, not having to go anywhere else!

Breakfast was complete, fresh and the rooms are big, nice beds and great shower. It is no five-star hotel, but well worth a five-star rating if you take in to account the price!

Finally; it is located in a small city just outside of Mendoza, easy to reach by cab (you can book that via them as well). Surrounding the Posada are some wineries that you can visit with the rental bikes that they have and the will help you choose the best ones! There is also wifi!

No downside? Maybe just that there is no airco, but they keep the Posada closed during the day and open windows when it gets cooler outside. We did not mis it!

Hope to return there in the future!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnDoe77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cavieres, Propietario at Posada Cavieres Wine Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Always welcome if you want to return, we do have airconditioning in every room installed now!
Hans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2012

Great host, he will be your barbecue man (asador) at night and help you plan your tour during the day. It's family run, there are few rooms, great and relaxed atmosphere. It's an ideal place to stay but isolated, it's perfect with a rental car (there are no restaurants/bars very close by). They have a lovely dog that is extremely friendly with kids and guests.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ilaria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2012

We spent three days and nights at Cavieres in Maipu and loved it. The rooms are comfortable and Hans and Alina are very friendly and helpful. full of tips regarding trips in the area. Hans does a great job to keep everyone happy with a very nice asado and he pulls out the wine map and tells everyone where the wineries are and restaurants.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sepp999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2012

Posada Cavieres is a picturesque farm in the middle of the Maipu wine route. Hans is a very hardworking, helpful owner that will take time away from his work in the vineyard to draw a map, answer questions, or just help in any way. Him and his wife provide bikes for a low rental cost, so you can bike to the nearby wineries. Be aware though that the road is filled with all sorts of drivers. We had fun on our bike rides, but it was definitely a little scary as cars zoomed by. At times, the tourist police would act as our escorts and drive slowly behind us as we biked. It was a little awkward, but it least we were more secure.

I would recommend if you are spending significant amount here to get a rental car. Posada Cavieres is pretty remote. We did a couple of tours and ended up having to pay extra to get picked up out of the normal area. Plus, there are a lot of beautiful drives around the farm that would be great with a rental car.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bethany W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2012

...Posada Cavieres was wonderful. We just returned (mid Oct. 2012) and the time of year is perfect to visit. Not crowded, nice temps. Hans does a great job to keep everyone happy with a very nice breakfast, and he pulls out the wine map and tells everyone where the wineries are and restaurants. We ate nice lunches at wineries daily and Hans and Alina prepared nice food for us at night - a chicken pie, an asado, empanadas - at a very reasonable price. The pool was open, we LOVED Tommy the sheepdog who stayed with us on our morning walks around the vineyard. The room was spacious and clean. The location is very near six wineries and two more are a short bike ride further. The other guest all seem interested in talking about their day so it was not boring at all. A very relaxing stay after walking all over BsAs.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ctwino_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

We spent 4 perfect days and nights at Cavieres and loved it. The rooms are comfortable and even in the cold winter nights during our stay warm enough, thanks to the woodstove and the electric heating panels. Hans and Aina are very warm and enthusiastic hosts full of tips regarding trips in the area. But that's not all: the breakfast with homemade bread and jam (and other things) is a relaxing way to start the day, and the evening meals we asked for were perfect. The meat slowly cooked in the outdoor 'horno' was a feast, and a fine combination with the homegrown Malbec. For everyone visiting the wineries around Mendoza, this is THE place to stay.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
Thank dijkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maipu
3.4 mi away
Esplendor Mendoza
Esplendor Mendoza
#1 of 5 in Maipu
835 reviews
3.8 mi away
TikayKilla Lodge & Wines
7.6 mi away
Lares de Chacras
Lares de Chacras
#2 of 9 in Chacras de Coria
749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Club Tapiz Hotel
Club Tapiz Hotel
#2 of 5 in Maipu
396 reviews
7.8 mi away
Casa Glebinias
Casa Glebinias
#1 of 9 in Chacras de Coria
830 reviews
12.4 mi away
Cavas Wine Lodge
Cavas Wine Lodge
#1 of 4 in Lujan de Cuyo
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Cavieres Wine Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Cavieres Wine Farm

Address: Espejo Este 3705, Maipu 5517, Argentina
Phone Number:
Region: Argentina > Cuyo > Province of Mendoza > Maipu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Maipu
Price Range: £74 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Posada Cavieres Wine Farm 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Posada Cavieres is located in the middle of the wine route in Maipu, Mendoza's first wine zone, with 9 wineries in walking distance. The lodge has 14 hectares, where you'll find vineyards and olive trees. The lodge has 3 spacious rooms, each with private bathroom. It's equipped with a kitchen and dining room. Swimming pool and Wifi. The host Hans provides a copious breakfast with regional products. The posada has its own line of wines, "Cavieres." From the posada you can cycle along the wine road and go wine tasting in the surrounding wineries, visit olive oil factories, chocolate- , liquor- and cheese factories, go horseback riding or do a trip into the mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Posada Cavieres Wine Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Cavieres Wine Farm Hotel Maipu
Posada Cavieres Wine Farm Mendoza, Argentina - Maipu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing