We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Posada Cavieres Wine Farm
Ranked #2 of 10 Maipu B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
gold coast, australia
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Very nice”
Reviewed 23 July 2013

My wife and I really enjoyed our stay at this posada. The owner, Hans, is extremely friendly and will go out of his way to make sure you are comfortable. He even took us on a tour of the Andes in his Land Rover Defender - boy, does he love that car! The rooms at the posada are extremely neat with tasteful furnishings. The beds are comfortable, and the breakfast was one of the better ones we had in Argentina - Argentinians believe in carbs and more carbs for breakfast. The freshly baked bread was particularly delicious. There are plenty of wineries close to the posada, and you can rent a bike from Hands and ride. Hans knows the area well, and was able to recommend some really good restaurants. In summary, I wouldn't hesitate in recommending Posada Caveries to anyone interested in exploring that Maipu region.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank azzabazza18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    31
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
124
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
US
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Hans picked us up n Mendoza and we stayed for 5 nights to explore Maipu. As soon as we arrived, we were so happy with our choice. Although both Hans and his wife run the Posada, we mostly spoke with Hans. He's a great host. He's very attentive and helpful. He'll answer all your questions, help you set everything up, and if you're too tired after a day of wineries, you can have empanadas, salad or a tarta if you just want to relax. The addition of ham and cheese at breakfast was nice compared to many Argentinean breakfasts (which aren't enough protein for me). Hans also took us out for a Villavicencio tour into the mountains in his Defender and made sure to go off roading to make the most of it. We were able to pick our room when we arrived, so we picked room 2, which was great. It has it's own door in and out. The beds are comfy, the water is hot, and it's a great value to boot!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmstyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

From being picked up at the airport, to the awesome wood fireplace in the posada, everything in our stay was wonderfully taken care of. I cannot recommend this place more highly enough. Such wonderful hosts. We hired bikes and cycled the Maipu wine route - which was also wonderful.

Room Tip: Hire a bike from Hans and go explore the wine lands. Stay at least 3 nights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RaineCP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

We have visited Pousada Cavieres for 5 nights. We would recommend it.

+location in the middle of wine region of Maipu. From here you can reach by bike/car many famous wineries.
+helpful and attentive hosts. They will help you organizing your stay, they will call to organize it if you don't speak Spanish, they will ask you if you like to have a dinner. You can see they put their hearts into their business
+spotless, clean rooms
+privacy
+big breakfast.


- you need a car to move because the public transportation is not to reliable.

great hosts, great place!

Regards,
Karina and Basti

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karina Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Posadas Cavieres ,booked for us by our travel agent ,was a great choice for somewhere to really relax after two weeks of long drives. Five rooms on the edge of a vineyard [ours was large and comfortable opening out onto a veranda with table and chairs}. There was a communal dining / sitting room where substantial breakfasts were served at a communal table with the other guests. There was also a kitchen for guest use where you could cook a simple meal or purchase home made pies or pizzas for an evening meal----- a real pleasure after eating in restaurants for 3 weeks!!
Hans and his wife were lovely relaxed and friendly hosts, always ready to give advise about the area or just chat about their life on a working vineyard and of course one mustn't forget the welcome from Tom the sheepdog!!
Cavieres is a perfect spot to do the wine area ,being surrounded by vineyards ,but we were so enjoying relaxing that we only made the one next door!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
69 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2013

Posada Cavieres B&B is the heaven on earth!

We stopped there after spending several days on gallivanting Colombia, Peru and Chile in South America, to unwind from “stress”! Tranquility, local red Malbec, white Torrontes, Andes beer and BBQ was exactly what we needed!

It is safe, sound and easy to get to. We had Walter, a driver Posada Cavieres arranged for us, with ok-ish English but wealth of information meeting us at the airport. Walter and journey to posada was very good and super-value for money.

The overall ambiance and the resonance with the exemplary hosts. A quality experience! Relaxing place to stay. Just outside Mendoza, In Maipu neighborhood, Posada Cavieres Wine Farm is the joint where one could lower the shields and enjoy the countryside, vines, roses, olive, fig & pomegranate trees and endless grassed area to run round and be happy.

My wife, two small children and I had a great time at the Posada Cavieres bed and breakfast. The meet and greet was very nice and welcoming and our room was simple, beautiful and very well equipped.

The hosts couldn't have been more beautiful, helpful and accommodating. Their hospitality, the personal attention, to make sure you have a comfortable stay, the ‘homely’ breakfast in the morning while the sun is shining and birds are singing in the palm trees, and the superb, mouthwatering Argentine BBQ at the end of the day, was all to good to be true. Yet, it was!

Crisp, clean swimming pool was refreshing for me and my four years old son. The pool has a child-safety fencing all round which made us even more relaxed with our 1.5 year old. Which meant we could have an extra glass or two of extremely reasonably price and fruity Malbec (see pictures below.)


Would definitely recommend this place, which made us feel like we were in our own home. Would highly recommend especially if you want something in countryside, natural, small, personal and somewhere to rest for a while. I think the title, B&B is a bit misleading. Unlike other B&Bs, you can chill-out at Posada Cavieres all day.

Our thanks to Alina and Hans (owners), their lovely children and Tommy the sheepdog for a wonderful stay.

Enjoy xx

P.S. Thank you also to the hosts for the complimentary bottle of wine! Almost forgot! :-) xx

Room Tip: No need any tip here, it's all good!! :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kamham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cavieres, Owner at Posada Cavieres Wine Farm, responded to this review, 13 May 2013
thanks for the great comments. We try to make everybody feel at home in our small posada. Our main concern is that our guests can enjoy Maipú, Mendoza and it's small family wineries from the inside. We try to work together with the municipality and other lodgings and wineries to make little by little improvements to our wine and olive road. This year another stretch of the bycicle lane on the wine road should be completed. Also we are working on the accessebility of the wine road of Maipú, making it easier to get around with public transportation, which is still "work in process".
We are proud that each year people find better-improved services in the area that was for long forgotten. Generally we also notice that the wineries already manage better wines each year.
As for our posada, we have some great plans to expand our small posada so we can offer a seperate dining and living room and a professional kitchen. Ofcourse with our first wines being bottled we will try to include a cave in the posada so we can bring the efforts of the work in our vineyard as close as possible to our guests. So the aim is closing the posada in august and september to allready make some progress on that project.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2013

Posada Cavieres was a personal recommendation and how grateful I am to my AirBnB host in Buenos Aires for it. I can only endorse the positive comments so many have already written. I originally booked for four nights and the plan was to spend five more in Mendoza. No disrespect to Mendoza [a beautiful and interesting city] but after one night in the city we rushed back to the peace and natural beauty of Posada for another four nights where, fortunately, they had a room available.
Comfortable, spotlessly clean, quiet, a relaxed and generous breakfast, delicious "snacks" also available, amazing bbq, great walks and bike rides with hosts so interesting and obliging it felt staying with friends. Their advice gave us some wonderful days out into the mountains and historic sights in the area. And really interesting to talk with them and learn something about running a business and bringing up a family in Mendoza Province.
Even though it was warm I didn’t try the swimming pool but I’m guessing it would be bliss in high Summer. The Malbec they produce from their vines made excellent drinking and their own olive oil travels well - I wish I could have brought more home with me.
For birders, lovely just to wander out with binoculars into the vineyards, olive groves and fields behind the Posada - know nothing about Argentine birds but I saw hawks hunting, beautiful burrowing owls, lapwing and loads I didn't know. I did see a pair of condors on one trip into the mountains.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emarbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cavieres, Owner at Posada Cavieres Wine Farm, responded to this review, 13 May 2013
Thanks M. We noticed the owls took a permenant stand around our posada. There is a couple of burrow owls that nest underground and that must nest nearby and comes down every night. In the country side we consider them a symbol of good luck. We as well enjoyed your company and I was happy that you liked to go out with Tommy. I'll by a book about birds whenever I get my hands on it.
In the meanwhile, we've been able to bottle an excellent 2012 Malbec to accompany an asado. Has been a tremendous job, but we managed to make the best of it. Also our 2013 Malbec awaits us paciently in the winery.
Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maipu
3.8 mi away
TikayKilla Lodge & Wines
3.4 mi away
Esplendor Mendoza
Esplendor Mendoza
#1 of 5 in Maipu
809 reviews
4.2 mi away
Club Tapiz Hotel
Club Tapiz Hotel
#2 of 5 in Maipu
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Villa Mansa Wine Hotel & Spa
Villa Mansa Wine Hotel & Spa
#3 of 4 in Lujan de Cuyo
542 reviews
10.0 mi away
Park Hyatt Mendoza
Park Hyatt Mendoza
#7 of 84 in Mendoza
2,757 reviews
7.6 mi away
Lares de Chacras
Lares de Chacras
#2 of 9 in Chacras de Coria
719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Cavieres Wine Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Cavieres Wine Farm

Property: Posada Cavieres Wine Farm
Address: Espejo Este 3705, Maipu 5517, Argentina
Phone Number:
Region: Argentina > Cuyo > Province of Mendoza > Maipu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Maipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Posada Cavieres Wine Farm 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Posada Cavieres is located in the middle of the wine route in Maipu, Mendoza's first wine zone, with 9 wineries in walking distance. The lodge has 14 hectares, where you'll find vineyards and olive trees. The lodge has 3 spacious rooms, each with private bathroom. It's equipped with a kitchen and dining room. Swimming pool and Wifi. The host Hans provides a copious breakfast with regional products. The posada has its own line of wines, "Cavieres." From the posada you can cycle along the wine road and go wine tasting in the surrounding wineries, visit olive oil factories, chocolate- , liquor- and cheese factories, go horseback riding or do a trip into the mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Posada Cavieres Wine Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Cavieres Wine Farm Hotel Maipu
Posada Cavieres Wine Farm Mendoza, Argentina - Maipu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing