We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value, friendly home stay”
Review of Hostel Wineries

Hostel Wineries
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hostel Wineries
UK
Level Contributor
383 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Great value, friendly home stay”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

As the kitchen/diner/bathrooms are shared with the family that live here it's more home stay than hostel.
The dorms are simple,clean, big lockers, extra blankets. The bathrooms are single sex, big, clean & functional.
We only paid $8 a night & had the 5 bed dorm to two of us. Incredible value for this country & area.
Other than wineries there is nothing to do in Maipu & not many eateries. 2 nights is ample to explore - we particularly enjoyed the boutique vineyards (Mevi has great views, food & v reasonable wines to buy)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GayleUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
9
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

Hostel wineries is a small family run homestay with very friendly owners. Maria is kind and always keen to chat, as are her sons.
The double room we stayed in had a double bed and a bunk bed so was slightly cramped but not too bad. The bathroom was basic but functioned well and the room was very clean.
Breakfast is a simple affair and Maria sits near by with mate and talks to you (communication was a little hard for us as our Spanish is poor).
The location is right in Coquimbito which is perfect for a day or two of cycling the Maipu vineyards. However, Coquimbito shuts early and has very little to do and few places to eat so bear this in mind when you plan your stay!
As for value, it's hard to beat a clean, friendly homestay in wine country for less than $30 USD a night!!! Would recommend for a night or two!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SPerrin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 March 2014

I had a great time at Hostel Wineries!
The hostel is the best hostel to explore wineries in Mendoza / Maipu, since it is situated in the middle of the tourist winetour area, close to a bike rental.
The brothers have many good suggestions, offer wine for cheap and even an assado which is nothing short from awesome.
The stay definitly improved my spanish, but basic information can be comunicated in english.
If you are in Mendoza for Wine, check out this hostel, it's worth it!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank StuttgartDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago, Chile
1 review
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We stayed in Hostel Wineries in June 2013. The two brothers who were running the hostel made us feel very comfortable and treated us like friends, sharing time with us cooking and drinking mate. They were running the hostel while their mother was away and as it was the off-season, we were almost always the only guests there, so they were very eager to hang out with us and talk about Argentina and the US and whatever interested us.
The hostel was extremely relaxing and warm and has a lot of space including a large fenced in yard where the dogs and cats they have run around in the sun. We always felt comfortable and the guys were very accommodating, walking us to a restaurant and to the most awesome little grocery shop ever to get food to cook in their kitchen. We stayed in a couple other hostels in Mendoza that were more expensive and not nearly as homey as hostel wineries. We were planning on moving around more but we felt so taken in by the hostel that we wound up staying for a week. The brothers also know everyone around, connecting us with Mr. Hugo for bikes and wines and a small ranch for cabalgatas (horse riding). We had a motorcycle with us which made the commute to Mendoza and transportation to various wineries very easy. We aren't sure what the bus situation is.
When we left Mendoza to return to chile we got turned back at the border because of a storm and went right back to hostel wineries where they were expecting us and invited us back in after having seen news of the storm on TV. It was truly an incredible hostel experience, probably the best and most relaxing that we have ever had, and we are looking forward to returning the next time we're in Coquimbito.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alejandro_and_Andrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2013

Very friendly granny and her son welcome you to their house as if you're family, whatever the hour. Dorm and bathroom are basic but clean. It's so cheap for the warm experience you get! Location is good, close to shops and there is more than one winery not too far from the place, probably why it's called Wineries. Amazing Granny Maria though, loveliest Argentine I've met so far...

Room Tip: Rooms on the left (dorms) can get some street noise in the morning but earplugs help.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PJ_Colpaert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 October 2012

This hostel has a great location near all the wineries. Renting a bike to visit the wineries is very easy and cheap. The family that owns the hostel is very friendly and they spend time speaking Spanish with you, letting you practice.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 5 April 2011

The owners of the Hostel Wineries were the most accommodating, and giving people I have come across. I really felt like I was with relatives. They were always there to offer advice, and help make my trip enjoyable.

This hostel isn't a modern hip place. It has the essentials, and a great location. You can rent a bike nearby and you are at the center of all the wineries. Accommodations were clean and the common area was tidy.

Room Tip: Call ahead and speak spanish
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CONSTAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maipu
2.6 mi away
Esplendor Mendoza
Esplendor Mendoza
#1 of 5 in Maipu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
1.1 mi away
TikayKilla Lodge & Wines
7.8 mi away
Posada El Encuentro
Posada El Encuentro
#4 of 9 in Chacras de Coria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Ibis Mendoza
Ibis Mendoza
#38 of 84 in Mendoza
3.5 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
0.7 mi away
Antigua Residencia
Antigua Residencia
#1 of 9 in Maipu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
0.9 mi away
Posada Verde Oliva
Posada Verde Oliva
#1 of 10 in Maipu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Wineries? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Wineries

Property: Hostel Wineries
Address: Urquiza 2997 | Coquimbito, Maipu 5513, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Cuyo > Province of Mendoza > Maipu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Maipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel Wineries 2*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hostel. Is very easy to visit many wineries by bicycle and we will help you rental bike from the most reli and friend by bike rental . Bed linen, Lockers, Kitchen, grill TV + DVD Internet, Breakfast, Laundry and other extra services as Excursions Wineries tour Adventure tourism, Horse riding, Rafting, Rappel, Trekking and Rent Bicycles The establishment offers rooms fully equipped with individual lockers ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hostel Wineries reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Wineries Mendoza, Argentina - Maipu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing