We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful surprise destination”
Review of Posada Verde Oliva

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Posada Verde Oliva
Ranked #1 of 10 Maipu B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A wonderful surprise destination”
Reviewed 3 October 2013

My daughter and I were exploring Argentina. Following 4 exciting and hectic days in Buenos Aires we booked into the Posada at the last minute, as from the reviews we read it looked a great place to relax for a couple of days. It surpassed all our expectations. Wonderfully clean and comfortable rooms, superb communal room with lovely log fire in the cool evening. Beautiful outdoor seating areas for the warmer days. We were made very welcome and felt at home, able to make tea in the kitchen and get drinks from the fridge. Julia arranged a taxi for us for the afternoon of our departure and allowed us to use our room facilities well after checkout time. We had a lovely evening meal, and were able to drink a bottle of wine we had bought during one of our bodega visits. Great restaurant within short walking distance too. Best hotel of our whole holiday in Argentina. Great location for getting outdoors and for meeting some of the most hospitable people we have come across in the world. And great service from Julia and her team.

We did not do enough research to make sure we knew we were going, and the Posada is not well signed, but we had superb local help in finding it. Thanks Anna Maria!

Also, love the olive oil based cosmetics.

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blackhorse03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    242
    16
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
177
5
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

My mother and I were looking for a homebase from which we could explore the city of Mendoza and the surrounding wine countries during our Mother's Day trip to Argentina this year. We selected Posada Verde Oliva based on the TripAdvisor reviews. The warm reception we received when asking questions via email only reinforced the positive TripAdvisor rating of this BnB and the hosts. Julia and her staff are warm and caring people who were more than willing to make a dinner from scratch if we did not feel like leaving. They provided references for a driver who took mom and I to Uco Valley and Lujan de Cuyo for wine tastings, site seeing and amazing meats cooked on woodfire grills. Posada Verde Oliva bottles their own olive oils and wine, both of which we tried onsite. Breakfast included breads, cheeses, jams, butters and eggs prepared any way you like - our favorite was scrambled with olive oil, which came served in a lovely clay bowl. The homebrand wine was available by the bottle with dinner and paired well with the country meat and potatoe casserole we tried for dinner, and also with the cheese tray we opted to enjoy poolside our first evening in town. After long days of exploring the countryside it was always nice to return to Julia and the other travellers here at Posada Verde Oliva. We watched the birds perch in the tall trees around the property as we lounged poolside. We enjoyed lazy strolls through the vineyard and pondered the canals cut through every home's yards. Shared casual conversation about our day's experiences while sitting on the indoor couches listening to Tango music with a mother and son from Germany, also a Mother's Day trip. Enjoyed breakfast overlooking the vineyard with a couple from California on their anniversary trip. Sipped the house wine while we browsed the travel magazines on the outdoor couches until the sun slipped so low behind the trees we were forced to move closer to the light from the picture window. Thank you for a wonderful Mother's Day.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are just off a side street so you will hear traffic if you sleep with the windows o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NinKashi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vina del Mar, Chile
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Visiting Mendoza without staying in Mendoza. The Posada Verde Oliva offers the best opportunity to do so. The hotel is situated in Coquimbito, in Maipu, where many very good wineries are located. But the location is not all that the Posada has to offer. Hospitality has been declared the leitmotiv at Posada Verde Oliva. Argentina is already famous for its friendliness, and Posada Verde Oliva takes it to the next level. That is even more noticeable after having spent much time in Chile. We arrive in Mendoza after midnight and ask how to get to the Posada. Friendly waiters and policemen seem to be everywhere, directing us to our destination.

There is no sign on the road indicating where it is located. We talk on the phone to Julia, the owner, who awaits us on the road, so we do not miss the driveway. With a bottle of Malbec, an excellent red wine from the Posada‘s own production, we finish up our easy-going day.

Aside from red wine, Julia also makes cosmetic products (cream, shampoo, bath scrubs) out of olives. In every bathroom of the four rooms, these products are waiting to pamper you. But there are even more positive things to say about the rooms. They are spacious, all equipped with TV, air conditioning and free Wi-Fi. The beds are large and very comfortable.

The next morning, another beautiful surprise is waiting for us. The breakfast is unparalleled. Fruit, bread, cake, eggs, cheese, ham, jam, juice, coffee, tea – and again the wonderfully friendly staff. This is how one should start every day! It is early May and a bit too cool to have breakfast on the terrace. But the olive trees in the garden lounge come alive in the morning sun and the crystal clear water of the swimming pool glistens.

The Posada Verde Oliva is excellently located to explore the wineries of Maipu by bike or car for some great day excursions. If you choose to go by car, it is better to rely on the service of the Posada and hire a driver. He can bring you to more distant wineries if you wish. But the bike trip is fun and not too exhausting.

Another possibility is a trip to the city of Mendoza (15 to 20 minutes by car). Mendoza has a huge park, several plazas and excellent restaurants. If you need further recommendations, Julia and her team can help you with restaurant reservations, outdoor activities and more.

Who wants to leave a hotel where one is pampered? Massages and cosmetic treatments are offered as well as lunch and dinner. We end the day with another excellent red wine and an abundant cheese plate. We will be back!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChristophEnLaQuinta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We stayed at the Posada, outside of Mendoza recently, and is a beautiful, comfortable, well-run place to stay. Our host, Julia, was extremely helpful, as our bags had been delayed for several days. Wonderful to be here in the frosty mornings and great location near all las bodegas. It's a little out of town, but Julia recommended several drivers including on who also spoke English. We can imagine it being lovely in summer as well.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Catherine080706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

We (two couples) stayed at the Posada for a week in June, and loved the warm, friendly atmosphere of the inn and the staff. Julia was exceedingly helpful in dealing with questions, reservations for wine tastings and restaurants, and activities. The other staff members were totally sweet and helpful. The weather was too cold to enjoy the patio or the pool, but they looked so inviting. The rooms were clean,large, and well-appointed with flat screen TV, and great llinens. The lovely modern baths were stocked with Julia's own olive oil spa products. Best of all was returning to the Posada after a long day of touring and having a warm fire, tango music, and a wonderful meal cooked to order. The posada is about 30 minutes from the city of Mendoza and was a bit hard to find, but in a quiet area with grapevines and beautiful views of the Andes. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Rooms in the main house lead to a shared living room with the fire--so great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ellyn1135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Really special venue. Hosting by Julia and her staff (all female) was perfect in the main house.

The house has a main communal area with open fire, stereo and books. Great for sipping he homemade malbec in the evenings, it also where breakfast is served and you can also have dinner if you fancy it.

Room was large with a dressing area between the main room and the bathroom. Lovely features and finish, large shutter styler windows etc.

Breakfast was big: multiple rounds of breads, toast, fruits plus eggs cooked as you like. We also had dinner twice. Once was a three course affair with salad, chicken and potato stew plus local dessert. The second was less formal by request where we had a simple but great pizza which we couldn't finish so took out for lunch the next day. That is the 'at home' vibe, we were free to grab beers and snacks from the kitchen which was great after a long day out and about.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ted H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013

Amazing location, accommodating hosts, and fantastic accommodations. Julia and the staff (and Miguel, the driver) are some of the nicest people you'll ever meet. They all made our stay a memorable one. We will absolutely be back...and next time, we'll bring an extra suitcase to take home more of their wine!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikep30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maipu
11.8 mi away
Villa Mansa Wine Hotel & Spa
Villa Mansa Wine Hotel & Spa
#2 of 4 in Lujan de Cuyo
531 reviews
8.1 mi away
Lares de Chacras
Lares de Chacras
#2 of 9 in Chacras de Coria
711 reviews
5.8 mi away
Club Tapiz Hotel
Club Tapiz Hotel
#2 of 5 in Maipu
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
TikayKilla Lodge & Wines
3.2 mi away
Esplendor Mendoza
Esplendor Mendoza
#1 of 5 in Maipu
804 reviews
8.7 mi away
Casa Glebinias
Casa Glebinias
#1 of 9 in Chacras de Coria
800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Verde Oliva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Verde Oliva

Property: Posada Verde Oliva
Address: Montecaseros 2223 | Mendoza, Maipu CP 5513 Maipú, Argentina
Phone Number:
Region: Argentina > Cuyo > Province of Mendoza > Maipu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Maipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rural Hotel located in the exclusive Wine route in Maipu, Mendoza. Surrounded by Malbec vineyards, centenary olive trees and many wineries to visit. It has five rooms, a park and a large swimming pool. Dinner service for guests. Olive therapy with Verde Oliva Eco Cosmetics. Wine, olive oil tasting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Posada Verde Oliva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Verde Oliva Mendoza, Argentina - Maipu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing