We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend getaway - unforgetable”
Review of Esplendor Mendoza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Esplendor Mendoza
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Maipu
Certificate of Excellence
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Weekend getaway - unforgetable”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We came to Mendoza for a long weekend by car. If you don't have your own transportation, you may want to consider a different place, but downtown Mendoza is easy to reach. Both the hotel and the restaurants/bars offer generally a good value for your money so you don't have to move around at night. The highlight of our stay was booking a private wine tour through the hotel's tour desk -- Achaval Ferrer, Salentein, and O.Fournier.
The driver, René Martinez, was competent and friendly, and the suggestions for the vineyards outstanding -- a small boutique winery with some of the best Malbec, a cellar tour of a somewhat eccentric large company (in retrospect, we would have exchanged Salentein for another small winery), finishing with a spectacular lunch at O.Fournier. The whole trip covered quite a long distance, but especially the lunch was worth every minute of the ride.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Markus L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAVMendoza, Gerente at Esplendor Mendoza, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate the time taken to share your experience with TripAdvisor. I will share your comments with my colleagues to work to constantly improve and provide better service. We look forward to hosting your next visit to Mendoza.

Best Regards

Diego Viñolo
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

804 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    396
    298
    75
    22
    13
See reviews for
176
386
13
106
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Our room was very spacious and the bed was incredibly comfortable! The breakfast was so much better than we have had at other places with kiwi, pineapple, grapefruit, and a lot of cereal choices not to mention jams and regular sweet stuff. The gym was also much nicer than anticipated with a decent amount of free weights and two really great brand new stationary bikes. We also ate at La Lucia in the hotel and had a really great dinner.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank phatpat42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAVMendoza, Gerente at Esplendor Mendoza, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate the time taken to share your experience with TripAdvisor. I will share your comments with my colleagues to work to constantly improve and provide better service. We look forward to hosting your next visit to Mendoza.

Best Regards

Diego Viñolo
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2013

Mendoza has so much more to offer than Maipu. Save your gas and time and stay in Mendoza. We spent the last 4 days of a 2 week trip in Argentina at Esplendor and we just couldn't figure out what they are trying to accomplish. Restaurants on site are all the same, just different names and service is seriously lacking in all areas of the facility. Our room was clean and linens are nice. Huge windows look out to the Andes and need a major cleaning. The pool area was nice but lacked side tables for setting down a drink and the hot tub was mysteriously empty. Breakfast offerings expanded upon the typical croissant and cheese to include cereal, breads, ham and fruit. Check out was a nightmare...for the employee considering our standards for a 5 year old complex. Waiting on one computer system to check us out, then printing our final bill on a dot matrix printer exhibits the depth of inefficiency and lack of desire for excellence that the Esplendor would have you believe they are striving for.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tennis1957-13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAVMendoza, Gerente at Esplendor Mendoza, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate the time taken to share your experience with TripAdvisor. I will share your comments with my colleagues to work to constantly improve and provide better service. We look forward to hosting your next visit to Mendoza.

Best Regards

Diego Viñolo
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013

located in maipu, close to mendoza city buyt rather far from the winery route. the facilities were of a typical 4 stars hotel but you do not feel the flavour of mendoza. view is as if you were in a highway hotel, no good restauranmts close by. it is ok but i do not recommend for a visit to mendoza

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sergelegabriele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAVMendoza, Gerente at Esplendor Mendoza, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate the time taken to share your experience with TripAdvisor. I will share your comments with my colleagues to work to constantly improve and provide better service. We look forward to hosting your next visit to Mendoza.

Best Regards

Diego Viñolo
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 March 2013

I don't recommend this place. You book a room in advance and when you get there, without prior notice, you don't have a room anymore. Somehow, strange that over the easter weekend there was an issue at the hotel and 12 rooms were unavailable right? This show certainly the lack of care for those customers that took the time in advance to book a room. Was it overbooked? Then be honest and share the true story. What a shame!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Floppy07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAVMendoza, Gerente at Esplendor Mendoza, responded to this review, 2 April 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate the time taken to share your experience with TripAdvisor. I will share your comments with my colleagues to work to constantly improve and provide better service. We look forward to hosting your next visit to Mendoza.

Best Regards

Diego Viñolo
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

I'm vacillating between giving this one a 3 or 4. The room we were given was very comfortable, with a large bed and a fantastic shower. The decor within the room was funky; the pool was large and great for lounging. We also booked some great excursions with a wonderful driver, Lucas, through the wine-tour travel agency located across from the front desk.

But booking a trip to wine country and staying at an Arena complex is a bit disappointing. I felt like I was in surburbia: the hotel is just off the highway in a giant building that also houses a casino. The staff, though sweet and friendly, could have been a little more helpful in recommending wineries and restaurants. We arrived on a Sunday, and they led us to believe that we would be stuck eating at the hotel restaurants that night. We ended up doing some research on our own and finding a great winery to have dinner at that night. If you want to stay in Maipu specifically and do careful advanced planning for tours, then this is probably a great bet, and worthy of a 4 or 5 rating. But if you just want to check out Mendoza,and maybe want to be a little spontaneous in planning, you are probably better off staying somwhere in Mendoza city or at or near a top winery.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davesee12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAVMendoza, Gerente at Esplendor Mendoza, responded to this review, 2 April 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate the time taken to share your experience with TripAdvisor. I will share your comments with my colleagues to work to constantly improve and provide better service. We look forward to hosting your next visit to Mendoza.

Best Regards

Diego Viñolo
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Distrito Federal, Argentina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 February 2013

As they made a mistake with check in date, we got the VIP suite room. Very spacious, hydro massage bath, king size bed, big stretched balcony, nice sofa and mini bar. Spa basics can be used for free, it has indoor and outdoor pools. Free underground parking (comes handy when hail strikes - common in that region).Room service is cheaper than all of the restaurants that the Hotel & Casino has. They even give you AR$50 to play on the slots. Breakfast buffet is quite good.
You get an excellent quality for the price paid. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mat G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAVMendoza, Gerente at Esplendor Mendoza, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate the time taken to share your experience with TripAdvisor. I will share your comments with my colleagues to work to constantly improve and provide better service. We look forward to hosting your next visit to Mendoza.

Best Regards

Diego Viñolo
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maipu
5.3 mi away
InterContinental Mendoza
6.7 mi away
Park Hyatt Mendoza
Park Hyatt Mendoza
#7 of 84 in Mendoza
2,703 reviews
8.6 mi away
Villa Mansa Wine Hotel & Spa
Villa Mansa Wine Hotel & Spa
#2 of 4 in Lujan de Cuyo
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Diplomatic Hotel
Diplomatic Hotel
#8 of 84 in Mendoza
2,170 reviews
6.4 mi away
Mod Hotel Mendoza
Mod Hotel Mendoza
#19 of 84 in Mendoza
609 reviews
6.7 mi away
NH Mendoza Cordillera
NH Mendoza Cordillera
#18 of 84 in Mendoza
959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esplendor Mendoza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esplendor Mendoza

Property: Esplendor Mendoza
Address: Maza y Emilio Civit, Maipu 5515, Argentina
Phone Number:
Region: Argentina > Cuyo > Province of Mendoza > Maipu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Maipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Esplendor Mendoza 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Esplendor Hotel Mendoza is just 12 minutes from the city of Mendoza, in the zero kilometer of the wine routes. It is located inside the Arena Entertainment Complex Maipu, with Casino, Cinemas, Restaurants, Bars, and Stadium for 5,000 people. Esplendor Mendoza is a Boutique Hotel with 118 luxurious rooms, Spa and Gym features with latest equipment and professional assistance for the welfare of body and soul, 2 pools (one Caribbean style and the other Olympian, covered and heated) . We also have a Kid's Club, a place specially designed for children to have fun while parents enjoy the experience Arena Maipu. Other services: Laundry, tourist information, luggage storage, ATM, hairdresser and free WIFI throughout the hotel Covered parking for 500 vehicles and 24 hour security. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Esplendor Mendoza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esplendor Mendoza Argentina - Maipu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing