We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional Mendocina cuisine”
Review of Casa de Campo

Casa de Campo
Ranked #2 of 47 Restaurants in Maipu
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$16 - US$19
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Welcome to “Casa de Campo”Welcome to our home. A humble and rustic place like the one we lived in when we were small. The place of open arms, with the mud oven; the house of the Mendoza viticulture man, who at 6 AM was out in the vineyard before sunrise working until sundown. The house of the home-made bread and cured ham, the house of the “mate”, the house that at 11 AM starts to smell of home-made food, the house whose dishes invite you to a nostalgia of “remember how grandma used to make it”. Welcome to plain and simple ...... to freshly made, to home-made, to a friendly atmosphere; to listen to our folklore, to having a good time.Welcome to tradition, to the regional cuisine ...... to something different; to the chopped pickles and improvised snacks, to the mud-oven baked piglet or rabbit, to the home made empanadas and the home-made desserts, all accompanied by some of the finest wines of Mendoza.Welcome to Casa de Campo; not a restaurant, but a place where we transport ourselves back in time to the times where everything was homemade and healthy, to a time we would all love to go back to.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Traditional Mendocina cuisine”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Evrywhere we went people would recommend Casa de Campo. When we finally got there we understood why. The vibe is homey, cozy and family like. Everyone there knows each other and even the owner comes out to meet you.
They have a pre-fixed menu to choose from. I had carne masa, it was just the most tender beef I've ever had!! Every course was great and unique.
We sat there for about two hrs, no one would rush you and the food just kept flowing.
Loved food, vibe and the whole experience.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LizzyCarrk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    233
    124
    35
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Packed with locals....not to be missed”
Reviewed 29 March 2014

On a quiet Sunday in Maipu this place was packed with local Argentinians....and from first taste we could see why. Delicious clay oven baked home made bread was hugely addictive, melt in the mouth empanda's were some of the best we had in Argentina (so good I ordered extra to take away with me for our flight out of Mendoza to Iquazu!) and the rabbit just fell from the bone...succulent, juicy and perfectly cooked. We wish we'd had time to stay for dessert. A must in Maipu

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank LucyK85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
204 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“An accidental find”
Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

The set lunch is truely magnificent! An absolute delight and we had to squeeze in the dessert. This is a five star plus place as far as the food is concerned. Just wow.

The owner describes the food and was on hand throughout.

If you are here in the neighbourhood it's a must

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank RobertJGray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Quality, hearty meals and a friendly owner.”
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Casa de Campo was recommended to us by the owner of our Lodge in Maipu, and we ended up having two meals here during our 3 day stay- a lunch and a dinner. While there was definitely a language barrier as my wife and I speak very limited Spanish and the owner, Juan, speaks no English, we were somehow able to communicate and to even share a few laughs with him during the ordering processes. Juan was very personable and friendly, definitely a "character," and if we could have understood each other better, I'm sure we would have had a great conversation. He recommended some very nice but reasonably priced bottles of wine on both visits (the fact that he clearly made no attempt to "up-sell" us and actually recommended some of the cheapest options, was greatly appreciated), and the food came out exactly the way that we had ordered it, despite the language barrier.

Casa de Campo's meals consisted of an empanada per person to start, followed by shared board of cheese, olives and cured meats, followed by the main courses, followed by a dessert each. The food was typical Argentine fare - heavy on the meats and hearty vegetables and potatoes, but we really enjoyed everything and left absolutely stuffed both times. The empanadas were very good, the bife de chorizo was gigantic and my wife's chicken dish in a white wine sauce was tender and delicious. While I would not class it as fine dining, it is not priced as such either, and the atmosphere is casual and inviting which gives the accurate impression that you are dining in a family-run establishment in a suburban/rural area. The quality and quantity of the food and drink for the price paid was excellent.

We would certainly return here for lunch or dinner, and would recommend it to anyone in the area. Go eat with Juan!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GallasGM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Out of this world empanadas”
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Our local host recommended this restaurant to us. The manager was the only one who spoke any bit of English so there was some difficulty in ordering and the prices seemed elevated relative to the typical prices in Mendoza, especially for lunch. The lunch special ran about $25-30 US depending on what exchange rate you use. But, when the food arrived, it was heavenly. Empandas were the BEST we had during our entire two week stay in Argentina - crispy fresh dough (not chewy), with delicious combo of ground meat inside. I ordered Conejo (rabbit) which was tender and succulent. The dish that stole the show was the pork, however - so flavorful, moist and just melts in your mouth. We also had a wonderful bottle of Albarino to match the dishes. Other than the prices, the food is top-notch and a can't miss if you're in Mendoza (Maipu)

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rwucla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Casa de Campo also viewed

Mendoza, Province of Mendoza
 
Maipu, Province of Mendoza
 

Been to Casa de Campo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing