We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Nicest 'Hostel' You'll Ever Stay In!”
Review of Antigua Residencia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Antigua Residencia
Ranked #1 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Maipu
Reviewed 11 January 2014

One Sentence: If you don't stay here, you'll regret it!! (I wanted to just say that, not only because it's true but sometimes less is more! plus, trip advisor is making a minimum characters to write.) This is pretty much and UPSCALE hostel for the regular price. it's fantastic and really beautiful!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SandwichboyLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (92)
There are newer reviews for Antigua Residencia
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 92 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2014

Antigua Residencia is, as I'm sure you've read, is a converted winery set amongst the vineyards and olive groves of Maipu. The owners are an Italian family and they are friendly, kind, helpful and very interesting to chat to. They have converted the former winery into the most beautiful place to stay. It is the most elegant hostel that I have ever visited. The grounds are lush and have a Tuscan feel. There is an excellent pool and a shaded area. My husband and I stayed in one of the converted wine vat, which we enjoyed as we ourselves are great lovers of wine. We arrived on New Year's Eve, and we're delighted and humbled when the owners asked us to join them for a three course dinner that evening. We were made to feel so welcome, and the food was easily the best I enjoyed in Argentina. My husband was given the honours of pouring out the champagne at midnight, and we all watched the fireworks. It was a very special evening and we were so grateful. January 1st was a bank holiday, so we spent the day resting by the pool. It was such a wonderful place to relax. They cooked us some delicious pasta that evening. The food and wine were very reasonably priced. On a more practical note: the bathrooms are clean and immaculate, as are the rooms. Breakfast is delicious and plentiful. It's an excellent place to stay to enjoy the Maipú wine trial. The owners called Orange bike hire, and he picked us up and dropped us off at no extra charge. I recommend that you stay at Antigua Residencia. It's very special place and has the potential to become a swanky boutique hotel.

Room Tip: If you stay in one of the double rooms, ask the owners to put the air con on as it can get hot at ni...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsRoki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Great Italian family, clean swimming pool, heavenly beds, beautiful area and just about the most amazing food we had on this trip!!! Everything fresh and healthy.
The wineries are really closeby and mendoza city you can reach after a 45 minute busride.
It´s a perfect stop for a couple of days. Descansar y disfrutar (rest and enjoy)!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 444Meggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013 via mobile

Loved this great place. I wished we known this before cause than we would have stayed here instead of mendoza. Winehouses around the corner but the place itself is worth the stay. Sleeping in a old winebarrel is something special. We only had a drink here but got a tour through the accomodation. The owners were so nice. I think this is a great place to really enjoy the argentine wine scenery.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Melissa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

If only we would have known about this place before booking our hotel.. We passed by on our way to Trapiche and decided to have lunch here. We were so impressed, amazing food and great hospitality by an Italian family. We were shown around the hostel because we were curious and it truly looked amazing, how original to sleep in a barrel! My partner and me both went to hospitality school and work in a restaurant/hotel in London and we both agreed that this is where its all about. It has the complete package. You have your authenticity being an old winery, but it has all the modern necessities you need, combine that with great food and hospitality from the owners. I have been travelling quite a bit and seen many hostels, but this really is a hidden gem.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SarahW1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

I cannot but just completely agree with the previous reviews. Italian family runned (really nice people), part of the rooms are like inside big old wine barrels, a concept I hadn't see before but we loved. I also recommend the food. The pasta carbonara is possibly the best I have ever had. Ah!, and in front of the Trapiche bodegas

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank panzerschreck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

A true gem, 3 years ago a multi-generational family brought a closed bogega. They've just finnished turning it into perhaps the nicest place I have ever stayed. Gorgious grounds, massive swimming pool. Fantastic location, some increadile food, and service which makes you feel like an old friend visiting. At 150peco's for a bed this is a real steal. Get here before the word gets out. Thanks for a great stay guy's.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Szaboaaaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maipu
3.1 mi away
Esplendor Mendoza
Esplendor Mendoza
#1 of 5 in Maipu
828 reviews
8.7 mi away
Casa Glebinias
Casa Glebinias
#1 of 9 in Chacras de Coria
819 reviews
1.0 mi away
TikayKilla Lodge & Wines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Villa Mansa Wine Hotel & Spa
Villa Mansa Wine Hotel & Spa
#2 of 4 in Lujan de Cuyo
559 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hostel Wineries
Hostel Wineries
#3 of 10 in Maipu
21 reviews
1.1 mi away
Posada Verde Oliva
Posada Verde Oliva
#1 of 11 in Maipu
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antigua Residencia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antigua Residencia

Address: Julio A. Roca esq. Nueva Mayorga- Coquimbito, Maipu, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Cuyo > Province of Mendoza > Maipu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Maipu
Price Range: £20 - £48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Accomodation at Casona Rural Bodega (Hostel):46 single beds in 7 roomsExclusive accommodation in the ponds of the winery:6 double bedsServices Included:Hot and cold breakfast, Bed Linen, Shared Equipped Kitchen, Recreation and Relax Area with DirectTV, Asadero, Swimming Pool,Wi-Fi, Wide Parking, Large Green Spaces and Garden.Optional services:Towels, Internet Point, Washing Machine, Restobar in front of the pool, Tour Assistance, Event Hall, Bycicles Rental.Restaurant:We offer a homemade cuisine, with healthy selected local products.Traveling between the typical local food and an international choice, with a special space for the Italian dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Antigua Residencia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antigua Residencia Mendoza, Argentina - Maipu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing