We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I could have stayed here forever!”
Review of Club Tapiz Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Club Tapiz Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Maipu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Club Tapiz is amazing! The staff was so helpful in planning our wine tastings and with dinner recommendations. They also arranged for transportation for everything we did. On the day we were suppose to leave, there was a little strike at the airport. Monica, at Club Tapiz, kept calling around to find out the status of our flights and the strike. But the most amazing example of how helpful they were came after we checked out. We flew to Buenos Aires (where we were going to stay for just a couple days before leaving the country). When we arrived in BA, we realized that we had forgotten a bunch of our clothes at Club Tapiz. We emailed them and asked if they could ship them to us (overnight). They told us the owner would be flying to BA the next day and would bring them to us!! We assumed we would go meet her somewhere to pick them up but she had them dropped off for us at our hotel. Who does that???

On to the hotel itself -

The food at the hotel is amazing! The lunches are great - huge steak sandwiches served on cutting boards. YUM! The dinner is a tasting menu and it's really delicious! The breakfast is good too (and included in the room rate).

The property is gorgeous! It's in the middle of the vineyard with stunning views of the Andes. It's exactly what we were looking for!

There is also an informal wine tasting each evening where you can try some of the Tapiz wines and mingle with the other guests. Make sure you do this at least once during your stay!


What else can I say? I love this place and I'm currently plotting to try to arrange a family vacation here sometime in the next year or so.

Room Tip: Try the free wine tasting in the evenings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank melissa o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (400)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

84 - 90 of 400 reviews

Reviewed 19 December 2013

First, noone met us at the airport as we had been told would happen, so we went in a cab to Club Tapiz after waiting 45 minutes at the airport.
The first day the hotel set us up for a beautiful lunch at a vineyard, and vineyard tours at 3 vineyards, which went very well although there really wasn't any tour. A driver was summoned that spoke no English, although he was very nice and did a good job (we speak a little Spanish). We found out later that an English-speaking driver was available and I'm sure that would have enhanced our trip. On the second day we went to Uco Valley which was fabulous in scenery and spectacular vineyards. (I would stay in Uco if we ever return to Mendoza).
As to the hotel, we were given a room in Casa Zolo, "the main house located a few yards from the Club". It was definately not as nice as Club Tapiz. When I said that I thought we had a room at the Club we were told "you booked on Expedia, so you get whatever is available". We were told we could have the Club room for one night and move, and we should have done that because we were very unhappy with Casa Zolo. Although it was historic - it was also old, not clean, smelly bathroom, and a walk from the Club Tapiz main hotel.
Dinner was fine, in a very nice setting, although there was dirt in our mushroom risotto.
Breakfast was very good. There was a "wine tasting" every night which consisted of drinking 2 Club Tapiz wines. It was outside with other guests and was nice.

Room Tip: Be sure you are in Club Tapiz, not Casa Zolo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SABTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

We had reserved a spot at another posada in Maipu through Expedia, and were told upon arrival that they had never heard of us nor did they have room for us. Stopping at Club Tapiz for lunch to discuss other accommodations, we were told that they had room for us, and what a find! We stayed in the Casa Zolo, an 1890's house at the back of the property that had been the country house of a local government official. All of the charm of an elegant estancia was still intact, surrounded by grapevines and stunning views of the Andes to the west. There were free wine tastings in the evenings, helpful excursion coordinators, and perhaps some of the finest food that we experienced during our 2-week journey throughout Argentina. Club Tapiz has the feel of a small country estate with the added bonus of very helpful staff and outstanding cuisine.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank senoradiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013 via mobile

The classic shabby chic kind of old place, full of history, decrepit but getting away with it due to the lovely location, great staff, nice food and ancient buildings. You will almost certainly enjoy the peaceful gardens, birdsong, sunbathing next to the vines, sampling wine with other guests on the evenings and relaxing here. The dinner was very good in the restaurant and although breakfast was small it was fine before heading out to explore for the day. I just can't help feeling that it could be much nicer with a little investment, loving care and maintenance. A bit too shabby in places, with peeling paint, a dirty looking pool, a very poorly equipped spa, sun loungers that fall apart, one old battered parasol to fight over next to the pool, and in our room the bathroom was more like a student house with cracked tiles and a shower head that was useless. And after saying all of that I give Club Tapiz 4 stars! This shows how the rest of the place makes up for the deficiencies....but how much nicer this place could be!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Finney70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Stayed here recently for 3 nights and had a lovely time. The staff, ambiance, accommodations and
services make you feel like you are at someone's private hacienda. Carolina, Sebastian and Alejandro were wonderful host. They are available and ready to help you make the best of your
visit to the wine region. Each one of them so knowledgeable in their area of expertise.
Enjoyed coming back each day after touring the wineries to relax on one of the many terraces and
listen to birds or simply admire the beautiful grounds. The wine tasting sessions at 7 pm were so
informal but so informative and fun to attend. We came home with a new favorite wine, Black Tears. If you have a Costco, try it!
Terruno, the restaurant on the premises, has a wonderful menu. One can choose from the
5 course or 2 course meal each evening. I had the best cabrito at this location! Yum!
This restaurant is staffed by the first culinary cooking school in the region.
Don't think twice and book a room here for at least 3 nights. Wish I would have built into my travel plans one day to just relax here.

Room Tip: We had room 7 on the corner. They even have a pillow menu.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ana b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Very cool, old, original hotel. The building is very interesting. The staff was friendly and helpful. Loved the pillow bar. We got massages that were alright, and definitely worth what you pay. The nightly free wine tasting was nice and we liked most of their wine. When we mentioned we were on our honeymoon, they delivered a bottle of champagne and chocolates to our room. A very nice touch. The pool is fairly small but deep and cold so very refreshing. We wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lacyknov2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

a real place, a lived in and used and still active home and bodega. Very helpful staff, wonderful home grown organic food and wine, a treat. The main Tapiz vineyard is a way away but also worth visiting. You will find that Llamas are still useful and the mountains complete the view.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TonyGwilliam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maipu
2.7 mi away
Esplendor Mendoza
Esplendor Mendoza
#1 of 5 in Maipu
850 reviews
3.4 mi away
Lares de Chacras
Lares de Chacras
#2 of 9 in Chacras de Coria
767 reviews
3.6 mi away
Casa Glebinias
Casa Glebinias
#1 of 9 in Chacras de Coria
844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Cavas Wine Lodge
Cavas Wine Lodge
#1 of 4 in Lujan de Cuyo
765 reviews
6.1 mi away
Villa Mansa Wine Hotel & Spa
Villa Mansa Wine Hotel & Spa
#2 of 4 in Lujan de Cuyo
574 reviews
6.2 mi away
TikayKilla Lodge & Wines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Tapiz Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Tapiz Hotel

Address: Ruta 60 km 2.5, Maipu 5517, Argentina
Phone Number:
Region: Argentina > Cuyo > Province of Mendoza > Maipu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Maipu
Price Range: £144 - £204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Club Tapiz Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Club Tapiz is located in an estate built in 1890 surrounded by 14 hectares of vineyards and olive trees with an enthralling view of the Andes Range. The house was restored preserving it's structure of Renaissance-style Villa. It features only 7 exclusive, fully equipped rooms. Terruno restaurant invites guests to relax and taste exquisite dishes made with products from its organic vegetable garden. Club Tapiz was declared Historical, Architectural and Tourist Heritage of the Region. In 2008, Club Tapiz was distinguished as the Best Accommodation of Mendoza by the Great Wine Capitals. In 2009, Club Tapiz was chosen as best Accommodation in a Winery by Cuisine & Vins. Located a few yards away, and also sorrounded by vineyards, Casa Zolo, the residence that once belonged and was the Governors House, has 4 rooms with private bathroom, air conditioning, it's own swimming pool and playroom, are in more private setting, ideal to hire complete with friends or family. Hotel rate includes breakfast, SPA access, Wine tasting every evening at 8 p.M., WI FI internet, and guided visits to Tapiz Winery and Tapiz Olive Oil Factory. Guests can prune, harvest and participate in the vineyard activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Club Tapiz Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Tapiz Hotel Maipu
Tapiz Hotel Mendoza
Club Tapiz Hotel Mendoza, Argentina - Maipu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing