We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed, welcoming and luxurious”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Club Tapiz Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Club Tapiz Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Maipu
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Relaxed, welcoming and luxurious”
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

Arriving at Club Tapiz felt like returning to my ancestral home, except I don't have an ancestral home and if I did I doubt it would be quite as lovely. Beautifully restored, Casa Solo, suited our young family (aged 1 and 4) very well. They provided a sweet cot for my daughter which she adored and a swimming pool for, what turned out to be, our exclusive use. The feel of the place was informal and staff were keen to make us feel welcome. We were invited to pick grapes from the vine - which we did, eating them greedily, and also to help ourselves to a glass of wine before dinner. Breakfast was delicious with some of the jams made from fruit from the garden. All of the staff were friendly and helpful - even conducting a full search of the place with us as we looked for our misplaced keys. Thank you everyone.

The meals were good - the memory of our lunchtime steak sandwich will remain with us for some time to come.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kittybelle62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    238
    98
    29
    7
    3
See reviews for
42
238
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We stayed in Casa Zola in April 2014 - the hotel is lovely and the staff were helpful. Casa Zola is a walk from the main hotel and slightly nearer to the (noisy) road but nice nonetheless. Breakfast was good and included - only disappointment was the taster menu dinner which was overpriced for average food. Complimentary wine tasting was fun though.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeborahSusanM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 March 2014

An amazing part of our honeymoon trip to South America. We stayed at club tapiz for 4 nights and could not have been made to feel more welcome, the staff were wonderful, the food was delicious and the wine, well let's just say we tried it several times just to check it was ok and managed to get through quite a few bottles! The wine tasting every evening with our host was a great way to find out about the history of the winery, the local area and also to meet other guests. We did a day tour of several different wineries which club tapiz helped us organise. A great place to relax after our adventurous trips to galapagos and macchu Picchu! We would both highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kati79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
81 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We stayed at Club Tapiz to kick off our Argentinian adventure and had a great stay. The hotel staff was helpful in providing directions, calling cabs for us and arranging bike rentals and a few reservations when we were there.

The food at Terruno restaurant was pretty good. We ordered the four course meal and were able to select what dishes we wanted, though I will note that they were sold out of many of the entrees, including steak so our options were limited. Both pools and the grounds were kept very neat and spotless.

The hotel does a very cool free wine tasting each night for all of the guests. Alejandro led the tasting for three of the nights and did a wonderful job explaining the stories behind Zolo and Torrontes, the wines that are made at the Tapiz winery. The wines are excellent, and I enjoyed the opportunity to interact with guests visiting from countries all around the world.

On to our room - our room was conservatively decorated, but definitely felt old and needed a fresh coat of paint and some other modern improvements. The bed was not very comfortable, and the bedding looked worn and old. We did not stay in the main lodge, but were in the Casa behind the main lodge. I think the rooms in the lodge are kept a little nicer and looked to be a bit larger, but the hotel was sold out during our stay so we could not change. Our bathroom was pretty clean, but very small and it took at least 20 minutes for the water to heat up for showers. Again, a quick renovation and this place would be updated in no time.

Breakfast was fine - cereals, yogurts, made to order eggs and toast were offered. However, if you were not up during the start of breakfast, it didn't seem like they replenished the food that was out.

We had such a great overall experience in Mendoza that our room was a small blip in the overall stay. I would note that this hotel is a little far off the beaten path, so cab fares did add up to and from the city in Mendoza and to Chacras de Coria for the two nights we spent out for dinner.

Room Tip: I would recommend requesting a room in the main lodge versus the back Casa where we stayed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrienne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

What a gem of a spot—great food, great art; wonderful service.

What stands out most, though, is the hotel's mechanism for introducing guests to each other. At 7 pm, a new wine selection is set out for guests to share, and at 8 pm a wine-tasting experience takes place around the pool. By the time everyone goes into the exquisite dining room for dinner, tables are being pushed together, and people from all over the world are getting acquainted.

Room Tip: Book a room in the main building rather than the annex
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
88 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Stayed four nights at Club Tapiz in mid-January 2014. We loved everything about this place except for the beds. The setting, the staff, the restaurant, the refreshing pool, the dogs, the security, the wine tasting, the history is the reason we stayed. We wanted to switch hotels after our first night, our backs were hurting. However, we met other travellers who were staying there and everything was so perfect that for once in our lives, we thought the comfort of our beds came secondary to the experience of Club Tapiz. That's quite something! I would've given it 5 stars but the beds aaargghh! Two hammocks! Other guests had the same complaints, one suggested we put the mattresses directly on the floor. Best breakfasts, hands down. Might want to bring earplugs, the birds will wake you up. There are hundreds in the trees outside your door.

Room Tip: Stayed in room 3, overlooking the pool and vineyard. All rooms are on the same floor but we had a gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gennieb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Arrived at Club Tapiz on Dec 30 for three nights. Upon our arrival we were shown our room. The room was old, dark and dingy. The bathroom looked like it was from a prison. They had no other rooms available so we decided to leave immediately. The hotel staff was understanding and very helpful. They did their best to make us comfortable while we were trying to find another hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jaynie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maipu
6.1 mi away
Villa Mansa Wine Hotel & Spa
Villa Mansa Wine Hotel & Spa
#2 of 4 in Lujan de Cuyo
516 reviews
9.6 mi away
Cavas Wine Lodge
Cavas Wine Lodge
#1 of 4 in Lujan de Cuyo
688 reviews
3.4 mi away
Lares de Chacras
Lares de Chacras
#2 of 9 in Chacras de Coria
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Casa Glebinias
Casa Glebinias
#1 of 9 in Chacras de Coria
787 reviews
3.7 mi away
Posada El Encuentro
Posada El Encuentro
#4 of 9 in Chacras de Coria
306 reviews
8.2 mi away
Park Hyatt Mendoza
Park Hyatt Mendoza
#7 of 84 in Mendoza
2,596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Tapiz Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Tapiz Hotel

Property: Club Tapiz Hotel
Address: Ruta 60 km 2.5, Maipu 5517, Argentina
Phone Number:
Region: Argentina > Cuyo > Province of Mendoza > Maipu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Maipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Club Tapiz Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Club Tapiz is located in an estate built in 1890 surrounded by 14 hectares of vineyards and olive trees with an enthralling view of the Andes Range. The house was restored preserving it's structure of Renaissance-style Villa. It features only 7 exclusive, fully equipped rooms. Terruno restaurant invites guests to relax and taste exquisite dishes made with products from its organic vegetable garden. Club Tapiz was declared Historical, Architectural and Tourist Heritage of the Region. In 2008, Club Tapiz was distinguished as the Best Accommodation of Mendoza by the Great Wine Capitals. In 2009, Club Tapiz was chosen as best Accommodation in a Winery by Cuisine & Vins. Located a few yards away, and also sorrounded by vineyards, Casa Zolo, the residence that once belonged and was the Governors House, has 4 rooms with private bathroom, air conditioning, it's own swimming pool and playroom, are in more private setting, ideal to hire complete with friends or family. Hotel rate includes breakfast, SPA access, Wine tasting every evening at 8 p.M., WI FI internet, and guided visits to Tapiz Winery and Tapiz Olive Oil Factory. Guests can prune, harvest and participate in the vineyard activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Club Tapiz Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Tapiz Hotel Maipu
Tapiz Hotel Mendoza
Club Tapiz Hotel Mendoza, Argentina - Maipu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing