We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Over 1000 wineries in mendoza- don't waste time going to this one” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Familia Zuccardi

Familia Zuccardi
Ranked #4 of 48 things to do in Maipu
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: We are a family company founded in 1963 by Engineer Alberto Zuccardi. He began planting vines in Maipú (province of Mendoza), experimenting with an irrigation system of his own creation based on a method used in California. Fifty years after the starting point of this path, there are three generations joined by a passion for wine.
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Over 1000 wineries in mendoza- don't waste time going to this one”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

Sleepy walk around the winery. Tasting of 2 wines that poorly represent the winery- a sparkling red and a Tempranillo

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Keynany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

682 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    379
    221
    55
    19
    8
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Try the Cooking Class!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

There were 3 different cooking classes we found in Mendoza, and chose the Zuccardi experience. This was one of our funnest experiences in Mendoza!

You start the day with a typical Argentine continental breakfast with toast, jelly, pastries and coffee. You are then escorted into the kitchen with the rest of the Zuccardi chefs, to learn hands on how to prepare empanadas, pastries and homemade bread from scratch. An absolute delight! Our teacher/chef was from Mexico who spoke amazing English and made the entire morning a fun, interactive experience. We honestly feel like we can try to make empanadas at home!

Then, you get a chance to have a glass of wine or coffee with your homemade pastries. You get a full tour of the vineyard, and the tourguide, Tom from the UK, is studying wine and an enthusiast for the wine making process which makes it fun.

There was a large variety of wine tastings, and the shop was huge with many different wines, and souveniers to take home.

Then, you have lunch where you have a chance to enjoy your empanadas, along with endless amounts of wine, grilled meat, vegetables, salad and dessert. Lastly, they send you home with your extra empanadas, homemade bread and aprons! What a fun experience.

You can tell this vineyard appreciates and loves tourists. From the guards, to the front desk (Natalia), kitchen (Chef Pablo!), restaurant and tour, you felt like you were amongst friends. We felt spoiled, and were thrilled we included this as a full day of fun. If you only have a short time in Mendoza, we highly recommend this as an all inclusive experience of Argentina.

TIPS: #1. If you are more comfortable with English, including menu, tour, signs, etc., Zuccardi was the most tourist-friendly experience. We overheard an English class for the staff, and you can tell it is very important for them to make everyone feel welcome and comfortable. #2. Park in the tourist parking, then walk across the street and follow signs for the Restaurant. This is where the day starts. #3. There are many different types of tours, including bikes, etc.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank LesaR2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

When I visited Mendoza I had the opportunity to visit Zuccardi Winery in Maipú.
It was my first time in a winery, I love wines and I learnt a lot in this beautiful place. And Zuccardi wines... wow! A and Q are outstanding in my favorite list.
At the end of the visit, we shared a dinner with their workers, owners and, of course, all their wine labels. It was awesome.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank NikadVise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norton, MA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013

I visited the Zuccardi winery and olive oil farm in late May with a friend. We had a wonderful lunch in the main restaurant with delicious wine parings. By the time we finished eating, we were too late for the winery tour, but a private tour of the olive farm and production facility was arranged for us and we had an excellent look at the facility. There is another restaurant on the property that is more laid back and if we had been there at another mealtime we would have tried it. The olive oil was great and the people in the winery shop were very helpful and gave us a couple of samples to make it easier to make our choices. This is a beautiful place with great staff where you will be able to relax, enjoy and learn.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
63 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“very well guided tour into the winery and great lunch at restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2013

we have visited the winery with a very good guide from colombia who explained us very well many secrets on how to enjoy the wines and not to be cheated by bla bla of many of the so- connoiseurs. the food was very good at the restaurant, of course, salad, parrilla, meat and vegetables.
typical desserts were delicious. the wine included in the menu was not the best of the winery but acceptable.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sergelegabriele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Familia Zuccardi also viewed

Maipu, Province of Mendoza
Maipu, Province of Mendoza
 

Been to Familia Zuccardi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing