We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Buckler's Africa
Nearby Hotels
US$98
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$91
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$89
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$138
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$122
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Acasia Guest Lodge(Komatipoort)
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Meerkat Manor(Komatipoort)(Great Value!)
US$60
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$54
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Trees Too Guest Lodge(Komatipoort)(Great Value!)
US$65
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$55
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stoep Cafe(Komatipoort)(Great Value!)
US$72
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$61
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Steenbok Lodge(Komatipoort)(Great Value!)
US$56
Priceline
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (399)
Filter reviews
399 results
Traveller rating
320
67
9
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
320
67
9
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsself cateringcrocodile riverkruger parkoutdoor showerwonderful locationacross the riverhonesty barfew metersfamily runlounge chairspool decktwo nightsexcellent breakfastmagnificent viewentrance gateday safarithe perfect place to stay
Filter
Updating list...
261 - 266 of 399 reviews
Reviewed 17 September 2011

this is an fantastic place if you are looking for an relaxing, clean and friendly stay at borders
to the Kruger Park. The owners are very kind and helpful, the rooms are very clean and
lovely. You have a wonderful view into the Park including a lot of animals!!!
We had a fantastic time in september and saw so many animals without going into the park!!

Most of the people stayed only one or two nights, but this is not enough!!
We had nine nights there and this was just quite enough. We relaxed at the nice little pool and enjoyed all the wildlife around. Weather was fantastic, OJ and Cheryl were the best host I ever met. Thank you very much!

Bucklers we come again !!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Christina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2011

We just loved our stay at Bucklers and regretted the fact that it was so short. It a great place to stay, just outside Kruger while still experiencing the wildlife looking over the park from the porch. Good bed, great bath plus a shower outdoors. The kitchen though it had everything one might need and was very clean looked a bit old and simple not matching the room. Service was very helpfull and friendly. We wouddefinately recommend this place

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IrisNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2011

I spent 6 nights there with my wife and 2 children in late August. We took the 2 bedroom self catering unit which was perfect, great condition and decor suiting the 'safari' environment. The location was fantastic, the views from all our rooms and outside terrace were into Kruger over the Crocodile River (in fact the boundary of Kruger Park is the boundary of the lodge). We saw many elephants close by, plus rhinos and buffalo and various other animals from our unit. The setting and quality of the whole place is excellent, the hosts OJ and Cheryl were great, and it is well located to Crocodile Bridge for access to Kruger. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BigMacCairo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

We arrived at Bucklers in the early afternoon after a long journey from St Lucia. OJ and Cheryl were warm hosts and their property is beautiful. What could be better than a lounger overlooking the Crocodile River at sunset ! Our accommodation was pristine and fulfilled our every need. Next time, we would use this as a base to explore the southern KNP - the Crocodile Bridge gate is a stone's throw away. The rates were only a tad more than KNP bungalow we stayed in , and the accommodation is heaps better!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FlickSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2011

Bucklers Africa is in a secluded position only 5-7 mins drive from Komatipoort, and borders the Kruger Park directly. The southern part of Kruger has some of the richest populations of wildlife in the whole park, and within 2 hours of entering the park on our first day there, we had seen 4 of the Big 5, and numerous other buck, raptors and smaller animals. With its elevated position providing an excellent view of the Crocodile River for more than 500m left and right of the lodge, Buckler's position is near-perfect. The welcome we recieved from OJ and Cheryl was warm, friendly and helpful, and we were made to feel at home immediately. We chose to self-cater for 3 nights/2 days, and with a number of good-sized supermarkets in Komatipoort, it was easy to get some great food for the braai, which OJ provided with tools. After a long day's game drive in the park, sitting with a cold beer/glass of wine on the grass in front of the lodge, looking over the Crocodile river and watching Elephants come down to drink, as the Wors coked on the braai, with the sun setting and the sounds of Africa as a backdrop, is as close to heaven on earth as you can get - we cannot recommend this spot strongly enough!

The kitchenette was well equipped, the bed comfortable, the whole place clean and well maintained. Very good value for the price.

We cannot fault any aspect of our stay at Bucklers Africa, and would very highly recommend it to anybody.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuck-in-Europe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews