We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best stay with amazing views”
Review of Buckler's Africa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Buckler's Africa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 November 2009

We stayed at Buckler's in October '09, and had such a pleasant stay there. We did not book in advance and were so lucky that there was still availability for the night. We stayed at one of the lodges, which was absolutely great. The rooms were clean and spacious. The bathroom was very nice, with a comfortable and luxurious rain shower.

The best thing about Buckler's of course is the outside terrace, with marvelous views over the Kruger Park. We saw a large group of buffalo, lions, and elephants from the terrace. It was amazing.

I would surely recommend this place!!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KattiAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (366)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

266 - 272 of 366 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2009

I was lucky enough to stay at the marvellous Buckler's Africa for 5 nights in November 2009. It was booked directly with Robert (the owner) who was attentive and prompt in replying to my many e mail questions before our visit. I visited with my parents and sister ages 33 - 60 - for my step-mother's 60th birthday.
From the Mpumulanga airport, we hired a jeep (pretty essential for a good experience) and travelled the easy hour and a quarter to Bucklers. This is a toll road (approx 42 rand I think). Be aware that this long road has lots of speed cameras - usually parked patrol cars just after a speed change. My dad received a 1000 rand fine on the way there!!
Komatipoort is not very big, but it does have shops and a big "Spar" to buy any self catering things you need - the meat for the Braii is super cheap - about 90 pence for a big T bone steak!!! Delicious! There is a good off licence and a cash machine here too. The drive throught Komatipoort itself is basically just a big street with a couple of restaurants and small shops and houses.
About 5 minutes after Komatipoort you turn into a road - non tarmac but frequently used (The jeep was great for this road). Another few minutes up here, past citrus orchards and sugar cane fields, you reach Buckler's Africa. Wow!!
Once through the gates we were greeted by Gurda who was standing in for Robert for a few days. She made us feel so welcome straight away. We were taken through the house to the main part of the lodge, overlooking the crocodile river and the Kruger Park. It is exactly like it looks on the website, but even better!!! Our first glimpse of the Kruger park, suitcases in hand, and we see a rhino just ambling along beside the river!!! We were sold!!
Our accomodation was wonderful, we had a single room (my step-sister) and a suite. I had a twin room within the suite - immaculate, huge vaulted ceiling, beautiful en suite bathroom with a bath, and my own patio door looking onto the pool, immaculate gardens and the outstanding view. There was a lounge area, kitchen, double bedroom, further bathroom, loft room and an outside "bush bathroom". We loved this - an outside shower, toilet and basin. A wonderful experience to have your shower under the sky.
We had use of a Braii and outside dining area and enjoyed a good couple of evenings cooking, eating, drinking and relaxing after our exciting days! Gurda kindly even made my step-mam a delicious "tipsy cake" for her birthday. It was the most delicious alcohol laiden cake, and so big we were lucky enough to be eating it for days! It's kindness like this that makes your holiday even more special.
We were so amazed to find 5 elephants just metres away from us on several occassions and they even came and fed from the tree by the balcony and loungers! Just like the picture again!! How magical to be sitting having breakfast with elephants, rhino and hippo as your view - it doesn't get any better than that!! I even saw 3 lions on the last morning! Other guests were also really excited to see the animals so close and we had some lovely chats with them - couples and families with children too. The overall feeling in the lodge was relaxed, safe and happy! We didn't want to leave.
The location was good -especially for entrance to the Kruger via the Crocodile Bridge Gate. This was only about ten minutes away. We never paid for a safari guide, we just drove ourselves around and saw everything - all of the big 5 and more. We visited twice and loved it both times. We visited Swaziland (approx an hour and a half away), and Hazy View (because my parents had stayed there 5 years ago). It is also close to Mozambique, but we just didn't have the time. We also went on a flight over the border of the park, supposed to be in a micro light but we had to use a small "bush baby" plane instead because the weather conditions weren't perfect. This was all arranged by Robert the owner. I must conclude in saying that he is such a lovely guy who genuinely cares about his lodge, the people who work there and ultimately that his guests have the best time possible. It was a real pleasure to meet Robert and stay in his amazing African lodge. We couldn't have asked for anything more - Book it now!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClaireK76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2009

We were in South Africa during September 2009, we stayed at Buckler's for 3 nights. It is very well located only a few kilometers from the entrance gate (Crocodile Bridge) to the Kruger Park. The rooms are great very clean and decorated with a lot of taste. The place just looks like shown on the website I would even say better!!! Robert, the owner, knows how to run such a place he is present when he needs to be and he is full of good advices.
And when they advert 'the Kruger is our back garden' these are not just words. We had the luck to see just at the opposite site of the Crocodile River some giraffes, crocodiles, buffalos and very close by elephants.
I hope that our photos will make you feel to stay there. If you want to visit the south of the Kruger Park this is the place to be as you can easily start an early journey and come back at Buckler’s when the park closes between 6 and 6.30 p.m. depending on the time of the year.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 51dansleau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2009

We planned our trip to Kruger and luckily stayed at Buckler's. We had an amazing experience right there in the yard. The elephants came through the edge of the park which bumps right up to Bucklers. We watched in amazement as the elephants grazed, just meters away from our seats. Robert the owner was incredibly hospitable and concerned with our vacation throughout the trip. He made special arrangements for us to go on an ATV adventure as well. The staff was apparently trustworthy as we had left our son's nintendos on the counter, and we returned to find them still there. At Bucklers there are options to self catering and a braii which we used as well as B&B. The grounds are kept impeccably well, and the gated location made me feel quite safe.

Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
Thank advisorseattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2007

We have just returned from a 4 day holiday in south africa visiting Kruger Park & we saw the "Big Five" in the first two days there. We stayed at a B&B called Bucklers Africa,rather than in one of the camps inside the park. It is only seven kilometres from the popular Crocodile Bridge gateway into the park, & I would highly reccomend this accommodation to anyyone who wants a hassle free place to begin their Kruger Park experience. From the grounds of this B&B we saw a rhino & several elephants before we even started our drives into the Park itself. Being right on the outskirts of the Park, we were able to get into the Park early each day & begin our self-drive tour without any problems at all. & we were always one of the first vehicles in, so had a real good chance to view the animals before they moved away from the roads due to the tourist traffic that followed later. Some camps inside the Park tend to be over-booked & this can lead to problems when you arrive, so we decided to stay at Bucklers, & this was the best decission we could have made. It was so clean,quiet, & so handy to the entrance gates & our host, Robert was very friendly & knowledgeable about this whole area.
This south east corner of Kruger Park has so many roads that are easily travelled each day & you never have to be on the same road each new day, making finding the animals that much easier.
This area of the Park also has the highest concentration of all the "big five" animals, so if you intend going, in my opinion,you couldnt do better than what we have just experienced. It was one of the best holidays we have had & couldnt have hoped for more.
Check out this option for your visit to this great Park & I'm positive you wont be disappointed. Please email me with any queries & I'd be only too happy to share my information with you.

1  Thank mustangmania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 987filipd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank janherob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Komatipoort
22.2 mi away
Pestana Kruger Lodge
Pestana Kruger Lodge
#1 of 1 in Malelane
396 reviews
1.6 mi away
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
#71 of 175 in Kruger National Park
112 reviews
16.2 mi away
Buhala Lodge
Buhala Lodge
#2 of 11 in Malelane
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Mvuradona Safari Lodge
Mvuradona Safari Lodge
#6 of 33 in Marloth Park
199 reviews
6.6 mi away
Bushwise Safaris
Bushwise Safaris
#5 of 33 in Marloth Park
331 reviews
7.3 mi away
Needles Lodge
Needles Lodge
#1 of 33 in Marloth Park
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buckler's Africa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buckler's Africa

Address: off R571 between Komatipoort and Crocodile Bridge Gate, Kruger Park, Komatipoort 1340, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Komatipoort
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Komatipoort
Price Range: £62 - £202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Buckler's Africa 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bordering on the Crocodile River & Kruger Park in a stunning setting is Buckler’s Africa with over 5 hectares of gardens and bush with its high thatch ceilings and cool terracotta tiles it is an oasis. Wake up to the sights and sounds of Africa from your air conditioned bedroom, pool & viewing deck offer endless hours of enjoyment, Crocodile Bridge Gate Kruger Park 10 min, Mozambique & Swaziland just over an hour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Buckler's Africa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buckler's Africa Komatipoort, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing