We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Accommodation”
Review of Buckler's Africa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Buckler's Africa
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Accommodation”
Reviewed 29 January 2011

On our arrival management and staff were most welcoming and professional. Beautiful viewing into Kruger Park from the luxury of the swimming pool. Accommodation was superb. Value for money like this cannot be found easily.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GAUTENG-BENONI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    275
    62
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
118
168
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Polis, Cyprus
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 January 2011

My family stayed for 2 nights/3 days just over a week ago and I cannot associate myself with the comments of the reviewer Mandawitbank who feels they had a bad experience,

I found the owner and his wife most hospitable and friendly and the lodge first class. No effort was spared in making us welcome and valued. The rooms were spacious, tastefully decorated and very comfortable. The pool is child friendly and is not intimidating to young children learning to swim like my 4 year old granddaughter who made leaps and bounds over our stay.

The location is excellent and on arrival we were treated to a bull elephant, 2 females and a young calf wandering by and grazing for nearly an hour and we were serenaded by 2 male lions marking their territory in the morning whilst preparing to visit the National Park. The view of Kruger Park from the patio is very scenic and the variety of widlife by the Crocodile River is plenty.

I have no reservations in recommending a visit to Buckler's Africa and will return when I next visit S Africa.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JASinclair199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Witbank
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2011

I am a South African citizen who booked the largest chalet at this great lodge for the 4 year in a row over New Years. We knew the place was under new ownership but thought things can only be better and nothing was wrong with Robert (previous owner) in our visits over the past 3 years. Needless to say when we arrived their on the 30 th the intercom at the gate was not working-no sign at that stage, after trying to get someone to open the gate we were greeted by Cheryl " Didn't expect anyone already, check in is only at two o clock, you are early" We pulled into the parking at half past one, half an hour early, this was rude. We go on holiday regular in our own country and overseas, I never felt so unwelcome anywhere. I know the policy, did not expect her to be ready before 2. On the 30 th there was a major rain storm which left us without electricity and water (working with elctrical pump) for more than 6 hours, this is South Africa, if you take people's money and this is a NOT a cheap stay be prepared have generators for back-up. We spent most of our time at the lodge which can only accommodate about 16 people. The pool which was not very clean most of the times,lots of bugs and hair in the water, my son actually took the cleaning net a few times to do some cleaning while the owner OJ relaxed with a drink on his patio. On New Years day it was hot, all 3 other families took up some space at the pool, there is only one covered area with two chairs all other chairs are directly in the sun, next to the main house stood three umbrellas, my husband tried to put up all 3 with no result all broken in some way, lukily we brought our own umbrellas and eventually put those up for shade, OJ saw that we used our own umbrellas did not even bother to apoligize for his not working and if he did not know if they were broken maybe he should check them - put them up himself for guest's convenience. I believe that this lodge is used mostly by travellers from overseas, hopefully they are treated better, maybe because we are South Africans the lodge owners think we are not used to much more. During our stay here we found a lot of other things bothering us as well, for such a small exclusive lodge I would expect that things will be in tip top order, seeing that it is also under new ownership. It is heartbreaking but I will not be booking this lodge again, like OJ said "Boere is moeilik" sorry but if my money is good enough for you "Boer" I expect to be treated as a paying GUEST !!!!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MandaWitbank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bucklersafrica, Owner at Buckler's Africa, responded to this review, 8 January 2011
Dear guest. As a new comer to responses on Trip advisor, and this being the first negative response in the five months since we have taken over , I will do my utmost to reply as best as possible. It has come as a surprise, since we personally saw you off at your car on the day of your departure. It was in a friendly atmosphere and you still thanked us for the enjoyable stay and the great venue, what happened since then? We were slightly surprised at your introductory statement on your arrival, i.e. that you were extremely disappointed that Robert had sold Buckler’s Africa and that you knew our business better than what we did. It could be that all the changes did affect your objectiveness.
Our new electronic gate opener that was installed in July 2010 was damaged on the 24th of December. The technician was called from his holiday the same day to do the repairs but omitted to fix the buzzer and was not prepared to return for that before the New Year. All our guests are issued with own remotes, thus we only needed to employ a staff member to attend from 14h00, our official check in time, for new arrivals. You arrived at 12h30 and although we had no body there at the time, our telephone number is on the gate for you to phone us. Your delay was minimal and only after you queried your long delay, did Cheryl point out that you were early. You were, however, welcomed in.
We have had three electrical failures since September, and sods law, at 17h00 on the day of your arrival we had one. We attended to this immediately and were advised by Eskom that it would take six hours. True to their word, it came on at 11h00. In the period, I offered you a silent generator, but you turned it down because it would make a noise. All our rooms have back up lights and most of them Gas stoves. You therefore had lights and you were having a braai in any event. The showers were back at 23h00.
Our pool maintenance staff had off on Saturday and Sunday, the 1st and 2nd of January, I personally saw to it early in the morning, but with the frequent use it was impossible to keep it spotless on a minute to minute basis. The temperatures were in the 40’s and the pool had people in all the time. We have an extremely powerful filter system, which runs all day. The owner was on duty from 5h00 in the morning until 20h00 most days and if he did sit down for a refreshment , he could not be punished this severely.
I need to point out that the seating arrangement around the pool has not changed since Robert’s days and if it was suitable then, why should it now be a problem. There were no requests for additional shade facilities. The umbrellas in question are not for outside use. They are used in winter on the veranda whilst serving breakfast. They are equipped with levered opening devises which most people are not familiar with. They were stored in the braai storage area and should not be tampered with, without the permission of management. They were up to then in working order.
To determine whether foreign guests and local guests are treated different, please consult the Trip advisor web site.
Please advise us with a list of other things that bothered you, so that we can rectify it if needed for the convenience of our other future guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zeeewolde
1 review
Reviewed 15 December 2010

our visit at Buckler's was one of the most wonderfull stays off our holliday's ( 6 years 20 b and b and lodges) in SA. the personal way Cheryll was acting, wonderfull. in a split second you feel your home. a wonderfull place at the border of Kruger wildtuin, with a graet overview over the river and Kruger. several hippo's and renosters seen during our stay, busy with a braai by our self with equipement of the house. the breakfast you gave us on our trip to Kruger (just 10 minutes to Crocodile Brigde gate ) was fantastic. after the trip we could join your swimmingpoo and also the barl for a cool down. after 6 times SA on several, more then 20, places, Buckler's Africa belongs to one of our favourties( top 3 ranking)

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elmozeewolde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2010

We arrived at Bucklers tired from the UK via J'Burg not knowing what to expect - Bucklers immediately set a very high standard. A group of hippos walking to the river was just for starters! Our room was a very high standard suite of rooms which were a far higher standard than we ever envisaged. As newcomers to SA, we were a little concerned about where we would get an evening meal but the nearby, easily accessible Timeshare had a really great restaurant (try the bobotie!) complete with elephants drinking in the river. Standards are high on SA but Bucklers certainly rates with the best - highly recommended!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJF342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiev, Ukraine
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 12 October 2010

A terrific place for vacation at a reasonable price

I stayed at Buckler’s Africa with my friend for two nights in the beginning of October 2010. The purpose was mainly to visit the Kruger park. We found the Buckler’s Africa in booking.com, checked reviews and booked the room. It is worth mentioning that Cheryl the host was very helpful and kind to answer dozens of e-mail requests I had to clarify topics both related to the stay itself and to South Africa overall, as we coming to the country for the first time. Upon arrival we were really impressed with the beauty of the nature surrounding the lodging. The photos can hardly describe those picturesque views we have seen just when you enter the backgarden: the Crocodile river and the Kruger park itself with elephants, buffalos and antelopes just a stone-throw distance away.
The rooms were clean and bathroom facilities were very good. The service was also good. The lodging owners were very helpful – we did not have a single issue. However you should be prepared for the following:
- you will have to drive for about 3 km on a dirt road. I was driving Yaris and it was ok, but needed to drive slow and watch stones on the road;
- while breakfast is no problem (you can have it at the lodging), you should mind lunch and dinner as it is not offered at the lodging (although self-catering option is possible). On one evening we had dinner in a lodging called Ngwenya 3 km away from Buckler’s – again on the dirt road. On another evening the hosts prepared braai for us and it was just fantastic to seat in the backgarden eating delicious braai, drinking good wine and just enjoying the sounds of the fauna that completely absorbs you. That is something what I would love to experience again.

We really enjoyed the stay, however one day and a half that we spent there were too short and were spending it almost all the time in Kruger. We craved for additional one day just to spend it in the lodging: recline in the couch, face the Kruger park, sip the wine and just sit like that for hours watching and listening to the live theatre in front of you. That is really something!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Serhiy_and_Oksana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2010

We stayed 2 nights. The accomodation was perfect, the cooked breakfast (served outside with a view of the Kruger National Park) was immense and the location is amazing. The view from the lawn of knp and Crocodile River is sensational. One morning we were lucky enough to see lions, elephants, hippos and rhino whilst we having having breakfast. In addition, the new owner, Cheryl, and her staff, were brilliant - Cheryl was very helpful as I had made an error in the booking, sorted out a Microlite flight for us as well as assisting with entry into the Park on a public holiday that required a pre-booking. I could not have asked for better service or a better place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CambridgeJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Komatipoort
22.2 mi away
Pestana Kruger Lodge
Pestana Kruger Lodge
#1 of 1 in Malelane
380 reviews
1.6 mi away
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
#74 of 175 in Kruger National Park
102 reviews
5.3 mi away
Mvuradona Safari Lodge
Mvuradona Safari Lodge
#6 of 34 in Marloth Park
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
Buhala Lodge
Buhala Lodge
#2 of 11 in Malelane
329 reviews
6.6 mi away
Bushwise Safaris
Bushwise Safaris
#3 of 34 in Marloth Park
326 reviews
7.3 mi away
Needles Lodge
Needles Lodge
#1 of 34 in Marloth Park
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buckler's Africa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buckler's Africa

Property: Buckler's Africa
Address: off R571 between Komatipoort and Crocodile Bridge Gate, Kruger Park, Komatipoort 1340, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Komatipoort
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Komatipoort
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Buckler's Africa 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bordering on the Crocodile River & Kruger Park in a stunning setting is Buckler’s Africa with over 5 hectares of gardens and bush with its high thatch ceilings and cool terracotta tiles it is an oasis. Wake up to the sights and sounds of Africa from your air conditioned bedroom, pool & viewing deck offer endless hours of enjoyment, Crocodile Bridge Gate Kruger Park 10 min, Mozambique & Swaziland just over an hour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Buckler's Africa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buckler's Africa Komatipoort, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing