We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great lodge”
Review of Ngwenya Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Komatipoort
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ngwenya Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 September 2011

We spent a mid week break at Ngwenya Lodge and it was a lovely experience. Thge units are well equipped with fantastic house keeping. All equipment was in good working order. The Lodge has a really great waterhole where game can be viewed throughout the day. It is also situated within 10km of Kruger National Park making access to the park easy. The Lodge is well kept and staff friendly. We had a relaxing time and saw some amazing game. The restaurant and spa facility was also very good.

Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking the waterhole
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank AJIR_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (413)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

396 - 402 of 413 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2011

We own timeshare at Ngwenya this is the highlight of our year to just pack up and go... Once we arrive there we are always greeted as if we are long lost family. The hospitality and helpfulness of the staff is exemplary. Our chalet overlooks the river and the Kruger National Park. We have seen the most amazing things right in front of our chalet including Leopard, Buffalo, Hippo, Giraffe, Zebra, Black and White Rhino and so I can go on and on... There is a resident pair of African Fish Eagle that wake in the morning. The bat exodus in the evening when thousands of bats take to the sky is absolutely spectacular.

The Spar in Komatipoort is well stocked and reasonably priced. The best thing is that you are 15 minutes drive from the Crocodile Bridge Gate and can be in the park before sunrise to see everything first. March we came across two huge lions seeping in the road and we had it all to ourselves for 15 minutes.

The accommodation is excellent with regular upgrades to the facilities. The restaurant has the best pizzas and very reasonably priced meals. The "Tuck shop" has the necessary goods including fresh bread daily. The Put-Put course gives hours of fun... then there is the fantastic swimming pools, tennis courts, trampolines and well equipped games room.

At night, after the barbeque, I always go "bug hunting". There are the most amazing array of bugs to photograph. A word of caution though, be alert as I have come across Hyena, Black Mamba and Elephant in the camp. (But don't worry, I am still alive.) The security is excellent!

There are more species of bird that I can count and I have added some of the most beautiful and rare birds to my checklist. (While sitting on my porch or the bird hide.)

It is a wonderful place to make new friends or just sit quietly and do absolutely nothing. I love writing poetry as my brain goes into "neutral" in this most peaceful place.

Why not make Ngwenya your next destination in Africa? You will never regret it!

See you!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank TheunsBlom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Ellen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Nach Möglichkeit eine Einheit direkt am Crocodile River buchen (sind allerdings schnell ausgebucht)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank udok86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jolanda4260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Steenhuis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Vue sur le fleuve de préférence
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank gegene2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Komatipoort
21.0 mi away
Pestana Kruger Lodge
Pestana Kruger Lodge
#1 of 1 in Malelane
406 reviews
1.6 mi away
Buckler's Africa
Buckler's Africa
#2 of 13 in Komatipoort
371 reviews
2.3 mi away
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
#69 of 176 in Kruger National Park
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Meerkat Manor
Meerkat Manor
#1 of 14 in Komatipoort
160 reviews
2.4 mi away
Elephant Walk Retreat
Elephant Walk Retreat
#5 of 13 in Komatipoort
78 reviews
7.4 mi away
Croc River Lodge
Croc River Lodge
#10 of 13 in Komatipoort
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ngwenya Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ngwenya Lodge

Address: Tenbosch Road | Farm Whisky, Komatipoort 1340, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Komatipoort
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Komatipoort
Hotel Class:4 star — Ngwenya Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ngwenya Lodge is situated on the southern tip of the world-renowned Kruger National Park. This means that visitors don’t even have to leave the resort to see a huge variety of game species – including the famous Big Five. The river view chalets overlook a scenic floodplain, which allows for magnificent views of the area where the big cats often hunt. Our Dam and Bush view chalets are set back on the property and also have beautiful views, as they overlook tranquil dams or bush areas. Game viewing hides make game viewing on the riverfront accessible to all – so no one misses out on spotting any of their favorite wild animals. Holiday in the luxury you’re used to… The units have fully equipped kitchens with a stove, fridge, freezer and a microwave. Each unit has a television and an undercover veranda with patio table, chairs and a braai, for unforgettable get-togethers with family and friends. Ngwenya’s on-site facilities include a pub, a beauty salon with a wide range of treatments, a curio shop, a small convenience shop, 6 outdoor swimming pools, 18 hole Mini Golf course, 2 tennis courts, trampolines, jungle gyms, a games room with pool tables, table tennis, Playstations with Xbox Kinnect, a kiddies room with various board games, puzzles, and kids movies.We can’t wait for you to visit us. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ngwenya Lodge Komatipoort, Africa - South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing