We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful and very special”
Review of Ngwenya Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Komatipoort
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ngwenya Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 August 2013 via mobile

We spent a most enjoyable experience at enjoyable time with them. From the staff at the reservation office to staff at Ngwenya Lodge were very friendly and helpful. They are very pfofessional.
The resort is very well maintained and cared for.
All the staff from office, to cleaning, to garden staff very friendly.
I really recommend this resort to anybody.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Noreen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (441)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

383 - 389 of 441 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2013

My wife and I visited the lodge for the 3 rd time now and I must say something is going right. The chalets have been refurbished, gardens are well kept and the lodge staff is friendly. The restaurant is run by a contractor and the service, especially in the bar, was not good enough. The batman flat out ignored me while I was at the counter waiting for service.

All in all, this is a place to go if you want to have a wildlife experience affordable for the average South African

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NickvDm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

We stayed at Ngwenya Lodge during May 2013 for my birthday. A truly beautiful and well kept resort! We stayed in one of the newly refurbished chalets which was immaculate! So new that the dish washer was not even plugged in yet. Unfortunately a new geyser/sewerage pipe system made a terrible klak-klak-klak-klas noise - which could be heard throughout the day but intensified at night time. So much so that we had to request a different chalet as we were kept awake the entire 4th night of our stay. Luckily they had another unit available and were we able to move. According to the plumber, they were still experiencing teething problems with the new system. Our new unit was overlooking one of the dams and we had a wonderful time for the remainder of our stay.

The hides are an added bonus - especially the one to the far right of the restaurant where the bat homes are. Do yourself a favour and visit the hide very early morning - at the break of day - and late afternoon for some spectacular animal sitings at and across the river (where you can see the Kruger National Park). (We saw three leopards frolicking around). Also be at the same hide to see the Bats come out late afternoon. Quite an experience!

Take a day trip or two into the Kruger National Park. (Use Crocodile Bridge entrance). The roads are very good and we saw loads of animals!

Ngwenya Lodge is overall an excellent resort to simply get away from city life and enjoy the bush at its best! Management and staff were very helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: If possible, try not to stay in the bottom part of the duplex chalets. It can be quite noisy if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pixie1505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

My family and I used our time share last week. We found the hotel to be in great condition. But the best part is the road to Kruger is now completely tarred. Added to that the hotel had paved all their roads. Unfortunately I left a jacket behind and there is no trace of it when I phoned to ask if it had been found.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joyce L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

There was a bad smell (like sewerage) on the way to the viewing hide. The Egyoptian Geese (which are indeed indiginous to our lovely country, unlike the one reviewer believes) were noisy but that was all part of being out in the African Bush! Lovely setting, very comfortable, expensive but great!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Reindeerdolfie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

This excellent resort has been invaded by large numbers of egyptian geese, which are not indigenous. These birds make a terrible noise at dusk and dawn, when the bush is normally at its most appealing. If you are staying next to one of the ponds, they come onto your verandah looking for food (I suppose some idiots have been feeding them). They become quite aggressive if you try to chase them away. On the plus side, the road has now been tarred, which makes a huge difference. We found that service in the restaurant and reception was very good and the food was OK. The grounds are still well kept, except that the tree overhanging our chalet needed to be cut back, as the branches were dragging over the roof when the wind blew, which sounded like a large creature was running around up there.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Our family of 6 adults and 1 child luxuriated at this fabulous Resort during Nov,2012 . Very upmarket apartment overlooking the Crocodile River .Fully complete with all you need to cook a gourmet meal . Wonderful to relax by the pool after a "hard day " touring through Kruger Park .
This is the ideal location to enter Kruger via the Crocodile Bridge Gate . Resort restaurant and its location with a great deck overlooking the river was excellent. First smorgasbord I have seen where you are only charged by weight , for what you eat. Great for kids !!
Could not recommend the complete Ngwenya experience more highly , hoping to return some day. Ratuloaloa

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ratuloaloa2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Komatipoort
21 mi away
Pestana Kruger Lodge
Pestana Kruger Lodge
#1 of 1 in Malelane
415 reviews
7.7 mi away
Acasia Guest Lodge
Acasia Guest Lodge
#4 of 14 in Komatipoort
63 reviews
6.9 mi away
Trees Too Guest Lodge
Trees Too Guest Lodge
#1 of 14 in Komatipoort
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Ecolux Boutique Hotel
Ecolux Boutique Hotel
#5 of 14 in Komatipoort
174 reviews
1.6 mi away
Buckler's Africa
Buckler's Africa
#2 of 14 in Komatipoort
379 reviews
2.3 mi away
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
#66 of 178 in Kruger National Park
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ngwenya Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ngwenya Lodge

Address: Tenbosch Road | Farm Whisky, Komatipoort 1340, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Komatipoort
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Komatipoort
Hotel Class:4 star — Ngwenya Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ngwenya Lodge is situated on the southern tip of the world-renowned Kruger National Park. This means that visitors don’t even have to leave the resort to see a huge variety of game species – including the famous Big Five. The river view chalets overlook a scenic floodplain, which allows for magnificent views of the area where the big cats often hunt. Our Dam and Bush view chalets are set back on the property and also have beautiful views, as they overlook tranquil dams or bush areas. Game viewing hides make game viewing on the riverfront accessible to all – so no one misses out on spotting any of their favorite wild animals. Holiday in the luxury you’re used to… The units have fully equipped kitchens with a stove, fridge, freezer and a microwave. Each unit has a television and an undercover veranda with patio table, chairs and a braai, for unforgettable get-togethers with family and friends. Ngwenya’s on-site facilities include a pub, a beauty salon with a wide range of treatments, a curio shop, a small convenience shop, 6 outdoor swimming pools, 18 hole Mini Golf course, 2 tennis courts, trampolines, jungle gyms, a games room with pool tables, table tennis, Playstations with Xbox Kinnect, a kiddies room with various board games, puzzles, and kids movies.We can’t wait for you to visit us. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ngwenya Lodge Komatipoort, Africa - South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing