We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A room with a view”
Review of Ngwenya Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Komatipoort
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ngwenya Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
83 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A room with a view”
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Stayed there in one of the 8 sleepers overlooking the Kruger Park at Hippo Bend. All amenities were great and the place was kept VERY clean by the staff. They have been doing some great upgrades with something new every time we go there. They have got to change those awful chairs used to sit outside the bungalows however - VERY uncomfortable!! Saw some great animal sightings from our balcony including Buffalo right at the veranda!

Room Tip: If you are going for a 6 or 8 sleeper then try and NOT get Hippo Bend as the bungalows closer to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    99
    17
    3
    6
See reviews for
185
73
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Komatipoort
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Well groomed staff, neat and clean units, Daily serviced beutifull situated on the Crocodile river
with Kruger Park on the other size. Nice relaxing dont even have to travel sit on your patio and see the animals come to drink water in gront of you.Beautifull gardens with very active bird life.

Room Tip: Ask for a river unit
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bolla59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
75 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Went to Ngwenya for the women's day long weekend. The drive from Joburg too 5 and a half hours, but it rained most of the way and we took our time. The road is well tarred and still had some construction going on the N12 but it was a very pleasant driving experience. Two stop and go's during August. Trucks were a problem when the highway became single lane, but its part of the journey. The shell ultra city in middelburg is undergoing renovations currently, so stop elsewhere.

We stopped at Komatipoort to pick up some perishables. The Spar (local convenience store) was better stocked than some markets in Jozi. Had no issues using cards, not that we expected any. Buy nuts from the local ladies roaming the parking lot...best you'll ever have! Also take along papers for your car to cross into Mozambique for a day trip, it's worth it.

On check in the staff was friendly and informative. Had no issue taking three cars in for an 8 sleeper unit and parking was enough as well. Early check in was also not a problem. Anything from 2h30pm seems to be ok. ID or passport numbers are required for every guest, as well as a signature on the indemnity form.

There's a tour company at check in that organizes tours into Kruger. We self drove and as SA citizens it was a lot cheaper than paying a tour company. Roads into Kruger are tarred as far as lower Sabie. The dirt roads were not bad either and we did it in a Audi sedan. Saw lots of game on just the tarred road though. Crocodile bridge was 10km's away.

We had a 3 bedroom chalet, 2 bathrooms. The sleeper couch in the lounge was good enough. Beds and bedding were very comfortable cotton. Aircon and ceiling fans in every bedroom and lounge. Also screens on all the windows and doors, but we had no mozzies and other insects were at a minimum. Chalets recently had a facelift and the facilities are great. Kitchen was well stocked with cutlery and crockery. They thought of everything! No rolling pin though, but we made something work!

Cleaning staff were efficient and unobtrusive. We payed R120 for Sunday cleaning and it was worth every penny! Our chalet looked onto one of the dams, which was so peaceful. We went to the hides for game viewing but it was a slow weekend. Herd of buffalo and a few elephants were the highlight one evening!

Don't bother with restaurant unless you have to. Service was poor. There were pools, putt putt, tennis, table tennis and a games room for kids. All looked well kept.

Overall, we'd go back. Probably not in summer as it will be too hot. I'm also mozzie averse! Also. Next time we will do a river facing unit.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ladismith, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013 via mobile

We spent a most enjoyable experience at enjoyable time with them. From the staff at the reservation office to staff at Ngwenya Lodge were very friendly and helpful. They are very pfofessional.
The resort is very well maintained and cared for.
All the staff from office, to cleaning, to garden staff very friendly.
I really recommend this resort to anybody.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Noreen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberton, South Africa
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

My wife and I visited the lodge for the 3 rd time now and I must say something is going right. The chalets have been refurbished, gardens are well kept and the lodge staff is friendly. The restaurant is run by a contractor and the service, especially in the bar, was not good enough. The batman flat out ignored me while I was at the counter waiting for service.

All in all, this is a place to go if you want to have a wildlife experience affordable for the average South African

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NickvDm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
89 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

We stayed at Ngwenya Lodge during May 2013 for my birthday. A truly beautiful and well kept resort! We stayed in one of the newly refurbished chalets which was immaculate! So new that the dish washer was not even plugged in yet. Unfortunately a new geyser/sewerage pipe system made a terrible klak-klak-klak-klas noise - which could be heard throughout the day but intensified at night time. So much so that we had to request a different chalet as we were kept awake the entire 4th night of our stay. Luckily they had another unit available and were we able to move. According to the plumber, they were still experiencing teething problems with the new system. Our new unit was overlooking one of the dams and we had a wonderful time for the remainder of our stay.

The hides are an added bonus - especially the one to the far right of the restaurant where the bat homes are. Do yourself a favour and visit the hide very early morning - at the break of day - and late afternoon for some spectacular animal sitings at and across the river (where you can see the Kruger National Park). (We saw three leopards frolicking around). Also be at the same hide to see the Bats come out late afternoon. Quite an experience!

Take a day trip or two into the Kruger National Park. (Use Crocodile Bridge entrance). The roads are very good and we saw loads of animals!

Ngwenya Lodge is overall an excellent resort to simply get away from city life and enjoy the bush at its best! Management and staff were very helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: If possible, try not to stay in the bottom part of the duplex chalets. It can be quite noisy if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pixie1505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

My family and I used our time share last week. We found the hotel to be in great condition. But the best part is the road to Kruger is now completely tarred. Added to that the hotel had paved all their roads. Unfortunately I left a jacket behind and there is no trace of it when I phoned to ask if it had been found.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joyce L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Komatipoort
21.0 mi away
Pestana Kruger Lodge
Pestana Kruger Lodge
#1 of 1 in Malelane
371 reviews
2.3 mi away
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
#69 of 173 in Kruger National Park
95 reviews
1.6 mi away
Buckler's Africa
Buckler's Africa
#1 of 13 in Komatipoort
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Elephant Walk Retreat
Elephant Walk Retreat
#5 of 13 in Komatipoort
76 reviews
5.1 mi away
Bushwise Safaris
Bushwise Safaris
#3 of 34 in Marloth Park
316 reviews
7.2 mi away
Ecolux Boutique Hotel
Ecolux Boutique Hotel
#4 of 14 in Komatipoort
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ngwenya Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ngwenya Lodge

Property: Ngwenya Lodge
Address: Tenbosch Road | Farm Whisky, Komatipoort 1340, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Komatipoort
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Komatipoort
Hotel Class:4 star — Ngwenya Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ngwenya Lodge is situated on the southern tip of the world-renowned Kruger National Park. This means that visitors don’t even have to leave the resort to see a huge variety of game species – including the famous Big Five. The river view chalets overlook a scenic floodplain, which allows for magnificent views of the area where the big cats often hunt. Our Dam and Bush view chalets are set back on the property and also have beautiful views, as they overlook tranquil dams or bush areas. Game viewing hides make game viewing on the riverfront accessible to all – so no one misses out on spotting any of their favorite wild animals. Holiday in the luxury you’re used to… The units have fully equipped kitchens with a stove, fridge, freezer and a microwave. Each unit has a television and an undercover veranda with patio table, chairs and a braai, for unforgettable get-togethers with family and friends. Ngwenya’s on-site facilities include a pub, a beauty salon with a wide range of treatments, a curio shop, a small convenience shop, 6 outdoor swimming pools, 18 hole Mini Golf course, 2 tennis courts, trampolines, jungle gyms, a games room with pool tables, table tennis, Playstations with Xbox Kinnect, a kiddies room with various board games, puzzles, and kids movies.We can’t wait for you to visit us. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ngwenya Lodge Komatipoort, Africa - South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing