We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great long weekend”
Review of Ngwenya Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Komatipoort
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ngwenya Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Just had a fantastic short break at Ngwenya Lodge with some friends in a 6 sleeper unit on the dam opposite the restaurant. I own a week in an 8 sleeper unit on the river but haven't used it for two years. Since I was last there I have noticed a major improvement with respect to the general look and feel of the resort ( e.g. gardens are looking fantastic compared to two years ago). The front desk staff are extremely friendly and helpful and have a great attitude. Prior to our arrival I got 2 calls from the resort confirming our arrangements and warning us of the poor conditions on the Nelspruit/ Komatipoort road, well done guys!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ChaplinP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (441)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

376 - 382 of 441 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2013

What a spectacular holiday. We had a very peaceful, relaxing holiday. Rina (admin) was fantastic, as we had booked two units, but the 2nd a whole two months later, so they were on opposite sides of the resort. She moved heaven and earth to get us two adjacent units.
Belinda was also fantastic. Her service at the family braai was great, And how often do you get something for free... If you get a chance, go to the braai!
The entertainment centre is also great for kids. Again, mini-golf, games, ping-pong... all free!

We saw so many animals from the luxury of our patio while sipping our early morning coffee. Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: All rooms good, but try with a river facing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marc A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

River side accommodation offers excellent animal viewing - we saw waterbuck, impala, warthogs, hippos, crocodiles, elephants from our patio and the elephants came right up to the electric fence which made for hours of fantastic viewing. At night we heard hyenas nearby.
The accommodation is very private, has good finishes and furnishings, decor and are spacious.
The restaurant is nicely positioned with a large deck overlooking the crocodile river.
A 10 minute drive from the Paul Kruger park or Komatipoort makes for easy access.
Excellent resort which can be highly recommended.

Room Tip: We stayed in unit 96 which are the older units that have been refurbished - I would recommend these...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MIke7857
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Stayed in a chalet on the crocodile river looking in to the Kruger Park. On two successive evenings saw 4 of big 5, all at the same time, while having sundowners on the patio! Chalets are very comfortable and kept very clean by staff who service chalets everyday excluding Sundays. Plenty of amenities available i.e. swimming pools; tennis courts; restaurant etc. great bird watching was an added bonus.

Room Tip: A chalet overlooking the river is the ultimate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HechterPJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Stayed there in one of the 8 sleepers overlooking the Kruger Park at Hippo Bend. All amenities were great and the place was kept VERY clean by the staff. They have been doing some great upgrades with something new every time we go there. They have got to change those awful chairs used to sit outside the bungalows however - VERY uncomfortable!! Saw some great animal sightings from our balcony including Buffalo right at the veranda!

Room Tip: If you are going for a 6 or 8 sleeper then try and NOT get Hippo Bend as the bungalows closer to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Well groomed staff, neat and clean units, Daily serviced beutifull situated on the Crocodile river
with Kruger Park on the other size. Nice relaxing dont even have to travel sit on your patio and see the animals come to drink water in gront of you.Beautifull gardens with very active bird life.

Room Tip: Ask for a river unit
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bolla59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Went to Ngwenya for the women's day long weekend. The drive from Joburg too 5 and a half hours, but it rained most of the way and we took our time. The road is well tarred and still had some construction going on the N12 but it was a very pleasant driving experience. Two stop and go's during August. Trucks were a problem when the highway became single lane, but its part of the journey. The shell ultra city in middelburg is undergoing renovations currently, so stop elsewhere.

We stopped at Komatipoort to pick up some perishables. The Spar (local convenience store) was better stocked than some markets in Jozi. Had no issues using cards, not that we expected any. Buy nuts from the local ladies roaming the parking lot...best you'll ever have! Also take along papers for your car to cross into Mozambique for a day trip, it's worth it.

On check in the staff was friendly and informative. Had no issue taking three cars in for an 8 sleeper unit and parking was enough as well. Early check in was also not a problem. Anything from 2h30pm seems to be ok. ID or passport numbers are required for every guest, as well as a signature on the indemnity form.

There's a tour company at check in that organizes tours into Kruger. We self drove and as SA citizens it was a lot cheaper than paying a tour company. Roads into Kruger are tarred as far as lower Sabie. The dirt roads were not bad either and we did it in a Audi sedan. Saw lots of game on just the tarred road though. Crocodile bridge was 10km's away.

We had a 3 bedroom chalet, 2 bathrooms. The sleeper couch in the lounge was good enough. Beds and bedding were very comfortable cotton. Aircon and ceiling fans in every bedroom and lounge. Also screens on all the windows and doors, but we had no mozzies and other insects were at a minimum. Chalets recently had a facelift and the facilities are great. Kitchen was well stocked with cutlery and crockery. They thought of everything! No rolling pin though, but we made something work!

Cleaning staff were efficient and unobtrusive. We payed R120 for Sunday cleaning and it was worth every penny! Our chalet looked onto one of the dams, which was so peaceful. We went to the hides for game viewing but it was a slow weekend. Herd of buffalo and a few elephants were the highlight one evening!

Don't bother with restaurant unless you have to. Service was poor. There were pools, putt putt, tennis, table tennis and a games room for kids. All looked well kept.

Overall, we'd go back. Probably not in summer as it will be too hot. I'm also mozzie averse! Also. Next time we will do a river facing unit.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Natalie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Komatipoort
21 mi away
Pestana Kruger Lodge
Pestana Kruger Lodge
#1 of 1 in Malelane
415 reviews
7.7 mi away
Acasia Guest Lodge
Acasia Guest Lodge
#4 of 14 in Komatipoort
63 reviews
6.9 mi away
Trees Too Guest Lodge
Trees Too Guest Lodge
#1 of 14 in Komatipoort
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Ecolux Boutique Hotel
Ecolux Boutique Hotel
#5 of 14 in Komatipoort
174 reviews
1.6 mi away
Buckler's Africa
Buckler's Africa
#2 of 14 in Komatipoort
379 reviews
2.3 mi away
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
#66 of 178 in Kruger National Park
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ngwenya Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ngwenya Lodge

Address: Tenbosch Road | Farm Whisky, Komatipoort 1340, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Komatipoort
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Komatipoort
Hotel Class:4 star — Ngwenya Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ngwenya Lodge is situated on the southern tip of the world-renowned Kruger National Park. This means that visitors don’t even have to leave the resort to see a huge variety of game species – including the famous Big Five. The river view chalets overlook a scenic floodplain, which allows for magnificent views of the area where the big cats often hunt. Our Dam and Bush view chalets are set back on the property and also have beautiful views, as they overlook tranquil dams or bush areas. Game viewing hides make game viewing on the riverfront accessible to all – so no one misses out on spotting any of their favorite wild animals. Holiday in the luxury you’re used to… The units have fully equipped kitchens with a stove, fridge, freezer and a microwave. Each unit has a television and an undercover veranda with patio table, chairs and a braai, for unforgettable get-togethers with family and friends. Ngwenya’s on-site facilities include a pub, a beauty salon with a wide range of treatments, a curio shop, a small convenience shop, 6 outdoor swimming pools, 18 hole Mini Golf course, 2 tennis courts, trampolines, jungle gyms, a games room with pool tables, table tennis, Playstations with Xbox Kinnect, a kiddies room with various board games, puzzles, and kids movies.We can’t wait for you to visit us. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ngwenya Lodge Komatipoort, Africa - South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing