We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Awesome”
other traveller has booked this property
Infinity Pool in Big 5 Territory
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Infinity Pool in Big 5 Territory
Lounge with PVR All Bedrooms look onto the River
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
Infinity Pool in Big 5 Territory
Lounge with PVR
All Bedrooms look onto the River
Elephant
Buffalo
Elephant and Buffalo
Elephants
Lion's
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Komatipoort, Mpumalanga

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
zgoody
brooklyn
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome”
Reviewed 15 February 2016 for a stay in August 2014

Everything was excellent.
From dealing with owners, to checking in and out, easy
The place is just awesome. My children loved the place.
A must place to stay with the family

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conker20
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home from Home”
Reviewed 18 May 2015 for a stay in March 2015

I am writing this somewhat reluctantly because I have rented this property annually for a number of years and have always resisted reviewing it. The reason was that I didn't want everybody else finding out what a gem it is. Situated on the southern bank of the Crocodile River with extensive views over the Kruger Park which is on the northern bank, this house makes an ideal base for exploring the southern part of the park. Crocodile Bridge entrance gate is less than 10 minutes away.
Alternately you can just stay'at home' and enjoy the animals on the opposite bank whilst cooling off in the plunge pool. I,and some of my friends are keen photographers and artists and we can all pursue are interests without leaving our chairs or the wine fridge!
There can be no better recommendation than the fact that we keep coming back every year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WelshFood...
llanelli
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“WOW! Mind blowing experience all round!”
Reviewed 18 February 2015 for a stay in July 2013

We stayed here in the summer of 2012 with our friends family who owned this incredible home. It was mind blowing and we saw INCREDIBLE wild life on our Safari and game drives through Kruger. It is so conveniently positioned from game drives and reserves, a short drive away from stores to get food and alcohol, and the house itself provides some incredible views, overlooking Crocodile river where we saw a LOT of different wild life coming back and fore to bathe and drink including crocodiles, water buck, hippos, monitor lizards and many many birds!
I would recommend this beautiful home 10 times over

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Randy H
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
“Excellent Accomodations”
Reviewed 3 February 2015 for a stay in November 2014

I had the opportunity to stay here for a week in Nov. 2014--I cannot say enough good things about this rental. The location on the Crocodile River was phenomenal, and the house was very well maintained (the infinity pool was one of the cleanest we've encountered in a rental) I would absolutely stay here again and would recommend it to any other traveller.

The only thing I would rate as just "Good" instead of "GREAT" would be the lack of instruction for using the appliances. If you are coming from the US, there is a bit of a learning curve with the stove and washing machine. However, this did not take away from our experience.

In fact, we look forward to booking our next stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The river views.
Liked least: Lack of instruction for using the appliances.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
judyhall2...
Woking, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A little piece of heaven!”
Reviewed 15 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We had the most wonderful holiday at Hippo Hills! The house is lovely and the staff couldn't do enough to please. We thoroughly enjoyed visiting the restaurant and we were frequent visitors! It was a joy to be so close to the wild animals...elephants, crocs and, of course, hippos galore.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shakti230...
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing views of the Crocodile River!”
Reviewed 8 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We spent three nights at Hippo Hills. We were a group of eight. The house is spacious and very comfortable. Each room has its own en suite bathroom with amazing views of the Crocodile River. The outside area is incredible- with a small infinity pool and a large veranda with table, chairs and loungers- allowing one to relax and enjoy the view of the Crocodile River. We saw elephants, rhino, buffalo, hippos, buck and crocs from the veranda. The upstairs also has a large outside area where one can sit and enjoy the sun set while sipping a cocktail. We had a lovely three day stay and will definitely be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kimgom83
Pereybere
1 review
“Luxury Accommodation with views only found in game spotting dreams!”
Reviewed 23 April 2013 for a stay in September 2011

What a fantastic way to spend a holiday. Excellent self-catering house, luxurious living. The days spent ogling game from the infinity pool or exploring the Kruger Park. Been back three times since the first visit and enjoyed every second. Unbelievable value for money.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views and the rooms!
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing