We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kruger Safari base from Meerkat Manor”
Review of Meerkat Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Meerkat Manor
Ranked #1 of 14 Komatipoort B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Muscat, Oman
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Kruger Safari base from Meerkat Manor”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We arrived at Meerkat Manor after a 500 km drive from Joburg, we were met with an extremely warm welcome from very nice people. The room was as advertised, very fresh and clean in a very nice location, and good value.The balcony overlooked the Kruger Park and the Crocodile River, Sunsets and Sunrises were wonderful. Although there are no Meerkats on the property !! the name is very apt for the area. This is a perfect base for exploring the southern part of the Kruger, 10 kms from Crocodile Gate and 5kms from the Mozambique border if you want to travel to Maputo. Very nice experience, we were due to return for another 2 nights but suffered an unfortunate incident which prevented us returning.

Room Tip: 1st floor rooms facing the Kruger have a small balcony to enjoy your sundowners.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    36
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
43
45
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Modern and functional, secure yet airy, in a nice neighborhood. Parking very secure as well
Hosts are genuinely friendly and helpful.
Minutes to Kruger and Mozambique.
Could not imagine more.
Very reasonable budget price.

Room Tip: No spa, but great shower!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theskytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jhb
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We had booked a room at Meerkat Manor in komatipoort for the long easter weekend. Our 3 night stay consisted of excellent service and a very relaxing enviroment. MM is what I call value for money.
Thank you Ronnie

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Meerkat Manor is a lovely guest house situated in Komatipoort and is very convenient if travelling to Kruger National Park, Mozambique or Swaziland. The rooms were very clean and neat with comfortable beds. Being in such a warm area, it was refreshing to have a room with an air-conditioner that really works well. Also the TV had more channels to choose from then most places offer – not to mention some free movies. Also great having free Wi-Fi. The guest house is situated in a nice quite area and having a BBQ was great. We even heard some wild animals from the Kruger Park late at night. Nice place and helpful owners. Would recommend anytime

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rink353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maputo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Couple, French and Moroccan. Very nice place, the reception is very friendly, the boss is very cool, shame that the pool is tiny. This is a great stop to visit the area, whether the canyons or Reserve Kruger park.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Laurent D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lome, Togo
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

After booking over an international website, i received a personalized confirmation from Ronnie within minutes - very impressive!

As we were a group of friends and arrived from Mozambique quite late, I had asked for some biltong to be available for us. They arranged for a superb variety of it.

The room was a self catering apartment. All what we needed was there. Although we didn't make use of the braai and utensils, all was there to be used.
After arriving we were shown the house and all the amenities, which makes a whole heart-warming difference as opposed to some other places where you are handed over the keys and left to mind your business. I find that a personal touch is always welcome.

Bedding of fine quality made us sleep graciously.
Amazing experience to fall asleep to the sound of crickets and some distant frogs, and waking up to a beautiful sunrise with birds singing.

The bathroom was spotless and the toiletries provided adequate for the stay.

Being 10 minutes from the border and 10 minutes from the Crocodile Bridge, i will definitely be staying a lot more often.

The only point to improve - provide an aircon unit on the master room. The fans are adequate, but if you're like me who prefers a chilly environment opposed to a scorching outside, it will make you even more comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pjso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middelburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 March 2014

I did not expect a place like this at the Price I paid. I already informed my friends to make use of this accomodation as I could compare it to other very good places I stayed before, and it is absolutely outstanding.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Naas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Komatipoort
0.7 mi away
Trees Too Guest Lodge
Trees Too Guest Lodge
#2 of 14 in Komatipoort
328 reviews
6.1 mi away
Buckler's Africa
Buckler's Africa
#1 of 13 in Komatipoort
340 reviews
6.4 mi away
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
#75 of 172 in Kruger National Park
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ecolux Boutique Hotel
Ecolux Boutique Hotel
#4 of 14 in Komatipoort
158 reviews
0.2 mi away
Acasia Guest Lodge
Acasia Guest Lodge
#5 of 14 in Komatipoort
52 reviews
0.6 mi away
Stoep Cafe
Stoep Cafe
#3 of 14 in Komatipoort
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meerkat Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meerkat Manor

Property: Meerkat Manor
Address: 11 Bosbok Street, Komatipoort 1340, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Komatipoort
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Komatipoort
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Meerkat Manor 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meerkat Manor Guest House is situated in the town of Komatipoort, destination for tourists from all over the world who need accommodation on their way to the Kruger National Park, Mozambique and Swaziland.A brand new guesthouse, with emphasis on a Bushveld atmosphere, whilst still enjoying comfort and upmarket facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Meerkat Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meerkat Manor Komatipoort, Africa - South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing