We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upmarket comfort, but a bit understaffed.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Theoxenia Palace Hotel
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Kifissia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 July 2014

It wasn't all that easy to locate, as the one-way system is challenging, but when you do, the Theoxenia Palace Hotel couldn't have been a more welcoming conclusion to a week's busy sightseeing tour of mainland Greece. Away from the bustle of downtown Athens, in the upmarket neighbourhood of leafy Kifissia, it was nice to be welcomed by professionally friendly staff, to have the car valet-parked and the luggage whisked upstairs by porters. A beautiful swimming pool sparkled temptingly beyond a marble staircase. Once a small muddle over rooms had been resolved, we all appreciated the spaciousness, good pillows, good shower, brightness, quiet taste and overall comfort. Nothing to do but relax, have a swim, freshen up, then stroll down Kifissia Avenue for a spot of retail and people-spotting.
A previous review mentions the unalluring seventies-style restaurant space. I agree. The menu had little appeal either, so instead we opted to eat at a cool modern restaurant, recommended by Costas at reception, fifty yards down the road - no hardship. I'm reluctant to pick holes in the Theoxenia on this account, as they tried immensely hard to be helpful, and succeeded - as befits a self-styled luxury hotel - in organising excellent in-room manicures for myself and my 2 daughters. They were great too about directions to the airport the next day, and produced a reasonable breakfast. But you somehow got the impression that even the Theoxenia is suffering from Greece's recession. Not enough staff meant nice Costas was in charge of everything. There were glitches, like a badly-attached shower-curtain, and the tendency of the lift lights to switch off automatically if you delayed pressing the floor button, plunging you in darkness. But these are small points. We were glad to stay in this quiet haven, and very much enjoyed our brief experience of upper middle-class residential Athens.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MargaretBritish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (365)
There are newer reviews for Theoxenia Palace Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

155 - 161 of 365 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2014

We had stayed in central Athens before, so decided to choose a different location prior to taking a cruise from Piraeus. The Kifissia neighbourhood is lovely, tree-lined streets, charming cafes and boutiques. The nearby metro took us into the city centre very easily. Our room was large and comfortable, with 3 armchairs and a desk, a very comfortable bed. Housekeeping forgot to replace used glasses each day but were quick to remedy this when we asked.
However, the breakfast experience left something to be desired. The dim, brown 70s decor would not matter uif the service had been more focussed. We were there for 3 days and each day they ran out of eggs and bacon, there was a long delay before fresh supplies.were brought. There was tinned fruit, a very small platter of fresh fruit, poor presentation and a feeling of no care being taken, insufficient supervision. The staff were very pleasant, though.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Thalia8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I did not notice big differences from the past.
Reception - small and inefficient
Elevator - painfully slow, inefficiently programmed
Restaurant - when you sit close to the window you may feel OK, otherwise the restaurant is dark and the athomosphere is cold. Food is OK.
Room - extremely noisy when your neighbors are present (and talk or watch TV). Curtains could only be closed with a huge effort
Overall, I cannot not say that this is a true 5 star hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the street are definitely noisy.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DMS1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I had two main issues with the Theoxenia, one of which was my fault and one of which was not. The first is that it is 35-40 mins by train from the centre of Athens (plus a 10-15 min walk from the hotel to the train station). Having said that the area itself (Kifissia) is quite a nice upmarket area. The second issue was that this is not a 5 star hotel by normal standards. It definitely lacked something special to bring it to that level. The people working at reception were quite cold. Our room had a large balcony with no furnishings whatsoever so you had to stand. The bathroom and shower of the pool area were filthy. Overall I would not describe it as a luxury hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Homesick_Alien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

The place is ok, but the air
Conditioner didn't work, we opened the window and got bitten by mosquitoes. The bed and pillows are quite uncomfortable. The pool area and the gym are nice. It is located far from the center of Athens but the area is nice, there are many restaurants and cafés around the hotel

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Marianna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

No one to help us with our bags on arrival, just one personal reception.

No explanation of the facilities. Lobby and communal rooms needed cleaning (although this was after a rain shower). Advised to restaurant in nearby square for dinner although it was only 9pm. Buffet breakfast ok but no one to assist. No late checkout available as hotel supposedly fully booked (but few people seen). Next day,pool closed due to yestersday rain shower - not cleaned. Spa closed - no reason given.

All in all appeared to be a shortage of staff

Room had cheap laminate flooring and not as featured on the website.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

I've stayed here twice for business, for a total of 5 nights, and have received excellent service both times. The rooms I've stayed in have been very pleasant, clean and a good size. The room service is very good, and prices are very reasonable.

A problem I had with the in-room safe was very quickly fixed thanks to the excellent staff, and I would have no problems recommending this to anyone if staying in Athens.

Very close by are a number of restaurants that also provide good and varied food.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Howch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kifissia
Y Hotel
#1 of 10 in Kifissia
308 reviews
Hilton Athens
#20 of 324 in Athens
3,700 reviews
Coco-Mat Hotel Nafsika
#2 of 10 in Kifissia
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Exarchia
Radisson Blu Park Hotel Athens
Semiramis
#3 of 10 in Kifissia
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Theoxenia Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Theoxenia Palace Hotel

Address: 2 Filadelfeos, Kifissia, Athens 145 62, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Kifissia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Kifissia
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kifissia
Price Range: £32 - £965 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Theoxenia Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Bookgreece.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Theoxenia Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Theoxenia Palace Kifissia
Hotel Theoxenia Palace
Theoxenia Palace Hotel Greece/Kifissia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing