We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for a great experience /充满惊喜的地方”
Review of Wallhalla B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wallhalla B&B
Ranked #1 of 2 Vannas B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We have been awared too much staying here with lot of pleasant surprises. It is not only a B&B, but also where you can get in touch with the great nature and local life: we have seen the White Swans in the quiet and beautiful Vindel river in the morning. Inge-Marie showed us around their home garden and also led us to pick up mushrooms in the deep forest nearby. Stig drove us to the forest for trekking and we watched how the woodpeckers were working.
Above all, when we reached here around 22:00 after long driving from Jokkmokk, which is the 2nd night here, we saw the amazing Northern Light just above the house and trees here !
I must thank you Inge-Marie and Stig, for your hospitality and care during our stay, for your guide and instructions to visit Those beautiful sights around your home, for your friendliness and company to sit down talking about what have happened in this land. Because of you we do not feel as a guest and we do not feel living in a guest house, but we feel like getting back sweet home!
We will definitely be back to you and we wish you both healthy, happy !
Yours
Zijian and Summer
P.S. Thank you for the carrots and mushrooms and they tasted so good that we will not buy them anymore from local supermarkets. We will wait until next time when we meet again.

写给中国来的朋友: 如果你们计划到UMEA,LULEA一带旅行,我们强烈建议入住瓦尔哈拉家庭旅馆。我们本来只计划在这里住1个晚上,然后继续北上到北极圈。但我们在这里住了3个晚上!
从我们3天的体验看,这里让我们感觉更像一个家。男女主人很友好,热情,亲切,带我们去周边的森林采摘蘑菇,他们家里中的胡萝卜超级好吃,周围还有很多有意思的度假村,宁静的城镇,悠闲的生活,旅馆旁边的河里看到一群白天鹅。在金秋季节,这里丰富的色彩,美妙的乡村生活,让我们流连忘返。更美妙的是我们在追寻北极光近乎失望的时候,竟然在这里找到了!这里带给我们太多幸运的事情!希望今年圣诞节能再来这里!
赵先生& 方女士

Room Tip: There are 2 standard Twin bed room and 1 suite, so book in advance and ask Stig what rooms available...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OmniaResor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (76)
There are newer reviews for Wallhalla B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 76 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2013

We have stayed at Wallhalla on three separate occasions in three different seasons - autumn, dead of winter and summer. A springtime experience awaits us, but we certainly recommend the other three seasons and wholeheartedly agree with the comments in the "hidden treasure" review. “Dead of winter” (first week of January in our case) provided crisp slightly sub-zero temperatures which were ideal for outdoor winter activities. We had just one day in six when it got a little too cold for outside stuff (about 20 below) – but the fika (coffee and cakes) were fantastic inside with the wood fire, looking out at the snow.

In our various visits we've picked chanterelle mushrooms in the forest, watched moose, tried to catch salmon (others did the catching!), and picked lots and lots of beautiful wild raspberries and blueberries. The kitchen in the B & B is stocked with the most beautiful wild berry jams you have ever tasted! Breakfast with Ing-Marie's home-made bread is a really great treat!
Each season offers a different range of outdoor activities, including walking, skiing, fishing, cycling, kayaking etc.

The Vindelälven (river) is a long stone's throw from the B & B - in winter you and the moose can walk across, and in summer it’s beautiful and wild. Its one of the few unregulated rivers remaining in the north of Sweden, with a range of fish to catch or simply a lovely place to walk. Upstream of Vännfors (the hamlet where Walhalla is located) the river has spectacular rapids and further upstream are first-class trout riffles and ponds for those with more skill than I.

The surrounding area has lots of delightful little arts and craft galleries and in summer a local dairy sells the best ice-cream (straight from the cow) you’ve ever tasted. They have the most intense berry flavors you can possibly imagine. Drooool!

The accommodation inside Valhalla is a superb renovation in traditional Swedish style – an absolute treat both from the point of view of comfort and ambiance.

Recommended by us without reservation – but we suggest you do make a reservation – you won’t want to miss out!

Room Tip: The honeymoon suite is a gem
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Wallhalla offers an exceptional setting an exceptional services. The hosts, Inge-Marie and Stig, have renovated the old family home to ultra modern standard while retianing the charm of the 19th century century with stunning antique furniture, wooden looms (active), exposed beams etc.
As a couple, and no other visitors at the moment, we have the full run of the house with comfortable loung areas, kitchen, and ameniies such as washing machine. Love the heated floors in the bathroom! Outside the fromnt door are endless ski tracks - including an excellent 15 minute run in the nearby field, excellent for beginners. It would be great to come here during the other 3 seasons! Best of all, we see that it is an absolutely ideal place to meet up with our daughter, son-in-law and grandchildren from Edinburgh and look forward to that opportunity.

There is also a barn which hosts big events (weddings, parties etc). But it works for all categoreies, business, couples, family, friends, and solo. Go for it if you are fortunate enough to be in the region.

Room Tip: The best room is the "hioneymoon suite" - large and windows on 3 sides. The other 2 rooms...
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bonitar68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marianne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank bengtdanneborn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank ikkeherman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hayri D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vannas hotels
7.2 mi away
Hotell Vannas
Hotell Vannas
#2 of 2 in Vannas
10 reviews
5.3 mi away
Tallbacken Camping
Tallbacken Camping
#2 of 3 in Vannas
5 reviews
3.1 mi away
By The River Hostel
By The River Hostel
#1 of 3 in Vannas
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wallhalla B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wallhalla B&B

Address: 104 Vaennfors, Vannas 911 92, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Vasterbotten County > Vannas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Vannas
Price Range: £64 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Wallhalla B&B, in Vännfors village by the pristine Vindel river in Swedish Västerbotten you live close to the meadows, woods and water. Wallhalla has three bedrooms, newly decorated with high ceilings, comfortable beds, bathroom and a large living-room with Wi-Fi , widescreen TV and view over the countryside. Breakfast, with homemade bread and berries and vegetables from own garden, is served in our old style kitchen or in the garden when the weather permits." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Wallhalla B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing