We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very great address to recommend”
Review of Scandic Varnamo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Scandic Varnamo
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Varnamo
Reviewed 6 June 2014

I have traveled for the junior tennis tournament in Varnamo with my goddaughter.
The hotel is very comfortable and staff is highly professional, nice and helpful.
The manager with his office in the entry is GREAT and looking anytime for the best for his clients. Breakfast is perfect and bar/ restaurant too.
I travel 30 weeks per year and I would like to find an hotel as Scandic in Varnamo in every city where I Travel.

Thanks to the Manager and his staff (and for his prompt action for the lift ;-)) !!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Benoît B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScandicVarnamo, Front Office Manager at Scandic Varnamo, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Thank you so much for the kind words, we do appreciate you letting us know you enjoyed your stay here with us!
Our general manager says he was happy to help, and sends his best.
We hope to see you here again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (157)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 157 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2014

Probably the best hotel in Varnamo, but still not more than average. Easy access parking (free during evening and night), above average breakfast and fresh, renovated rooms. Staff is friendly and the hotels restaurant serves decent Swedish traditional food - maybe a bit overpriced. On the negative side are the following things: Water overflowing the bathroom floor when using the shower. Toilet chair in some rooms positioned in strange angles making you have to sit a bit sideways. Economy rooms lacks elevator access and the rooms are quite small (but since my previous visit they have been renovated). The breakfast hall is still boring and not especially cosy. The pub across the street have loudspeaker on their patio, so in some evenings the sound level from this might be a bit high for sensitive persons. The hotel also hosts discos during some evenings which also adds to the sound level. And finally - the price fo an economy room rivals most hotels in Stockholm. Overpriced? Yes!

Room Tip: Avoid economy rooms. Ask for room away from the pedestrian street if you are sensitive to sounds (Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dgjohansson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScandicVarnamo, Front Office Manager at Scandic Varnamo, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Thank you for your feedback, we are glad you enjoyed our service.
The problem with the noise from the pub is out of our hands unfortunately, but we have an ongoing discussion with the city about this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Nice and friendly. A little old retro styled, but nice. Staff friendly. Breakfast so so....but overall nice and comfti. i would say the best hotel in Varnamo. I would only like it better if all rooms were renovated at the same time.....

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tessber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScandicVarnamo, Front Office Manager at Scandic Varnamo, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Thank for for taking the time to get back to us on how your experience at the hotel was.
We appreciate the feedback and are in the process of renovating yet another floor of rooms, so we hope to see you here again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013 via mobile

Great hotel which has retained some wonderful mid century features including a 3 storey circular staircase.

I was offered the 50's room which is decorated in some great retro furniture and fittings.

Food and hospitality up to standard.

I really liked it here.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
Thank Nickit7676
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScandicVarnamo, Front Office Manager at Scandic Varnamo, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2013

We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay here, and we hope you come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Stayed here for two nights its very clean and staff very friendly and helpful.. Located in the centre of town close to probably te one and only English style pub and some nice restaurants close by.
Rooms are clean and small but quite acceptable.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkColl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScandicVarnamo, Front Office Manager at Scandic Varnamo, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2013

Thank you for reviewing us, we really appreciate it.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

The stay at Scandic Värnamo was a hit! For adults and minors as well. Staff is warm, friendly and helpfull to all. Our room was clean kept and beautifully decorated with modern design and a fiest for the eye. As was their delicous food that left all of us content. Even the picky one. We slept like babies in our comfortable beds. No disturbances from the square although the hotel is situated in the citycenter close to everything. We are pleased and will be back some other weekend.

Room Tip: Ask for the room with two bathtubs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katrin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScandicVarnamo, Front Office Manager at Scandic Varnamo, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2013

We are delighted to hear that you all enjoyed your stay with us and we certainly hope to see you again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

The hotel is nice, clean. Friendly staff, good breakfast. Excellent location in Varnamo downtown. Bycicles free of charge.

The only thing I would complain is the lack of air conditioning even in summer

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ADOLFODLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScandicVarnamo, Front Office Manager at Scandic Varnamo, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2013

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us!

We are aware of the issue with no air conditioning in the rooms. Its an ongoing discussion we are having with the real estate concern as this building has been a hotel since 1955 and we appreciate and value your opinion in the matter.

We hope to see you staying here with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Varnamo
1.9 mi away
Hotell Vidostern Varnamo
10.9 mi away
Toftaholm Herrgard Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotell Tre Liljor
Hotell Tre Liljor
#4 of 4 in Varnamo
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hohallets Lantliga Rum
Hohallets Lantliga Rum
#1 of 4 in Varnamo
11 reviews
0.5 mi away
No photo provided
Hotell Apladalen
#2 of 4 in Varnamo
3 reviews
2.2 mi away
No photo provided
Rasta Varnamo
#1 of 2 in Varnamo
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Varnamo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Varnamo

Address: 20 E Storgatsbacken, Varnamo 331 30, Sweden (Formerly Designhotellet)
Region: Sweden > Jonkoping County > Varnamo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Varnamo
Price Range: £98 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Varnamo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Design hotel Scandic Värnamo is centrally located within walking distance to nature, shopping and activities.There are good opportunities for recreation, fishing and training - walking in Store Mosse national park or take a round of golf at Värnamo Golf Club. Do not forget to visit Möbelriket, which also inspired the hotel's design.Scandic Värnamo ideal for both holidaymakers and business travelers. Enjoy a delicious meal in the hotel restaurant and relax with a drink at the bar. Work out in the gym or rejuvenate in the sauna. Conduct business in our 9 flexible meeting rooms with wireless internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Scandic Hotels, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Stayforlong S.L., Agoda, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Scandic Varnamo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing