We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel, good service”
Review of The Royal Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Fernando
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Royal Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in San Fernando
Panama City, Panama, Panama
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“good hotel, good service”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

The staff is very helpful, room clean, nice, have all that you need, nice garden, pool ok, good bed, clean nice.
the location is very good, close of all in s. Fernando................................................

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Nicolas N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    19
    21
    9
    7
See reviews for
9
6
9
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Have stayed at this hotel for around 8 years, 2 to 3 times er year, always on business. Staff are responsive, pleasant and helpful. Food is OK, however the menu has not changed in as many years.....could be improved.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trinidad
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

I went to the Royal Hotel in March 2014 for the Carnival weekend. I found the hotel itself was really good. The rooms were nice although on first sight I found it to be too clustered. The room I got the toilet was not working properly. The pool and the grounds were really good. The service at the restaurant was good also although I anticipated more from the continental breakfast. Overall it was good for the price we paid

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Alicia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gulfport, Mississippi, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

As with any hotel, if you are respectful to the staff, they will address any concerns that you have. I have chosen this hotel several times and will stay at the Royal Hotel in the future. Good food, nice clean rooms, very helpful staff and great pool and dining area. Do not be pretentious...if you want the Waldorf Astoria, then go there...otherwise enjoy all that this hotel, hotel staff and local area has to offer. There was never a night that I did not see staff/security walking around and asking if I needed assistance. The rooms are clean and the staff will adjust to any schedule of cleaning, if you just ask. Whenever possible, I introduced myself to all waiters, maids, security staff, etc, and they all made sure that I was comfortable and had everything that I wanted. Bottom line, as with anyone or any hotel, treat people like you want to be treated and you will have an exceptional stay at this hotel, and most others as well.

jswjr
Mississippi

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor overlooking the pool-courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
355 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Stayed here for a few days with a group of friends, my first visit to T & T. Fairly basic and somewhat tired hotel compensated for by attentive and helpful staff. Rooms are just about OK and clean. Nice outdoor seating area for breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sanjaya_Wijeyekoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

The hotel has a laid back and tired feel about it, but then you are in Trinidad. where everything has a laid back feel about it. Trinidadians are very friendly and welcoming, and the hotel is no exception. The staff were helpful and friendly.
The bedrooms are OK and the beds comfortable, but the bathrooms are a bit basic and could do with a makeover. The food is OK and the steaks are good. The price for food is a bit dear and made worse by the tax added, which alledgedly is mainly a service charge. Despite this one is invited to add a tip on the bill, which is a bit cheeky if the service charge fee is correct.

Overall not bad, but not great.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Fernando, Trinidad
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2013

My daughter and I stayed at the Royal Hotel for 5 nights (Sunday to Friday morning). The property is average but the service is excellent. The staff, including receptionists, waitresses, housekeeping maids and grounds personnel were efficient and friendly. When we arrived on Sunday night, the security showed us to our room and a helpful security gentleman helped us with our luggage.
What made our stay enjoyable was the warmth and friendliness of the staff. They were really genuinely helpful, honest and respectful. The Hotel has a substantial continental breakfast which includes juice, fruit, cereal (a bit too sweet), tea or coffee and toast. Their breakfast surpasses other meagre continental breakfast I have experienced both in Europe and the States.
What took away from the overall review of the hotel was the bathroom with its trough like shower area and fine shower spray. I would have preferred a bath tub. This could be easily overlooked because to me what is of the utmost importance is the warmth of the staff.

Room Tip: Choose a room above ground level, they would offer greater privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amazinggrace50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Fernando
0.7 mi away
Trade Winds Hotel
Trade Winds Hotel
#1 of 2 in San Fernando
102 reviews
4.3 mi away
Cara Suites - Pointe a Pierre
25.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Trinidad
Hyatt Regency Trinidad
#2 of 21 in Port of Spain
2,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
32.3 mi away
D' Coconut Cove Holiday Beach Resort
26.0 mi away
Radisson Hotel Trinidad
Radisson Hotel Trinidad
#6 of 21 in Port of Spain
609 reviews
14.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Trincity Trinidad Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel

Property: The Royal Hotel
Address: 46-54 Royal Road, San Fernando, Trinidad
Region: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Trinidad > San Fernando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in San Fernando
Number of rooms: 60
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Trinidad
The Royal Hotel Trinidad/San Fernando

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing