We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“European quality restaurant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Black Forest Restaurant

Black Forest Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$25
Cuisines: German, European, Central European, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Child-friendly, Groups, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: We are located in La Cruz, just 15 minutes north of Puerto Vallarta and are a family-friendly restaurant offering a full-bar and a modern German menu emphasizing on freshness and quality. German cuisine means so much more these days than just sausage, sauerkraut and beer. Rather it reflects today's Germany with its distinctive medley of modernity and tradition. The restaurants menu embodies this fusion of old and new with a fresh, modern twist to traditional meals for you to enjoy. Passionate about food, the Proprietors cook from their hearts and consider the restaurant an extension of their home. Each guest is treated as an invited guest to be impressed with the ambiance, service and most importantly a wonderful, memorable meal. We hope you enjoy discovering more about this increasingly popular cuisine as you journey through their menu of foods and beverages from modern Germany.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“European quality restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2013 via mobile

Very nice place, very nice people, excellent dinner, I can only recommend this place.
High quality for a reasonable money. The owner is an authentic German from the Black Forest.




Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank taniamuzik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreaBlackForest, Owner at Black Forest Restaurant, responded to this review, 13 April 2013
Hello Tania,

thank you very much for your review. We enjoyed having you here and we hope to see you soon again.

Andrea and Yvonne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    25
    4
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bucerias
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2013

I found the Black Forest by mistake.I found the owner and staff wonderful almost like I had being there before.The food was great, the staff pleasant and charming.
I look forward to going back again on Tuesday night.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Freedom489
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreaBlackForest, Owner at Black Forest Restaurant, responded to this review, 1 March 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our restaurant. We look forward to see you again on Tuesday night for our German Beer Fest.

Andrea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very welcoming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2013

We have been dining at Black Forest at least once each trip for the last ten years and are pleased to see that it continues to offer the same excellent service today that it did when it opened. The restaurant is a charming oasis located on a tiny side street in La Cruz, among roaming cats, dogs and children. The 8 table dining room is nicely decorated and very homey. The restaurant is operated by a family from Germany, with a menu that will delight German tastebuds, as well as anyone elses, with unique creations such as peanut fettucini. The owners are charming and gracious, making each guest feel very much at home. The food is outstanding and creative, and the service is wonderful. Very much worth the visit.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Silvija777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreaBlackForest, Owner at Black Forest Restaurant, responded to this review, 25 February 2013
Hello Doscon,

thank you very much for taking the time to review our restaurant. We all look forward to see you again soon here at the Black Forest Restaurant.

Andrea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A True Taste of the Black Forest”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2013

We visited this restaurant for the first time and were truly impressed with the quality of service, and food. From the homemade spatzle, red cabbage to the applestrudel and Black Forest cake, the selections were prepared as a true representation and favour of the German region. Having lived in the Black Forest for five years, every morsel brought back a flood of pleasant memories and best of all, they have premium German beer on offer. Thank you Andrea for a very pleasant evening.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tedmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreaBlackForest, Owner at Black Forest Restaurant, responded to this review, 25 February 2013
Hello Tedmar,

thank you for the review of your dining experience. We always love to bring back memories for those who already traveled to the Black Forest. Hope to see you soon.

Andrea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medicine Hat, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Love at First Bite!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2013

We spent our first 4 years of marriage in Germany so will always have a love of good German food. When friends first took us to the Black Forest Resaurant several years ago, it was love at first bite. We have never been disappointed. We avoid the special nights ( beer Fest and live music) because we enjoy visiting with the family who runs the business and it is much too busy for them on those nights. We always feel at home here and comments about lack of English speaking waitresses are astounding to me.
Last week we booked the whole restaurant for a private function (my husband's 60th birthday) and they did a fabulous job. We came up with a menu of our favorites complete with a picture of my handsome husband in his youth. Garlic soup, schnitzel, fish, and a curry chicken. YUM! The service was exceptional, as usual, with all 2 dozen of our guests being served quickly and efficiently. Every guest, without exception said it was the best party they had attended in Mexico.
Winfried, the chef, is more than accommodating to special requests when possible and although he is a shy man, can be convinced to share a shot of schnapps after the kitchen slows down.
LOVE this restaurant!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Janet G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreaBlackForest, Owner at Black Forest Restaurant, responded to this review, 25 February 2013
Hello Janet,

thanks for your review. We had a lot of fun at your husband's birthday party, too. We hope to see you soon.

Andrea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Black Forest Restaurant also viewed

La Cruz de Huanacaxtle, Riviera Nayarit
La Cruz de Huanacaxtle, Riviera Nayarit
 
La Cruz de Huanacaxtle, Riviera Nayarit
La Cruz de Huanacaxtle, Riviera Nayarit
 
La Cruz de Huanacaxtle, Riviera Nayarit
La Cruz de Huanacaxtle, Riviera Nayarit
 

Been to Black Forest Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing