We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit of Germany in La Cruz”

Black Forest Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$25
Cuisines: German, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: We are located in La Cruz, just 15 minutes north of Puerto Vallarta and are a family-friendly restaurant offering a full-bar and a modern German menu emphasizing on freshness and quality. German cuisine means so much more these days than just sausage, sauerkraut and beer. Rather it reflects today's Germany with its distinctive medley of modernity and tradition. The restaurants menu embodies this fusion of old and new with a fresh, modern twist to traditional meals for you to enjoy. Passionate about food, the Proprietors cook from their hearts and consider the restaurant an extension of their home. Each guest is treated as an invited guest to be impressed with the ambiance, service and most importantly a wonderful, memorable meal. We hope you enjoy discovering more about this increasingly popular cuisine as you journey through their menu of foods and beverages from modern Germany.
Reviewed 22 February 2014

The Black Forest restaurant is a Germanic wonder in the midst of seafood and Mexican restaurants. The owners are welcoming to guests and the service is very good. As we did we did not have reservations-Friday night is their busiest-, we were seated in the back of the restaurant which was okay. The main dining area is more open and has a great view of the entertainers who perform every Friday night. The pair of singer/guitarists are worth coming for even if you were not hungry. All four of us enjoyed our meals. One had the vanilla shrimp and emptied his plate. Two of us had the combo platter of German specialties including red cabbage, spaetzel and schnitzel which we thoroughly enjoyed and our other diner had the pork stroganoff which was good but not great.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mar1046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackForestPV, Owner at Black Forest Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Hello Mar1046,

Thank you very much for your positive review. We always welcome feedback, and will do our best to keep improving our service. So it is very important for us to hear from you. We hope to see you again soon as we really enjoyed having you here at the restaurant.

Andrea Kuffner
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (150)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

97 - 101 of 150 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2014

Who knew that you could find such great German schnitzel on the coast of Mexico! Great live music and wonderful atmostphere.

Thank Shari D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackForestPV, Owner at Black Forest Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2014

Hello Shari D,

thank you very much for taking the time to review our restaurant. We are looking forward to see you again here at the Black Forest Restaurant.

Andrea Kuffner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We attended the Beer Fest last week in La Cruz, believe me we were very skeptical as our last
visit a year ago was a disaster, our reservations were not recorded so no tables available, finally seated in a corner which honestly was not very nice, no one came over to apologize for the inconvenience nor take our drink order.

Unfortunately we took our dear friends with us ranting and raving about how wonderful the Black Forest Restaurant was,

An Asian waitress who did not speak any English could not take our drink order as she had no idea what we wanted to order, the whole situation should never be repeated. We waited for another server to arrive which never happened and we finally had to leave with only having water and no service.

My boyfriend who is Austrian said let's try and give this restaurant another chance, I am more then pleased that we did, our last visit was excellent from the moment we walked in the door, ordered, ate a wonderful dinner and departed very happily.

We will be back in the very near future, and can only recommend other's to try this restaurant.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Elena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackForestPV, Owner at Black Forest Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

Hello Elena,

Thank you very much for your positive review. We always welcome feedback, and will do our best to keep improving our service.

Andrea Kuffner
Owner
Black Forest Restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

We have gone to this place for over 13 years now. They are wonderful people and we love certain dishes like the stuffed chicken, Schnitzel, & Shrimp dishes. They also have GREAT salads and large margaritas.

Thank Chuck K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackForestPV, Owner at Black Forest Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2014

Hello Chuck K,

we always love to see our regular clients here at the Black Forest Restaurant. Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review.

Looking forward to see you again soon.

Andrea Kuffner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Authentic German Schnitzel with homemade gravy,Spatzle and sweet red cabbage.
Friendly hosts,great wines and good friends to enjoy all.
Well worth the cab ride if you are in the Nuevo,Puerto Vallarta area.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Canuck1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreaBlackForest, Owner at Black Forest Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Hello Canuck1946,

thank you very much for your nice words and the time you took to write a review about the Black Forest Restaurant. We love to see you again soon here.

Andrea Kuffner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Black Forest Restaurant also viewed

La Cruz de Huanacaxtle, Riviera Nayarit
La Cruz de Huanacaxtle, Riviera Nayarit
 
La Cruz de Huanacaxtle, Riviera Nayarit
La Cruz de Huanacaxtle, Riviera Nayarit
 
Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
La Cruz de Huanacaxtle, Riviera Nayarit
 

Been to Black Forest Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing