We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice German Food in Mexico”

Black Forest Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$25
Cuisines: German, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: We are located in La Cruz, just 15 minutes north of Puerto Vallarta and are a family-friendly restaurant offering a full-bar and a modern German menu emphasizing on freshness and quality. German cuisine means so much more these days than just sausage, sauerkraut and beer. Rather it reflects today's Germany with its distinctive medley of modernity and tradition. The restaurants menu embodies this fusion of old and new with a fresh, modern twist to traditional meals for you to enjoy. Passionate about food, the Proprietors cook from their hearts and consider the restaurant an extension of their home. Each guest is treated as an invited guest to be impressed with the ambiance, service and most importantly a wonderful, memorable meal. We hope you enjoy discovering more about this increasingly popular cuisine as you journey through their menu of foods and beverages from modern Germany.
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We have eaten here a couple of times and the food was good but not outstanding. It was nice to get some good German beer and a change of food. Good service and hospitality.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackForestPV, Owner at Black Forest Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

Hello John M,

Thank you very much for your review. We always welcome feedback, and will do our best to keep improving our service and our quality.

We hope to see you soon

Andrea Kuffner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (135)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

78 - 82 of 135 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2014

We had heard people talking about how good the food was at this little German restaurant in La Cruz, up the road from Puerto Vallarta and decided to try it even though it was an hours drive for us. It was well worth the drive. We happened to run into schnitzel week so the 4 of us each ordered a different preparation of schnitzel, shared a few bites and all agreed they were all excellent. On top of it, they had German beer, Hof Brau Fest beer. Life was good.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank Paula H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackForestPV, Owner at Black Forest Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2014

Hello Paula H,

thank you very much for taking the time to review our Restaurant. We enjoyed very much talking to you.

Andrea Kuffner
Black Forest Restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Black Forest never fails to deliver some of the best meals we've had during our stay in La Cruz. We recently dine with them during their German beer fest and enjoyed the Swinehocken, marinated for 5 days then roasted and served with mashed potatoes, gravy and sauerkraut. It was so tender, juicy and delicious. We also had their beef Rouleden a week before and it too was the best! The beer is ice cold too. I highly recommend Black Forest!

Thank Jan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackForestPV, Owner at Black Forest Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Hello Jan G,

Thank you very much for your positive review. We always welcome feedback, and will do our best to keep improving our service.

Hope to see you again before you leave the area.

Andrea Kuffner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

This year we ate at this restaurant on two different occasions and both the food & service were excellent of both occasions. We each had a different dish on the two visits and all of the meals freshly prepared and delicious. The ambience is very cozy and comfortable with the restaurant decor being one of the two best in La Cruz. Be sure to visit on Friday nights during the high season and be treated to the entertainment provided by Latcho & Andrea. For fans of spanish guitar, it's not to be missed. It is highly recommended that you make reservations for Friday nights during the high season. We will definitely be returning next year.
TedMar

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tedmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackForestPV, Owner at Black Forest Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2014

Hello TedMar,

thank you very much for taking the time to write this positive review. We definitely recommend to reserve your table for the life entertainment with Latcho & Andrea.

Hope to see you again pretty soon.

Andrea Kuffner
Black Forest Restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

It was nice to have a different food choice and everything we ordered was delicious. The entertainment, Latcho & Andrea, played Gypsy Rumba & Flamenco Guitar music which was so much fun. Would definitely go again and highly recommend.

Thank TheClassyInukshuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackForestPV, Owner at Black Forest Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Hello TheClassyInukshuk,

thank you very much for taking the time to write this review about our restaurant. We hope to see you again soon.

Andrea Kuffner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Black Forest Restaurant also viewed

La Cruz de Huanacaxtle, Riviera Nayarit
La Cruz de Huanacaxtle, Riviera Nayarit
 
La Cruz de Huanacaxtle, Riviera Nayarit
La Cruz de Huanacaxtle, Riviera Nayarit
 

Been to Black Forest Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing