We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you like german food ya gotta eat here”

Black Forest Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$25
Cuisines: German, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: We are located in La Cruz, just 15 minutes north of Puerto Vallarta and are a family-friendly restaurant offering a full-bar and a modern German menu emphasizing on freshness and quality. German cuisine means so much more these days than just sausage, sauerkraut and beer. Rather it reflects today's Germany with its distinctive medley of modernity and tradition. The restaurants menu embodies this fusion of old and new with a fresh, modern twist to traditional meals for you to enjoy. Passionate about food, the Proprietors cook from their hearts and consider the restaurant an extension of their home. Each guest is treated as an invited guest to be impressed with the ambiance, service and most importantly a wonderful, memorable meal. We hope you enjoy discovering more about this increasingly popular cuisine as you journey through their menu of foods and beverages from modern Germany.
Reviewed 5 December 2014 via mobile

I brought a group of fishing buddies to La Cruz, and we ended up at Black Forest on one of our off days. Having just returned from Bavaria during Octoberfest, I wasn't sure what to expect, but was more than pleasantly surprised how good the food is. Our entire group of 5 were very happy with the meals and service. The other bonus is that they have a few good german beers available if you are tired of typical Mexican beer!

Thank sunsnowmud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackForestPV, Owner at Black Forest Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2014

Thank you, sunsnowmud for taking the time to write this review. We enjoyed your visit very much.

Andrea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (150)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

87 - 91 of 150 reviews

Reviewed 28 November 2014

I have always loved eating at Black Forest, but last time I was there they outdid themselves. The Kartoffelpuffer (aka, Reibekuchen, as they call them) were so good it was hard to stop eating. They were very crunchy and tasty and came with a delicious homemade applesauce... it really was to die for! Even my son, who will normally only have their Potato Soup (his favorite dish), had a go at the Kartoffelpuffer. Highly recommendable! Don't miss out when visiting La Cruz de Huanacaxtle!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LaCruzReviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackForestPV, Owner at Black Forest Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2014

Hello Jennifer,

thank you very much for taking the time to write about your experience with our Kartoffelpuffer / Potato Lattkes. And it is always a pleasure to serve your son with our potato soup.

We hope to see you soon again.

Andrea Kuffner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2014

When Latcho and Andrea play on Fridays, you have to go. There is hardly any better combination of food, service and live music on this side of the bay. german side heavy on the South western side, but if you like Baden, you love this place.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank KarimL67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackForestPV, Owner at Black Forest Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2014

Hello KarstenL,

thank you very much for taking the time to write this review.

Our event calender will show the exact dates when Latcho & Andrea are going to perform here at the Black Forest.

This October we also added new items to our menu to introduce more German specialties but we also added some lighter choices. Additionally we renovated our bar so that everybody can enjoy a cocktail or the Hefe-Weissbier from Hofbrauhaus at the bar before dinner.

Looking forward to see you again.

Andrea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2014

This gem is in La Cruz, which is about 15 minutes north of Nuevo Vallarta. It is owned by Germans and the chef is Swedish. The food is wonderful, but plan on spending a couple of hours to eat, as everything is cooked to order so it takes quite awhile to be served. The pate is a fab appetizer and the Wienrschnitzelcome with homemade Spatzel which is over the top....so if you have plentry of time this is a great place for authentic German food. Enjoy!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Susan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackForestPV, Owner at Black Forest Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2014

Hello Susan,

thank you very much for taking the time to review our restaurant. We enjoyed very much having you as a guest here last Sunday. I would love to point out though that our Chef Winfried is also German,

We hope to see you again soon
Andrea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

Really enjoyed our meal tonight at the Black Forest. The onion soup was the best I have ever had and I loooove herb butter. Gracious!!!

Thank Lynn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackForestPV, Owner at Black Forest Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Hello Lynn B,

thank you very much for taking the time to write the review. We enjoyed very much talking to you!

Andrea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Black Forest Restaurant also viewed

La Cruz de Huanacaxtle, Riviera Nayarit
La Cruz de Huanacaxtle, Riviera Nayarit
 
La Cruz de Huanacaxtle, Riviera Nayarit
La Cruz de Huanacaxtle, Riviera Nayarit
 
La Cruz de Huanacaxtle, Riviera Nayarit
La Cruz de Huanacaxtle, Riviera Nayarit
 

Been to Black Forest Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing