We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Miss Eva's Brickhouse!”
Review of Eva`s Brickhouse - CLOSED

Eva`s Brickhouse
Price range: US$45 - US$60
Cuisines: Seafood, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Romantic, Local cuisine, Groups, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Private Dining, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Private waterfront dining experience for parties of 4 or more, smaller parties are also welcomed to spend an evening enjoying freshly prepared 5-course meals in one of two private water front dining rooms. Seating is limited to 12 guests per evening. Reservations must be made at least one day in advance. To better understand what dining at Eva's Brickhouse is like please read the experience others in the Trip Advisor Family have shared in their reviews since the restaurants concept was changed in April of 2014.
Dayton, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't Miss Eva's Brickhouse!”
Reviewed 4 February 2013

My husband and I, along with four other couples just returned from a wonderful trip to Mexico which included not one visit to Eva's, but three! We arrived on a Sunday and it was too early to check into the house we rented for the week, so we stopped into Eva's and are so glad we did. They served excellent ceviche and killer margaritas. Our waiters were very friendly and spoke English extremely well and you could not ask for a better atmosphere to experience the Mexican culture. The size of our group was never a problem. The location along the water was beautiful and we even were there to see a market day along the boardwalk. One day, part of our group went on a fishing trip and after, our entire group met up again at Eva's. But we could not end our trip and return home without spending one last night with Kent, Jesus and the rest of the staff. They played whatever music we requested (via Pandora) and we all danced and basically ended the evening with the restaurant to ourselves. The staff joined us on the dance floor and Kent even made sure we all returned "home" safely, by sending a staff member with us as our driver. They treated us like we were family and none of us will ever forget the hospitality shown to us. Thank you Eva, Kent and staff!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BAPPAP86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eva T, Owner at Eva`s Brickhouse, responded to this review, 15 February 2013
Hello out here in T.A. Land and hello to Ron and the crew from Ohio,
It thrills us to no end, when a group of friends travels south and end up in our restaurant year after year. Lets see you guys came in three times in 7 days and averaged about, what 4 hours per visit. If you throw out the 7th day, as you are packing to go back that means you guys spent between 15 and 20% of your awake time with us. And we loved it, each and every one of you brought a little Ohio joy and fun to our humble restaurant.
Jesus and Gabriel, the Waiters, are still telling stories about the fun they shared with you guys, even the kitchen staff said they had a ball just watching your group dance and carry on.
As for me, I am elated, for you guys are representative of the exact customer profile I sought from day one.
Thanks again, and say hello to the rest of the group,
Your friend.
Kent
P.S. When you see the rest of the party, tell them it´s okay with me if they write about their experiences as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

568 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    461
    43
    23
    17
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Ribs tuna and service FANTASTIC”
Reviewed 31 January 2013 via mobile

We passed by this restaurant the first day we arrived in La Cruz. Thinking...Marina food no thanks. Our mistake!
We walked down a couple days later after our guests left and much to our surprise food and service surpassed by none! Too bad our friends were no longer with us to enjoy a wonderful meal!
To Jesus, Gabriel, Ken and yes even Max...we wish to thank you for a fantastic meal and pleasurable dinning experience.
For those debating on giving Eva's a chance my advice is YES. Do not forget to try Jesus's special coffee! (Also little know secret Ken has a smooth blend of his own especial tequila). We will be back,

Helpful?
2 Thank Thomas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eva T, Owner at Eva`s Brickhouse, responded to this review, 8 February 2013
Thomas B and lovely wife,
Twice you honored us in three days too cool. We all enjoyed your company along with your sence of humor. It is a pleasure to have met you two, two people that obviously have great taste. I am also happy that you enjoyed the chef´s choice, it was fun not only preparing it for you but to watch the smiles on your face as you enjoyed your 5 course meals.
Stay the same for you guys are beyond great.
Catch you later on down the line,
Kent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Charges extra to share an entre?”
Reviewed 26 January 2013

The location of this restaurant is right next to the fish market and it looked interesting, so my wife and I stopped in for a drink - and to "drink up the atmosphere". It was a little early for dinner, but the description of the ribs sounded good, so we thought we would share an order (which we often do in Mexico, as we generally find the portion sizes quite generous). The waiter looked nervous, and said he would have to check. When he came back, he told us we would have to pay $40 pesos extra to share. In our many years of travel, we have never heard of such a thing! We politely declinied to order anything, paid for our drinks and left.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
12 Thank Brock-Lucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eva T, Owner at Eva`s Brickhouse, responded to this review, 28 January 2013
Hello Trip Advisors followers hope all is well with you,
As is apparent to anyone who reads our reviews our Baby Back Ribs are of the best one can have world wide. As most or all restaurants that we are aware in this region prepare their Ribs by first boiling them in water or beer and then re-fire them over charcoal, this is a low cost and time eficient way of preparing them. In our restaurant we daily burn down about $20.00 u.s. of mesquite wood in our smoker pit after which we put in the ribs and tend to them for 4 to 5 hours, then we re-fire them over mesquite wood. Definetly not cost or time eficient but what a difference it makes in the flavor and tenderness of the ribs.
On our dinner menu we offer full racks of ribs as well as 1/2 racks of ribs. In the year and two months we have been in this location we average selling around 30 1/2 racks a week, in the vicinity of 1800 orders and these are the first to complain. They say that we charge 40 pesos to split a meal, we do not. When it comes to the ribs for dinner we do not split a rack period, any other item on the menu we will gradly split at no charge. When a couple orders two 1/2 racks they also recieve two full orders of the side dishes that accompany the ribs.
For our policy and 40 pesos, Canadian equivalant of $3.00 this reviewer missed out on some of the best ribs anywhere and gave us a 1 star review. Oh and by the way the early arrival tme spoken of was 8:45p.m. Draw your own conclusion.
None the less we wish them well and hope that they enjoy all restaurants they dine at in the future.
Thanks and happy travels,
Eva and Kent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
Reviewed 26 January 2013

We were there one afternoon so it was quiet and very peaceful. The setting and the restaurant are gorgeous and the food was very good. Eva and Kent obviously go out of their way to ensure everyone is happy! The service is very attentive. We'll be back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank leemit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eva T, Owner at Eva`s Brickhouse, responded to this review, 8 February 2013
Hello Sharon,
It is getting difficult for us to create new responses to our wonderful clients, as there are so many wonderful people like yourselves that dine with us. But I´ll give it a shot just the same.
The enjoyment you experienced while dining with us... pales when compared to the joy you bestowed on the staff, Eva and myself. We look forward to the day when our paths cross again.
Thank for expressing your feelings about us.
Kent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petaluma
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Best Fish & Marvelous Service :)”
Reviewed 24 January 2013

My family and I ate here twice during the end of January, 2013. Both times the food was delicious and very fresh and the service was excellent. At lunch I had a grilled fillet that was probably the most perfect piece of Mahi Mahi I have ever had. Yum. (For the record, I live near San Francisco - in Sonoma County near the coast - so we certainly have fresh seafood here and amazing restaurants, but that Mahi Mahi was almost magical!) The waiter was excellent and very helpful with letting my 9-year-old vegetarian daughter order food that was not on the menu, and my 13-year-old son is still talking about the raw tuna he had. In fact he ordered it again when we went back for dinner. That was another wonderful meal! The owners are super friendly and do everything in their power to make your dining experience a positive one. One caution: they do not yet take credit cards so be prepared to pay cash. We were not prepared for that, but Eva was so sweet she actually drove us back to our friend's condo so we could get more money to pay the bill! She seemed perfectly happy to do this. Can you imagine a restaurant owner in California giving you a ride home to get more money? Now THAT'S SERVICE!! Thank you!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tinybubbles4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eva T, Owner at Eva`s Brickhouse, responded to this review, 8 February 2013
Tiny Bubbles,
Once again we have been honored by the exact type of clientel we sought from the get go... Class! The staff, Eva and I agree on that. Thank for enjoying a couple of days with us. You and those who are similiar enrich our lives each and every day and we are happy to have done the same for you!
Thank you for your kind words and may you and yours remain healthy and happy!
Best wishes to one and all,
Eva, Kent and the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Eva`s Brickhouse also viewed

La Cruz de Huanacaxtle, Riviera Nayarit
La Cruz de Huanacaxtle, Riviera Nayarit
 
La Cruz de Huanacaxtle, Riviera Nayarit
La Cruz de Huanacaxtle, Riviera Nayarit
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing