We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great ocean view” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sandzibar

Sandzibar
Price range: US$12 - US$50
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Contemporary
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Validated Parking, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Validated Parking, Waitstaff
La Cruz de Huanacaxtle, Mexico
Level Contributor
48 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great ocean view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

The food is great but you pay for what you get...american prices. GREAT PIZZA
As part of Alamar beach club it has restricted areas, but I believe for a small fee you can have access to the pool and lounge chairs. So for a nice afternoon you can have a taste of the good life at Alamar and eat a great meal too.
Bar service is a plus.

Helpful?
2 Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    19
    6
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Classy lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

Happy to find a new upscale spot. Beautiful atmosphere, upper deck with view of the water. Nice food selection.Our choices tasty! With a delicious unusual guacamole. Presentstion not fussy. Good service, maybe a little slow. Will try at dinner next time to get a different feel. Probably beautiful at night! Lots of candles, lanterns! pricier than most spots around but,has some ambiance!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
135 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Very Special”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

If you would like a very special meal out, you will not be disappointed. We were seated on the upper deck, overlooking the water. What a beautiful atmosphere when the latterns are turned on as the sun goes down.

The food was first rate - both in taste and presentation. Excellent service too. It is a little on the pricey side, but we don't do a special evening too often, so enjoyed ourselves.

The only little warning we could give is about ordering the house wine. Their wines were fairly expensive, so after pre-dinner drinks we decided to go with their house wine. Well, I guess we should have asked the price first! It was over $400 pesos! For house wine?? We didn't want to let that spoil an otherwise lovely evening, so we didn't question it, and just paid it. So, just though it better to let others know.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank optionsottawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penticton, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice spot!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

The menu here is for fine dinning! We have had some very good meals here over the past couple of years. Probably not my kids favorite place to eat. They need to simplify the menu a bit for lunch and children. Atmosphere is the best!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Roberto M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hot Springs Village, Arkansas
Level Contributor
63 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Delicious Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

The view of the bay from the raised seating area is wonderful - watched the sunset and enjoyed a glass of wine. The grilled mahi mahi was cooked to perfection as was the pork chop which were both served with awesome presentation! The ginger crème brulee garnished with strawberries was creamy and yummy. As always the service was terrific.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank vaphillis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sandzibar also viewed

La Cruz de Huanacaxtle, Riviera Nayarit
La Cruz de Huanacaxtle, Riviera Nayarit
 
La Cruz de Huanacaxtle, Riviera Nayarit
La Cruz de Huanacaxtle, Riviera Nayarit
 
La Cruz de Huanacaxtle, Riviera Nayarit
La Cruz de Huanacaxtle, Riviera Nayarit
 

Been to Sandzibar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing