We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Does it get any better?”
Review of Sandzibar - CLOSED

Sandzibar
Price range: US$12 - US$50
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Contemporary
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
La Cruz de Huanacaxtle, Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Does it get any better?”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We were celebrating my wife's 50th birthday with a surprise dinner at Sandzibar with about 30 people on April 11. Chef Jesus suggested a fixed menu with several options in lieu of al la carte for timing purposes of food delivery. He prepared an excellent menu to select from and situated the seating so everyone was able to see the other people, yet it was still intimate. He provided simple appetizers on the house which were excellent.The salad was raved about by everyone - a vast selection of greens and colour, both pleasing to the eye and taste. The plates all arrived within minutes of each other so no none was left waiting. Needless to say the food was excellent - the Dorado were large portions and the sauce delicious, the pollo was tender and accompanying vegetables cooked perfect. Not one negative comment was heard. Difficult to please everyone but Chef Jesus did it.
It wasn't just the food that was excellent but the service provided by Daniel and the rest of the servers.
Top notch professional and attentive to everyone's needs.
Chef Jesus, as his custom, came out and greeted the guests.
All in all, to prepare for a group this size, and to pull it off where everyone was happy was a blessing and because of it, a night my wife will never forget.
Thank you Chef Jesus and staff!
ps see what happens when the food is so good, I forgot to mention the view! Romantic and beautiful.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gregory P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    19
    6
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, BC
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“BEST Restaurant in La Cruz by far!”
Reviewed 11 April 2014

This place deserves a #1 rating in all respects - the young chef's approach to fusion cuisine really works (versus at Masala restaurant, where it does NOT).

The location/setting, the service, the menu, the wine list - all first rate, and reasonably priced for the world class quality.

We had dinner there on April 10 and it was one of the best meals of our lives - no kidding. The menu was brand new as of that day, designed by the 27 year old chef (who comes out to meet you and see how you liked everything). It is an incredible menu with lots of selection - it was hard to choose. We shared the curried crab cake with pea appetizer with grilled romaine - divine. And a portion large enough for 2 to share (I think it was about 145 pesos).

We shared a "Morrocan" seafood platter for 2 - lobster tail, shrimp, white fish, and octopus, all served on a luscious bed of seasoned coconut rice with tender crisp veggies mixed in. Superb tastes that were all different but complemented each other perfectly.

If you have not been to Sandzibar, I recommend it above any other restaurant in La Cruz, and it is in the top 3 restaurants for all of Banderas Bay for sure.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bucerias_Homeowner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosslyn
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Chef Jesus Cares”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Our party of six was fortunate to experience a "taste" of Chef Jesus new menu presented as a prix-fixe 3 course dinner. Outstanding, fine dining at a reasonable price. We unanimously agreed that the Octopus appetizer was the best anywhere (including accolades from those of us who had never tasted octopus before). White tablecloths, sunset by the ocean, professional service and delicious food made a memorable evening. If you are staying in Vallarta, Bucerias or Sayulita area, cab fares are reasonable - we encourage you to dine here. Credit cards accepted; bring your own wine - small corkage fee applies.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ideasculptor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Another Great Experience!”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

This was my fourth Trip to Sandzibar but the first time for a lunch. I was accompanied by 3 business colleagues and it was their first time their.
The food never disappoints here I had the curry shrimp burger that was outstanding. Service was perfect attentive when required and they left us alone when our discussions turn to business.

This is a place I will return to each trip to the great PVR area, well worth the drive...

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mellisontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Cruz de Huanacaxtle, Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great ocean view”
Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

The food is great but you pay for what you get...american prices. GREAT PIZZA
As part of Alamar beach club it has restricted areas, but I believe for a small fee you can have access to the pool and lounge chairs. So for a nice afternoon you can have a taste of the good life at Alamar and eat a great meal too.
Bar service is a plus.

Helpful?
2 Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sandzibar also viewed

La Cruz de Huanacaxtle, Riviera Nayarit
La Cruz de Huanacaxtle, Riviera Nayarit
 
La Cruz de Huanacaxtle, Riviera Nayarit
La Cruz de Huanacaxtle, Riviera Nayarit
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing