We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peter, Dayna, Treva and Dave, Wonderful Day on the water!!!!”

Red Dolphin Sailing Charters
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We specialise in day cruises on Banderas bay Mexico, we offer a more relaxed and congenial atmosphere that can only be achieved with smaller groups. Come and join us for a Whale watching cruise or a trip to the remote village of Yelapa, snorkel at the Islas Marietas or enjoy our sunset cruises.
Ryley, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peter, Dayna, Treva and Dave, Wonderful Day on the water!!!!”
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Our family had the great pleasure of going whale watching with Mike, Michelle and Johnny and it was a day we will never forget!! Started the tour around 930 am and by 1030 we had already spotted whales. We not only spotted them but they were so close you could almost touch them , truly amazing creatures. Mike and Michelle and crew Johnny are fantastic hosts, serving drinks and a wonderful lunch prepared by Michelle. A trip we would recommend to anyone!! Thanks again we will be back.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Dayna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    1
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wetaskiwin, Canada
1 review
“Oh my God,Oh My God!!!!”
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

My family and I had the immense pleasure of going out with Mike, Michelle and Jonny this morning . We not only saw whales but we could almost touch them. They were swimming so close to the boat, in fact they were at one point under the boat and we got some amazing video and still pictures. I can now scratch this off my bucket list. Thank you so much Mike, Michelle and Jonny, your hospitality along with the great food and drinks far superseded anything we could hope for! Tanya, Peter, Emily Hunerfauth . Oh ya check out their Facebook page for the video!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tanya H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Cruz de Huanacaxtle, Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“a wonderful sailing experience!”
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Two friends and I recently joined the crew and 2 couples aboard "Indian Summer" for a voyage to Las Marietas for a an hour of snorkeling.

It took about 2 very pleasant hours to get to the island, with beverages and snacks provided en route. The seas were calm and the scenery beautiful.
Once at the island we enjoyed snorkeling in waters with good visibility. We swam through an open-ended cave to arrive at a hidden, sandy beach. There were plenty of fish, and some colorful coral, some of which I had not seen before, although I have snorkeled many places.
On our return trip we were treated to beer and mahi with mahi with rice. It was well prepared and presented.
The crew of Mike, Michelle and Johnny is very friendly and accommodating. The boat is very clean and well-managed. There was interesting conversation while we were underway
.
We saw lots of whales and a few dolphins. I had a better view of whales here than I have ever had. They breached constantly, jumping right up out of the water and allowing us to see their entire length.
The experience did not feel at all commercial, but rather as though we had been invited to a friend's boat.
I thoroughly recommend this excursion of approximately 6 hours duration.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jacqui M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“EXCEPTIONAL...a magical experience!!”
Reviewed 19 February 2014

As a resident of the Virgin Islands for a number of years, it is always my wish to go out sailing whenever the opportunity presents itself. After much research of the Puerto Vallarta area, we opted for Red Dolphin Sailing Charters due to proximity to where we were staying. From a first meeting with Mike, prior to the scheduled trip, we knew that we would not be disappointed as he is a most cordial and fascinating individual who is very passionate about his sailing. We booked for a 4 hour sunset sail that "far exceeded" our expectations...great company, superb meal (gourmet quality) and drink, whale watching at it's best and topped by a beautiful sunset! For all this...truly an incredible value!! It was an experience that will never be forgotten!! Thank you Mike, Michelle and all...SEE YOU NEXT YEAR!!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank rvinar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best Day In Mexico”
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We had an outstanding day, we seen plenty or whales and dolphins. Mike and Michelle were wonderful hosts! We had amazing snacks and a wonderful mahi mahi lunch. Michelle is a fabulous cook! We had such a wonderful family day, we went snorkeling and whale watching. The boat was a great size and we had so much more fun then going on a huge boat with 50 other people. It was very clean! Johnny was constantly making sure we had plenty of drinks and food. Mike had great stories and was extremely friendly, we left feeling like we met some new friends! We truly had the perfect day in Mexico! This would be one of our best days here.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank robynzechel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike B, Owner at Red Dolphin Sailing Charters, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
gracias , for your fantastic review, it was a pleasure meeting you all. Your comments are greatly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Red Dolphin Sailing Charters also viewed

La Cruz de Huanacaxtle, Riviera Nayarit
La Cruz de Huanacaxtle, Riviera Nayarit
 
La Cruz de Huanacaxtle, Riviera Nayarit
La Cruz de Huanacaxtle, Riviera Nayarit
 

Been to Red Dolphin Sailing Charters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing