We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, Quiet, and Accommodating”
Review of La Cruz Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Cruz Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 February 2014

From my first view of the open courtyard beyond a comfortable lobby, I knew this would be a great place to extend my visit in La Cruz. I was not disappointed in any way. In La Cruz to whale watch with friends who have a boat in the marina, I was delighted to find the town of La Cruz an unspoiled fishing village where a lively music scene thrives in bars like Ana Banana, Oso's Oyster Bar and Philo's. The Inn is steps away from the marina, the beautiful, uncrowned beaches of Riviera Nayarit, and the town square. Managed with consideration to guests' needs, you will not only have excellent, courteous service, but also all the information at hand to enjoy your stay. Tastefully decorated, the inn's lovely courtyard is delightful to wake up to, and the pool is a lovely spot to relax.

Room Tip: There are four, equally nice, that face the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tocaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (65)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 65 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2013

On a recent fishing trip to Puerto Vallarta we were booked into the La Cruz Inn as our base while fishing with Tony Orton Sportfishing out of La Cruz marina.
The booking was made for us, so we didn't quite know what to expect and we were pleasantly surprised with what we found.
We were a group of four, share twinning the rooms which we found neat, tidy and comfortable.
The air conditioning and ceiling fans - the latter in the room and on the verandah, provided welcome respite from the 40 degree C heat.
At he end of the day a splash in the pool was something to look forward too, not only to cool us down but wash away the salt.
Unfortunately the bar and restaurant associated with the property were not open as we were there in the off season.
La Cruz Inn is close to the marina (5 minute walk away) so proved a perfect , well priced accommodation for a bunch of fishermen.
The only down side was the managers didn't speak English and none of our group spoke Spanish, how ever we could contact the owners, who lived off-site, and they sorted any questions for us immediately.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Grant D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

Stayed in the quiet, little town of La Cruz to avoid the commercialism of PV and isolation of Nuevo Vallarta.

La Cruz Inn is very charming, clean and well managed. I would return. Fantastic location on the town square very close to the marina. Lush interior courtyard gardens and a nice pool are shared by four guest rooms.

Rooms have a covered patio/balcony with a well-equipped outdoor kitchen, a table and couch. Indoors, the furnishings and bathroom were nice. The fan and A/C were very effective. During the heat of the afternoon it was nice to relax in the shade of the covered patio, which also had a fan.

Clemente and his family are the on-site caretakers. Very friendly and helpful.

The negatives:
- Wifi: the password did not work for one of the two wireless routers, the other had a weak signal across the entire property. Every restaurant and bar has wireless so we managed.

- Privacy: A light-well with louvered windows appears to connect the living and bath areas of all four units. If someone from another unit is vomiting or "being romantic," you might be disturbed. Not great design.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nicholas V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

An authentic Mexican atmosphere in the centre of La Cruz, only 3 mins walk from beach and marina and within walking distance of several restaurants- 30 mins by taxi from the centre of Puerta Vallarta.
Clean, airy rooms, upstairs ones overlook the oasis of the courtyard and are more private, owned by a Scottish couple John and Carol who were very hospitable and live nearby, the manager and his wife don't speak English but are happy to phone Carol should it be required.
Each room has it's own kitchen and although breakfast is not included, there are some small local restaurants nearby.
Note the restaurant on site is not currently open. We also, via John and Carol, did some excellent whale watching which they arranged.
We much preferred the authentic atmosphere of the Inn to the large impersonal hotels of Puerta Vallarta.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kingeyre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2013

If your looking for something authentic and off the beaten path try the La Cruz Inn. A quaint little five room hotel near the plaza in the heart of La Cruz. Walking distance to all the sights this little fishing village has to offer. The staff are friendly and the place is cute and very clean. We stayed in the upper sunset room. Great for a couple who want to keep it simple and away from it all. This hotel is right next to the church! I love bells!!!! Way cool!!!! Definitely stay here again

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stratoliner2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

We stayed overnight here with some friends. This Inn is across the street from the main square and we found it to be very clean and well maintained.It almost looks new, but I don't think it is. The paint was clean (no Mexican "paint drips"!); the tile looked clean and new. If they call it a B & B it is not. It does not serve breakfast, at least not the morning we were there. There are five rooms all with queen beds (there is plenty of room for a king bed), and a small pool. We had the upstairs' rooms called Sunrise and Sunset. Outside of each room there is a table and chairs, equipal love seat and its own kitchen, including a sink, stove, microwave and refrigerator, utensils, plates, etc. Pool towels are provided. The bed was somewhat comfortable, the pillows were great and the A/C worked well. We believe the rate used to be much less than the $99 a night that they are getting now and without breakfast. We never did see the owners and the service was nil. We would return because of the cleanliness and good working order of everything.

Room Tip: Choose either Sunrise or Sunset upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gypsies-on-the-go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2011

Recently stayed at this quaint inn for 6 nights. There are only 4 suites, all with a small, outdoor full kitchen and deck facing the courtyard. The location in town, cleanliness, staff, and amenities (pool and A/C) are superb. There is also a restaurant on sight for dinner and drinks, however, it was not open until late November. Comments from other patrons indicate the restaurant as excellent. If you are looking for authentic mexico, this is your place. The rooms are all decorated in traditional mexican colors and flair. The hotel sits adjacent to the town square, where there is always activity. Taxis are always available to take you to Puerto Vallarta, the beach, or a quiet restaurant in la Cruz. Wireless internet is available in the lobby or by the pool. Nightlife, restaurants, and shopping in town is available but limited, and you are minutes away from Bucerias and Puerto Vallarta. Great place for rest and quiet.

Room Tip: View of the square, courtyard, and town from the second floor suites. More privacy on the second fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leslie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Cruz de Huanacaxtle
1.3 mi away
Grand Sirenis Matlali Hills Resort & Spa
Grand Sirenis Matlali Hills Reso...
#1 of 2 in La Cruz de Huanacaxtle
486 reviews
8.9 mi away
Hotel Meson de Mita
Hotel Meson de Mita
#10 of 11 in Punta de Mita
86 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Cactus Inn
Hotel Cactus Inn
#3 of 3 in Bucerias
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
Villa del Palmar Flamingos Beach Resort & Spa Riviera Nayarit
0.4 mi away
Villa Bella Bed and Breakfast Inn
Villa Bella Bed and Breakfast In...
#4 of 7 in La Cruz de Huanacaxtle
191 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Magnolia B&B
Villa Magnolia B&B
#5 of 7 in La Cruz de Huanacaxtle
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Cruz Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Cruz Inn

Address: 36 Calle Marlin, La Cruz de Huanacaxtle 63732, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > La Cruz de Huanacaxtle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in La Cruz de Huanacaxtle
Price Range: £61 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Cruz Inn is centrally located in downtown La Cruz de Huanacaxtle, one of Mexico's quality resort towns and fishing villages in this area. This convenient location means you are very close to any of the many activities featured in this area. The Riviera Nayarit Marina is withing steps, swimming beach and beach club a two minute walk. We have a restaurant and bar onsite with great regional and international dishes. There is a pool onsite alongside a lounging area. Four of our rooms offer full outdoor (covered) kitchens. Two units have partial kitchens on the top floor. Two new units ground floor are queen bed hotel rooms (no kitchen) All units have fans and air conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your La Cruz Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing