We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Tara
Nearby Hotels
US$161
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$220
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$108
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Meridian(Budva)(Great Value!)
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$325
US$307
bedfinder
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (420)
Filter reviews
420 results
Traveller rating
140
184
64
22
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
140
184
64
22
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssaga holidayprivate beachsaga loungehot foodhotel is modernfree safeold towncovered areamorning sunmeat and fish dishesfine sandtea and coffee providedfreshly cooked omeletteslocal drinksincluding winethe hotel staffveal
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
145 - 150 of 420 reviews
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Arrived at 3am - 7 hours late and as you can imaging check in was quick, althought there was a mix up with names (thanks to Cosmos) - it was easily sorted out. Hotel had placed some food in the room, which was requested by our rep - and was great and much appreciated - typical of the service we got all over Montenegro! We went " all inclusive" - see comments at the end. Hotel is modern and light with a central atrium. Dining is on the ground level.

Rooms - we booked rooms 13 and 14 looking out on the pool. Sun shines on it the during the morning and rooms get hot, despite the A/c. Room was well set out - big flat screen TV, 2 wardrobes (one 1/2 size), shelf for suitcases, 2 chairs and a table. It also had a mini fridge. Beds was firm, with a thin duvet and 2 pillows. At night from 7pm till +/- 11pm you get the full blast of the poolside entertainment - not great. Balcony was tiny and pretty much useless. You couldn't sit on it. Rooom had a free safe but you need to go to reception to get its code. WIFI free inside the hotel.

Toilet was essentially a large wet room with a hand and "Rain forest" shower. It was well appointed with - shampoo, conditioner, body lotion, body wash, tissues and a hairdryer. All very nice.

Staff were very welcoming especially the dining room reception staff. Plates were cleared up immediately they were empty and the various buffets continuously topped up. As part of all inclusive we had beakfast, lunch and dinner included along with orange squash, apple, water, draft red or white wine and tea/coffee. Overall the selection was good to very good, varied and fresh. Liked their breads and fruit. Breakfast was 7am-10am and not too crowded. Lunch was 12-2.30 pm and agin not too crowded. Dinner was 7-9 pm and very crowded with some food occasionally running out ( but filled quickly).

Pool area/garde area was always busy during the day with lots of children. There are lots of sun loungers but the get "reserved" very early in the day and many do not get used. You can also lie under the trees in the garden - very nice. There are limited tables in the bar area (10) and only about 5 umbrellas. Bar service is good - but the Russians just don't get queues!!
Lots of stuff happens around the pool - the activities staff keep things going pretty much all day. In the evening there is a 1hour kids "thing" followed by "entefrtainment" It was not great, however and once the tables fill up - you have to sit on a sun lounger.

Hotel does have its own private bit of the beach with a bar mini restaurant there. You pay for the towels (50 cents). Beach is about 150 yards or so from the hotel down a small side street.


Hotel is close to the promenade which goes to Budva ( via the tunnel) and is about a 30-40 mins stroll. It is a pretty lively walk past the beach, all the food stalls, shops and bar/discos. Regular buses to Budva from across main road just up from the hotel costs 1 Euro for 2 people. There are also plent of taxis around.

Overall I found this hotel hard to beat with its service, room quality and location. I'd go back but on a B&B basis as Budva is so accessible.

HOWEVER, I was not impressed by the "all inclusive" option. We took it as I had my 84 year old mother-in-law with us and thought it would be easier. All inclusive is really a misnomer - it does not include the full bar menu at the pool (on both food and drinks), you cannot use the Terrace bar or the bar inside the hotel, you cannot use the Italian Restaurant ( but you do get 20% off), you cannot get drinks at the beach. A big complaint to the hotel and also my travel agent.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the pool. All inclusive option is not that great a deal as it is too restrictive plus the fact that Budva is so accessible.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Honisoiquimalypense
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

My first time in Montenegro and firstly I would highly recommend the country and the areas of Becici and Budva, absolutely stunning, scenery, greenery, hospitality, culture, fun. Just wonderful. If you're a fan of places like Olu Deniz, Lake Garda and the Austrian lakes and mountains this is for you.....

TRANSFER: the best I've ever done! don't be put off by the two hours from Dubrovnik airport as this is the swiftest, smoothest and most scenic transfer journey I've ever been on, treat it as an excursion and have the camera ready. The short ferry crossing gives incredible views of the mountains, sea, villages etc of the Bay of Boka, Kotor and Herzi Gova.... beautiful.

HOTEL

On arrival the hotel was pristine and the staff welcoming. This continued throughout our stay, reception staff were very friendly and helpful. Our check in was swift and our room had been upgraded, fantastic! Not only that but we had missed dinner as it was late and they had laid out some food in our room for us plus a bottle of water. What a lovely surprise!

Room facilities were superb. We had a two bedroomed corner suite (no. 241) with two bathrooms and three balconies, one of which had chairs to sit out and a sea view. The other two were narrow balconies but lovely views from all. It was so spacious and one bathroom had a shower and the other shower and half bath. Maid service wasn't intrusive but efficient and there were free toiletries and plenty of towels. The safety deposit box was free as was the air conditioning.

RESTAURANT

Firstly the staff who greeted us on entering the restaurant were lovely and very cheerful, special commendation goes to TAMARA who always had a lovely smile and a greeting for us and who spoke good English.

The food was very good with plenty of choice, maybe not quite to the standard of some places I've been but served good and hot and there was always something new to eat. The drinks in the restaurant included orange squash, apple, water, red or white wine and tea or coffee in the mornings, black tea on an evening (for some strange reason, not sure if that's a local thing?). All the staff who cleared tables etc were very efficient and courteous and there was always plenty of free tables at any time but we did eat later to avoid queues. Watch out for Russian queue jumpers, have to say my first experience of Russians and they are so rude! I pointed to the queue on several occasions, not that they took a blind bit of notice !

POOL/BAR

First morning we were greeted by two pool staff from whom we got our free towels, they were both smashing and NIKOLAI was especially friendly ! There were several staff who organised aquarobics, pilates and Tai Chi and we joined in, all good fun. The pool was immaculately clean and the whole pool area was pristine. Plenty of sunbeds, always some free and pretty gardens plus a nice pool bar and again efficient staff. We ate a few times here too and food was lovely and all quite reasonable for this standard of hotel.

BEACH

A short 2/3 minute walk between hotels brough us to the beach and the Tara's private section where you showed your room card and got two sunbeds and one umbrella free, a marvellous saving as in other countries these cost quite a bit. Also can get towels at the beach for 50c each, well worth it. All sunbeds here and at the pool were top quality too, not cheapo plastic things. The sea was very clean and clear but do take jelly shoes to get in as it's rather pebbly and sharp under foot. The Adriatic coast does not have fine sand, more shingly, pebbly and rocky but the scenery around you more than makes up for that.
Special note: it made a refreshing change that absolutely no one went topless.

PROMENADE: BECICI/BUDVA

A lovely stroll along Becici promenade day or night was a pleasure with a number of little bars/restaurants and tourist shops, night stalls etc. In the other direction take a walk to Budva for a much busier place, fab views and the piece de resistance, Budva old town (Stari Grad), the ancient walled city and Citadel, absolutely stunning! 2 Euros to get into the citadel itself, well worth it, and walk the walls of the city, a pleasant 20-30 mins and offering the most amazing views of the resort and narrow cobbled streets and beautiful buildings and rooftops of this mini version of Dubrovnik. There are several bars inside the walls, very small but quaint and lovely, especially the Prince English pub and Chest O'Shea's Irish pub, both show Sky Sports, offer good beers etc and the Irish pub played rock music (bonus!). Outisde of the walls were other bars/restaurants, lovely settings, attentive staff, I forget the name of most but the Old Fisherman's pub was good and overlooked the marina.

EXCURSIONS

We didn't do any organised ones but chose to do our own thing. We did walk to Budva bus station (set a fair way back from the front) and got the bus to the capital Podgorica, have to be honest probably not worth a visit. A very bland city as capital's go but we did some sightseeing and shopping and it was cheap enough at 5 Euros each one way. A trip to Kotor is worthwhile though.

RECOMMENDATIONS: Before you go either buy or borrow the Lonely Planet guide to Montenegro from the library as I found this the most useful of all guide books (I took it with me). I used the maps several times.

The restaurant is open for dinner from just 7-9, it's very busy between 7-8 so go after 8 for less queues and less hustle and bustle.

Take jelly shoes for the beach or buy some from the many shops on the promenade.

DO NOT MISS Budva old town, the best part of our trip.

Thank you Sentido Tara for a superb holiday !

Room Tip: Email the hotel ahead of travelling (check the main Sentido website) and ask for a room with large balcony as you cannot sit out on the narrow ones. It was not a noisy hotel at all so any floor was fine and plenty of lifts.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank borobabe_69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We ended up staying 4 nights at this hotel, having only booked one. We had to move around a bit, as we extended our stay day by day. The last night was spent in one of their apartments.

First of all, the hotel rooms are excellent. They are both clean and modern, like the rest of the hotel. Air conditioning worked well. We all slept well. Breakfast was also very good. We did not take the buffet dinner. Lunch by the pool was good, with very nice food.

The apartment was quite old, but comfortable all the same. It was on 2 floors, with 2 double bedrooms upstairs and a double bedroom/living room downstairs. The apartment cost €110 per night, which would be very good value for a large family of group of friends.

The pool are was very nice, the pool was quite cool being unheated. The sea was warmer. The hotel has its own part of the beach, which has coarse sand rather than stones.

The only negative point about the whole stay was the internet, which was erratic, slow and generally poor throughout. If you don't need that, then the hotel would have an excellent grading.

SAGA and other tour companies block book a lot of the accommodation from early September. That is why we had to move to the apartment on the last night. It was also the only night when there was loud music

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank davestly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Just got back from a week at this hotel and had a great time. Hotel was in a good position, close to the beach (with their own private beach). Staff here were very friendly and helpful. Rooms were clean with comfortable beds and a free wall safe. Free wifi in whole of hotel but it was a bit hit and miss while we were there. Food was excellent with plenty of choice, regularly replenished. Staff quickly cleared away your empty plates.Nice pool and pool bar. Not much in the way of entertainment and bars closed at 11pm but this didn't bother us. Hotel is close to the promenades which go either all down the Becici beach area or to Budva in the opposite direction...both taking about 30 minutes. Regular buses from by the hotel to Budva costing
1 Euro for 2 people. Plenty of taxis outside the hotel.
Would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: The balconies are small and not big enough for a table and chairs.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Phil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Lovely hotel, clean, good facilities with pool and private beach. Only a short bus ride to Budva on the local bus which stops right near the hotel. Breakfast was good also. Good free wifi also. Great relaxing stay in Budva

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank MelbGal85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews