We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Stay”
Review of Hotel Tara

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Tara
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Becici
Reviewed 13 July 2014

My Mum and I stayed here in June and had a pleasant stay with Jet2 holidays, very smooth and efficient transfer flight times good. The hotel was kept spotlessly clean throughout staff were very pleasant and friendly. I would like to thank especially Dusanka Palic Touristic Agency Tara who went out of her way to ensure we had a nice stay and was very informative about the area

We enjoyed the buffet style food and thought they provided a very good choice. There were quite a few children in the hotel parents could do with supervising them at meal times in the restaurant as far to many were running around which could lead to an accident.

I would definitely book a sea view room as other rooms have no view or are over looking the car park.

We liked the Hotel's private beach area the beds were so comfortable.

We walked into delightful old Budva a couple of times around 40 mins stroll through the tunnel then along a flat promenade.You can also walk to Rafailovici about 20 minutes in the opposite direction nice bars and cafes there.

We enjoyed a boat trip from Becici seeing the Budva Riviera, Kamenovo, Maestral, Milocer,Sveti Stefan and island Sveti Nikola very relaxing and stunning scenery.

Do visit Kotor when you are there or take the Montenegrin tour which includes a visit in the itinerary. Montenegro is reasonably priced the scenery gorgeous would recommend.

Room Tip: Book sea view room
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank marija10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (396)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Tara
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 396 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

It's a nice place to stay if you're looking for a calm family time. The staff were friendly, rooms clean and nice, the food rather good. Beach is within a 100 meter walk from the hotel, the pool area is great, though you'll get no sun after 14.00. The hotel is situated right in between Budva (30 min walk) and Rafailovichi (20 min walk), where most of the places you'd want to visit in the evening are (restaurants, bars, clubs). Becici itself is a rather boring place with a nice beach and a bunch of hotels. But, again that has nothing to do with a hotel itself.
Though there are few things which may spoil you stay at Tara - variety of breakfast never changes, so if you stay there for at least a week, you get pretty much annoyed by this never-changing option. Another thing which is absolutely aggravating and drives nuts is internet connection!!! I really don't understand how can it be so stupidly done as it is in Tara! Speed and quality of internet is absolutely awful!
Otherwise, if you don't need to be online time from time it's a good choice for a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travelitall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Me and my mom were here for vacation. We really enjoyed our stay. All the personnel of the hotel is very nice, smiling and friendly. The hotel and rooms are clean, food is variable and tasty :)
The only thing we wished to have is the opportunity to iron our clothes by ourselves (there is no special room for ironing, you need to order this service). But that was not a very big problem, we managed it.
We had a room with the swimming pool view, as for me it is the best option: you can see mountains, watch life around the swimming pool. There is an animation team working in the hotel, they arrange different programs for the day and evening. Usually animation program takes place in the swimming pool area.
I want to thank the hotel staff for making our stay smooth and for giving us the desire to come back next year! :)

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Anna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Unlike a lot of people staying at the Sentido Tara we were travelling independently and chose the hotel because the reviews were good and it was well-situated in the middle of the Montenegrin coast so that we could park the car easily and travel out to other destinations.
We stayed 4 nights on a bed and breakfast basis and it met most of our requirements well.

As others have said, the rooms were spotless and of an adequate size for us; the staff were helpful; it had a good sized pool and the private beach was just a couple of hundred yards away. Being buffet service, the restaurant feels a bit like a food filling station ( which I guess it is) but the evening meal we had there had a good choice and was of good quality, even though we arrived just before they finished serving at 9pm. I was less impressed by breakfast where some of the hot food seemed to to be cool but this could be overcome by having a freshly prepared omelette and some of the wide array of cold dishes.

The disappointment for me was not the hotel but its location. In Becici there is little choice of restaurants other than in the large hotels or their beach bars/cafes. Other than a sandy beach it has nothing to commend it. Budva, which has more variety on offer, is a short taxi-ride away or a half hour walk using a pedestrian tunnel through the headland which separates Becici from Budva. For evening meals we tried the hotel and also one of the beach cafes ( which was poor and didn't belong to the Hotel Sentido Tara). For the last 2 evenings we stayed later in the places we were visiting (Stari Bar and Petrovac) and had a good choice of restaurants and enjoyable meals.

If I were going to Montenegro again I would probably choose a different hotel but that is not a reflection on the hotel. It targets a particular type of customer and seems to serve them well. We just like to get out of the hotel and see a bit more of the local life in the evening.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank york1807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Hotel very clean and good overall. Food was nice, although soups could do with more changes - and please fix the one broken soup container, as I almost got third degree burns trying to ladle soup! Breakfast was okay, I had an omelette each day, boiled eggs never warm enough (as usual for continental places...only the British seem to like warm boiled eggs!). The pool is nice although VERY badly designed, sun disappears at about 2pm over the water so gets pretty cool in there - pool should have been built at the other side of the pool arena to ensure most sunlight me thinks...
Free safe was a good gimmick and we used ours. The air conditioning in our room was good, however in my parents room (145) the air conditioning was not as effective. Wifi was pretty much absolute rubbish unless you sit in the one table in the restaurant which seemed to have excellent signal...room wifi was awful. The mini fridge in the room was useful! Bathrooms in room were absolutely beautiful with the best shower I've ever had in hotel! The "view" from the room was over a car park which was crap. Beach was nice, although full of stones, so bring sandals :)
The people in the hotel are pleasant, Saga holiday types - sadly the Russians are very rude and have no idea how to control their children. There is also a far too many children at the hotel so watch out if that's not what you want on holiday. Watch out...! There is also almost no hotel entertainment. Staff pleasant. Wasn't bothered by mossies (stayed June 7th-14th). Barely any restaurants (apart from a crazy Serbian one) or cafes nearby so that was duff.
Budva and Kotar very nice to visit. Weather was great - although we had one thunderstorm which was cool! Rollings blackouts of power were sometimes an issue but not a huge problem.

Overall enjoyable but needs some work! Go to relax... :)

Room Tip: Rooms not facing a car park!
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank debseelou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Staff great, food excellent. We had a lovely 1st floor room. Unfortunately no view! We looked sideways towards a wall! Everything else was great. Loved Montenegro and would stay at the Sentido Tara again with no hesitation.

Room Tip: Ask for. A sea view
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sandra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

stayed at the Tara october 2013 and had a great time thanks to Saga holidays. The staff , food, excursions, location, accommodation everything was great. I would recomend any visits done between May - September when everthing is open and avaliable, but thanks to Saga a very good holiday was made excellent

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank david h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Becici
0.0 mi away
Hotel Montenegro Beach Resort
0.9 mi away
Queen of Montenegro
Queen of Montenegro
#3 of 9 in Becici
623 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Splendid Conference & Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mediteran Hotel & Resort
0.6 mi away
Apart-Hotel Belvedere Residence
6.5 mi away
Montecasa Spa & Wellness
Montecasa Spa & Wellness
#4 of 10 in Petrovac
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tara

Address: Becici b.b., Becici, Budva Municipality 85316, Montenegro
Region: Montenegro > Budva Municipality > Becici
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Becici
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Becici
Price Range: £51 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Tara 4*
Number of rooms: 230
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Tara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tara Montenegro/Becici

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing