We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Splendid Splendid” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Splendid Conference & Spa Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Splendid Conference & Spa Resort
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Becici
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Splendid Splendid”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

This hotel is iconic of Montenegro. The Hotel, location, staff are wonderful. For eg I am staying in a 5star Turkey at the moment and it is horrible in comparison to Splendid. I wish I was back there. It is pricey but well worth it and deserving of its 5 star rating. I recommend it.

Room Tip: I think all rooms are gorgeous here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank sanjapopovic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontenegroStars, General Manager at Hotel Splendid Conference & Spa Resort, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear sanjapopovic,

Thank you for this beautiful comment about our hotel. It is a great pleasure for me and for all our staff to receive such praise. We look forward to welcome you again and thank you once more for giving such a great recommendation to the fellow travelers.

Sincerely yours,
Mirjana Mrkalj,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    305
    145
    55
    16
    18
See reviews for
124
164
14
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

This hotel has some good features. But the main drawback as I elaborate below is the main restaurant.

The pool area is excellent -- it is well-designed and has great facilities for adults and children with plenty of space. The staff there were attentive although it was irritating that they did not clear up dirty cups, glasses and plates more quickly. There were plenty of good sun beds with helpful pool staff to move/set up parasols. The beach area (which we did not use preferring the pool) also looked really nice. Aqua gym in the pool twice a day was also fun.

The most disappointing thing is the main restaurant which is laid out like a school cafeteria. It also lacks natural light in the main seating area and there is no view to speak in spite of the hotel's wonderful location over looking the sea (there is a small seating area with a view but then you are miles from the food). The food was just OK but not 5 star quality. We had paid for half board but decided in the end to eat out and there are some decent restaurants within walking distance. (They did allow us to have lunch rather than dinner on half board which was tolerable and a hour sheltering from the heat in early afternoon meant we did not mind the absence of ambience.) The Japanese restaurant at the hotel was also good but they would not allow us to get an allowance towards it from the half board. The staff in the main restaurant were trying hard but we never sat down to a properly laid table and it was hard to get served with coffee at breakfast. Probably just needs an improvement in staff training.

Reception staff were friendly and helpful, especially the Concierge.

Hotel infrastructure not bad. The room was a bit tired in places but free wifi and mostly good room facilities. The spa seemed nice although the gym was disappointing (although there were never enough people there to put pressure on the facilities.)

It was nice to be a friendly country not overrun by Brits so actually felt that we were abroad and only overheard English speaking people on our trip to Kotor (a must see and the best food that we had all holiday in a small but quaint restaurant in one of the many small squares.) Walking out at night from the hotel was a bit like being in Great Yarmouth but because we were surrounded by locals, it was fun and interesting.

While they have a way to go, Montenegro will surely grow in popularity. And if you want to go there now, you could do a lot worse than staying in hotel Splendid, especially if you crave plenty of relaxing "pool time".

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontenegroStars, General Manager at Hotel Splendid Conference & Spa Resort, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Tim B,

Thank you for your valuable and comprehensive review of our hotel. We greatly appreciate your constructive feedback as it helps us to improve our service daily and deliver better experience to our guests. We are happy that your overall impression of our resort was positive, and that you found our staff friendly and attentive. I will pass your kind words to our Concierge, Mr. Goran. We are aware that design of the main restaurant is not as attractive as the rest of the hotel, and we are working on improving the ambient for our guests. All your other comment had been taken into consideration, and we hope to make changes based on them in the nearest future.
Thank you once again for recommending our country and our hotel to other travelers. We would be happy to have you as our guests again.

Sincerely yours,
Mirjana Mrkalj,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

It is a really SPLENDID Hotel, on a nice Adriatic beach in Montenegro. It has all amenities 5 star hotel needs, splendid indoor pools and spa center, well equipped fitness center and conference facilities, great beach. Staff is friendly. Rooms are large with nice balconies and all are with sea view. It is said that is situated in Budva, but in fact it's not in the town itself. You have to walk along the beach for about 1/2 hour to reach town center, but if you are not in a mood of walking, you can take a bus, or grab taxi, which is not expensive. Budva town is must to see, cosy, small mediterranean place with lots of shops and restaurants. It's a wonderful place for both business and leisure. I highly recommend to visit and enjoy it.

Room Tip: All rooms are with sea view and with balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dato13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontenegroStars, General Manager at Hotel Splendid Conference & Spa Resort, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Dato13,

I am very glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit to our beautiful country and your stay in our hotel. It is my pleasure to learn that you were overall satisfied with our resort as well as with our staff.
Thank you for finding time and writing your positive review and recommending us to your fellow travelers here on TripAdvisor. We look forward to welcome you again by your next visit to Montenegro.

Sincerely yours,
Mirjana Mrkalj,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from a weeks stay in this hotel in lovely Montenegro. This was our first visit to Montenegro and WOW we were amazed! The country is stunning and has so much beauty to see. The hotel is rated as five stars and although at times it was this there were certain things that let it down. Let me start with the many positives.
The hotel staff are on the whole very friendly, smart and super attentive. They are there at you beck and call and will endeavour to ensure that your holiday is a stress free break. The reception staff in particular were very well informed and helped us to get around the country in an easy way.
The breakfast and dinner buffets had a very good selection of food available and there was always plenty to go around despite being there at busier times during the sessions.
The hotel itself was always clean and staff were seen before 7 am making sure that the pool area was ready for the tourists to lay their towels on the sunbeds!!
The superior rooms were a very good size with good facilities (although no kettle, see below) and air conditioning and a brilliant sized balcony to enjoy the sea and pool view. Towels were changed daily and complimentary toiletries topped up.
The spa was a calm area which gave a good selection of treatments at an extra cost. I had a traditional massage and it was an hour of bliss!
Good location with us being able to walk into old town Budva and Stefi Stefan easily along the coast.
On the downside the swimming pools inside and out were FREEZING! Now us being hardened Brits are used to the cold but boy it was a shock to the system to get in both pools and once in there was no enjoyment as you were shivering!
The food on the buffet was sometimes cold which spoilt our enjoyment of this wonderful array of foods. The majority of foods were heated by small calor gas heaters and to be honest I do not think these are up to the job in hand.
The waiters were so keen to clear away that on two occasions our table was cleared whilst we were off getting pudding!! From the on we decided to get foods in shifts so that our table was always manned!
The room did not have tea and coffee making facilities and if you wanted a hot drink you had to pay around 10 euros in reception or the bar areas. Drinks were also not included with your dinner and so this would add an extra 12 - 15 euros each time. A costly addition if you have already paid 5* prices to stay at the hotel.
Guests were allowed to smoke in the reception/lounge area and when you had to walk through to the lifts the smell was stifling to non smokers.
Don't get me wrong, these things did not stop us enjoying our stay at the hotel but having these things sorted out would have given it the five stars it claims to have.
Go to Montenegro and enjoy what it has to offer, you won't be disappointed!!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank summergirl300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontenegroStars, General Manager at Hotel Splendid Conference & Spa Resort, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear summergirl300,

It is always a great pleasure to find out that our guests like our beautiful country. We are very proud that you found it stunning and recommended fellow travelers to visit it.
Thank you for writing such detailed review. I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay and were satisfied with our staff and our amenities.
We have closely checked all things you found unsatisfactory. Please be assured that we have taken actions to improve the situation. For instance, we re-checked the temperature of the dishes. Our waiters were also instructed to be more attentive and not so haste in table cleaning.
Thank you once again for time you spent writing your review. We will do our best to fully justify our rating in the future.

Sincerely yours,
Mirjana Mrkalj,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vranje, Serbia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

We were on a bussines trip and stay in Hotel Splendid. Big rooms, very clean- spotless. Stuff was very pleasant. It was my wife birthday and they surprise us with cake and champagne. Food was Ok, could be better. The beach in front of the hotel is great.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DarkoCivk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontenegroStars, General Manager at Hotel Splendid Conference & Spa Resort, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear DarkoCivk,
Thank you very much for your wonderful feedback. We were happy to find out that you liked your room, and approve our beach and the work of our staff. We were thrilled to know that your spouse enjoyed her birthday meal.
We look forward to welcome you back on your next visit to Budva, hopefully not only on business.

Sincerely yours,
Mirjana Mrkalj,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Everywhere
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

This was a very nice hotel at a very nice location. The desk staff were polite, but not the most polite I've experienced. The rooms were large, comfortable and immaculately clean. The rooms have spacious balconies too. The bathroom had a nice walk-in shower, and a huge tub with walls and floors all in marble. Unfortunately my shower door was missing a seal and water leaked out and got the floor quite wet which was rather dangerous on the slippery marble. I liked that the bathroom had a large window on the wall facing the balcony to let light in (and it had a curtain you could close for privacy). The cleaning staff came to your room three times a day. The bed was quite comfortable and they included about 8 different pillows so you could pick one that you liked.
It had one of the quietest air conditioners I've experienced in a hotel, which was nice.
Breakfast was very good with a large choice of Mediterranean food, eggs to order, all kinds of cooked grains, cereal, fruits and vegetables. I didn't eat lunch or dinner. One of my colleagues ate a sandwich for lunch and said it was good and reasonably priced (about 6 Euros). A little fruit drink in the mini bar in your room will set you back 5 or 6 Euros.
The pool area was very nice. Very large pool that you could swim laps in (not exactly straight ones though). Lots of lounge area and the staff was always at your beck and call if you wanted to pay the high price for drinks. They had a dress code, so no walking through the hotel to the pool with no shirt.
The beach was nice, though a bit rocky, so bring good beach shoes. It was a bit too cold still for me at the end of June. There were plenty of beach chairs for hotel guests.
A great place to eat was a little italian place right on the beach, out and to the right about 100 meters. Great pizza, pasta and seafood. I ate there almost every day.

Room Tip: The non sea-facing rooms had a great view though they were about 30 Euros per night more expensive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontenegroStars, General Manager at Hotel Splendid Conference & Spa Resort, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Andy R,

Thank you very much for staying with us and taking time to write your valuable and comprehensive review on Tripadvisor. We were happy to read that you liked out hotel’s location, your room and served food.
We appreciate you pointing out the problem with shower door in your bathroom, this will be fixed instantly.
We look forward welcoming you again on your next visit to Montenegro.

Sincerely yours,
Mirjana Mrkalj,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antibes, France
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel 7 years ago and were looking forward to returning, unfortunately we were very disappointed.

Whilst the hotel its self is in a nice location and has many great amenities, the staff are unenthusiastic and the food and drinks are very over priced and not great quality. There is a wide choice of foods in the breakfast buffet but it was not cooked well, kept hot or displayed nicely. There are no tea and coffee facilities in the room.

We were looking forward to using the spa but unfortunately there were no appointments available for treatments that we wanted for our entire stay…

This hotel could be so much better with just a few small changes….

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NikkiHarris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontenegroStars, General Manager at Hotel Splendid Conference & Spa Resort, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear NikkiHarris,

Thank you for finding time and sharing your experience here on Tripavisor.
We were happy to read that you liked hotel location. We feel sorry that you didn’t like the food in our restaurant. Your remarks about the condition of the food and temperature of the dishes is passed to our chef, we will double check that all the food is served appropriately. Our staff will be reminded to behave in a manner appropriate for a hospitality level we would like to offer to our guests.
I hope you will visit our hotel in the future and make certain of our intention to become better for our guests.

Sincerely yours,
Mirjana Mrkalj,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Becici
0.7 mi away
Queen of Montenegro
Queen of Montenegro
#2 of 8 in Becici
4.0 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Montenegro Beach Resort
13.7 mi away
Regent Porto Montenegro
Regent Porto Montenegro
#1 of 8 in Tivat Municipality
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
SENTIDO Tara
SENTIDO Tara
#4 of 8 in Becici
4.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mediteran
Hotel Mediteran
#6 of 8 in Becici
3.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Budva
Hotel Budva
#6 of 24 in Budva
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Splendid Conference & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Splendid Conference & Spa Resort

Property: Hotel Splendid Conference & Spa Resort
Address: Becici, Budva Municipality 85315, Montenegro
Region: Montenegro > Budva Municipality > Becici
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Becici
#1 Romantic Hotel in Becici
#1 Luxury Hotel in Becici
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Splendid Conference & Spa Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the small town Becici in Montenegro, the Splendid Conference & SPA Resort was opened in 2006 and became the first 5* hotel on the eastern coast of the Adriatic Sea. Hotel Splendid 5* is 3 kilometers away from the touristic capital of Montenegro, Budva, stays on the sea front and has its own private beach. The hotel has 322 standard rooms, most of them with the sea view, as well as 4 suites and 13 apartments, a penthouse and presidential apartments for the VIP guests. Hotel guests have access to four bars and three restaurants of different cuisine, the largest in Montenegro SPA center Splendid SPA and gambling zone Casino Royale. Splendid Conference & SPA Resort is the largest conference venue in Montenegro. The hotel’s conference zone can accommodate events for up to 700 people. Hotel Splendid offers several modern halls and syndicate rooms with beautiful decoration, all necessary equipment, suitable for business events, as well as for informal ceremonies, gala dinners, family celebrations and weddings. Many famous people have been the guests of the hotel Splendid 5*: UN Secretary General Ban Ki-moon, 42nd US President Bill Clinton, world-famous pop singer Madonna, legendary rock band the Rolling Stones and its frontman Mick Jagger, Hollywood actors Angelina Jolie and Brad Pitt, legendary hockey player Pavel Bure, Russian astronaut Oleg Kotov and many more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Splendid Conference & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Splendid Conference And Spa Resort
Splendid Hotel Becici
Splendid Conference Hotel
Splendid Hotel Budva
Splendid Conference Becici
Hotel Splendid Conference & Spa Resort Montenegro/Becici

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing