We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Splendid Conference & Spa Resort
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Becici
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

It was a pleasant family stay. Nice beach and pools. The rooms are also confortable. The concierge, Goran, was very helpful and courteous and made many great touristic recommendations. The kids had a lot fun. The hotel is well situated. It was a memorable stay.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Jehane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontenegroStars, General Manager at Hotel Splendid Conference & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2014

Dear Jehane K,

Thank you for choosing us for your family vacations and for your positive review. We are glad that you had comfortable and memorable stay in our hotel. I will pass your kind words to our concierge Mr. Goran. We are looking forward to welcome your back to our hotel upon your next visit to Montenegro.

Sincerely yours,
Mirjana Mrkalj,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (645)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

193 - 199 of 645 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2014

The hotel splendid is a huge meandering resort built around an impressive swimming pool. It's pretty good, the breakfast is excellent and the beach is nice. The old town of Budva is a 5 euro cab ride away and definitely worth a visit. There are a few things that are not quite up to scratch though. For instance my parents were staying in a room where there was clearly a leak coming through the floor , the carpet was wet. The management were very happy to move them, but they put other people in there straight away despite knowing about the problem! The restaurants aren't great in the hotel, but the conceirge is happy to recommend ones outside of the hotel. Don't be surprised at the look of some of them, the food is generally very good, especially if you like seafood. We stayed in a wellness suite with our 2 kids and the room was spacious and clean and we enjoyed it very much

Room Tip: The wellness suites are lovely if you want to splurge
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank L S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontenegroStars, General Manager at Hotel Splendid Conference & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear L S,

Thank you for finding time and sharing your positive feedback with TripAdvisor community. We are very happy to learn that you and your family enjoyed your stay, and that the problem with the room was resolved in no time. I am sorry that the hotel restaurant was not to your taste, but I am glad that our Concierge, Mr. Goran, was there to help you and recommend some of the excellent fish restaurants nearby. Hope you will return to Montenegro on many more occasions and we will be able to welcome you and your close ones again.

Sincerely yours,
Mirjana Mrkalj,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

This hotel is iconic of Montenegro. The Hotel, location, staff are wonderful. For eg I am staying in a 5star Turkey at the moment and it is horrible in comparison to Splendid. I wish I was back there. It is pricey but well worth it and deserving of its 5 star rating. I recommend it.

Room Tip: I think all rooms are gorgeous here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank sanjapopovic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontenegroStars, General Manager at Hotel Splendid Conference & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear sanjapopovic,

Thank you for this beautiful comment about our hotel. It is a great pleasure for me and for all our staff to receive such praise. We look forward to welcome you again and thank you once more for giving such a great recommendation to the fellow travelers.

Sincerely yours,
Mirjana Mrkalj,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

This hotel has some good features. But the main drawback as I elaborate below is the main restaurant.

The pool area is excellent -- it is well-designed and has great facilities for adults and children with plenty of space. The staff there were attentive although it was irritating that they did not clear up dirty cups, glasses and plates more quickly. There were plenty of good sun beds with helpful pool staff to move/set up parasols. The beach area (which we did not use preferring the pool) also looked really nice. Aqua gym in the pool twice a day was also fun.

The most disappointing thing is the main restaurant which is laid out like a school cafeteria. It also lacks natural light in the main seating area and there is no view to speak in spite of the hotel's wonderful location over looking the sea (there is a small seating area with a view but then you are miles from the food). The food was just OK but not 5 star quality. We had paid for half board but decided in the end to eat out and there are some decent restaurants within walking distance. (They did allow us to have lunch rather than dinner on half board which was tolerable and a hour sheltering from the heat in early afternoon meant we did not mind the absence of ambience.) The Japanese restaurant at the hotel was also good but they would not allow us to get an allowance towards it from the half board. The staff in the main restaurant were trying hard but we never sat down to a properly laid table and it was hard to get served with coffee at breakfast. Probably just needs an improvement in staff training.

Reception staff were friendly and helpful, especially the Concierge.

Hotel infrastructure not bad. The room was a bit tired in places but free wifi and mostly good room facilities. The spa seemed nice although the gym was disappointing (although there were never enough people there to put pressure on the facilities.)

It was nice to be a friendly country not overrun by Brits so actually felt that we were abroad and only overheard English speaking people on our trip to Kotor (a must see and the best food that we had all holiday in a small but quaint restaurant in one of the many small squares.) Walking out at night from the hotel was a bit like being in Great Yarmouth but because we were surrounded by locals, it was fun and interesting.

While they have a way to go, Montenegro will surely grow in popularity. And if you want to go there now, you could do a lot worse than staying in hotel Splendid, especially if you crave plenty of relaxing "pool time".

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontenegroStars, General Manager at Hotel Splendid Conference & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Tim B,

Thank you for your valuable and comprehensive review of our hotel. We greatly appreciate your constructive feedback as it helps us to improve our service daily and deliver better experience to our guests. We are happy that your overall impression of our resort was positive, and that you found our staff friendly and attentive. I will pass your kind words to our Concierge, Mr. Goran. We are aware that design of the main restaurant is not as attractive as the rest of the hotel, and we are working on improving the ambient for our guests. All your other comment had been taken into consideration, and we hope to make changes based on them in the nearest future.
Thank you once again for recommending our country and our hotel to other travelers. We would be happy to have you as our guests again.

Sincerely yours,
Mirjana Mrkalj,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

It is a really SPLENDID Hotel, on a nice Adriatic beach in Montenegro. It has all amenities 5 star hotel needs, splendid indoor pools and spa center, well equipped fitness center and conference facilities, great beach. Staff is friendly. Rooms are large with nice balconies and all are with sea view. It is said that is situated in Budva, but in fact it's not in the town itself. You have to walk along the beach for about 1/2 hour to reach town center, but if you are not in a mood of walking, you can take a bus, or grab taxi, which is not expensive. Budva town is must to see, cosy, small mediterranean place with lots of shops and restaurants. It's a wonderful place for both business and leisure. I highly recommend to visit and enjoy it.

Room Tip: All rooms are with sea view and with balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Dato13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontenegroStars, General Manager at Hotel Splendid Conference & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Dato13,

I am very glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit to our beautiful country and your stay in our hotel. It is my pleasure to learn that you were overall satisfied with our resort as well as with our staff.
Thank you for finding time and writing your positive review and recommending us to your fellow travelers here on TripAdvisor. We look forward to welcome you again by your next visit to Montenegro.

Sincerely yours,
Mirjana Mrkalj,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We have just returned from a weeks stay in this hotel in lovely Montenegro. This was our first visit to Montenegro and WOW we were amazed! The country is stunning and has so much beauty to see. The hotel is rated as five stars and although at times it was this there were certain things that let it down. Let me start with the many positives.
The hotel staff are on the whole very friendly, smart and super attentive. They are there at you beck and call and will endeavour to ensure that your holiday is a stress free break. The reception staff in particular were very well informed and helped us to get around the country in an easy way.
The breakfast and dinner buffets had a very good selection of food available and there was always plenty to go around despite being there at busier times during the sessions.
The hotel itself was always clean and staff were seen before 7 am making sure that the pool area was ready for the tourists to lay their towels on the sunbeds!!
The superior rooms were a very good size with good facilities (although no kettle, see below) and air conditioning and a brilliant sized balcony to enjoy the sea and pool view. Towels were changed daily and complimentary toiletries topped up.
The spa was a calm area which gave a good selection of treatments at an extra cost. I had a traditional massage and it was an hour of bliss!
Good location with us being able to walk into old town Budva and Stefi Stefan easily along the coast.
On the downside the swimming pools inside and out were FREEZING! Now us being hardened Brits are used to the cold but boy it was a shock to the system to get in both pools and once in there was no enjoyment as you were shivering!
The food on the buffet was sometimes cold which spoilt our enjoyment of this wonderful array of foods. The majority of foods were heated by small calor gas heaters and to be honest I do not think these are up to the job in hand.
The waiters were so keen to clear away that on two occasions our table was cleared whilst we were off getting pudding!! From the on we decided to get foods in shifts so that our table was always manned!
The room did not have tea and coffee making facilities and if you wanted a hot drink you had to pay around 10 euros in reception or the bar areas. Drinks were also not included with your dinner and so this would add an extra 12 - 15 euros each time. A costly addition if you have already paid 5* prices to stay at the hotel.
Guests were allowed to smoke in the reception/lounge area and when you had to walk through to the lifts the smell was stifling to non smokers.
Don't get me wrong, these things did not stop us enjoying our stay at the hotel but having these things sorted out would have given it the five stars it claims to have.
Go to Montenegro and enjoy what it has to offer, you won't be disappointed!!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank summergirl300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontenegroStars, General Manager at Hotel Splendid Conference & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear summergirl300,

It is always a great pleasure to find out that our guests like our beautiful country. We are very proud that you found it stunning and recommended fellow travelers to visit it.
Thank you for writing such detailed review. I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay and were satisfied with our staff and our amenities.
We have closely checked all things you found unsatisfactory. Please be assured that we have taken actions to improve the situation. For instance, we re-checked the temperature of the dishes. Our waiters were also instructed to be more attentive and not so haste in table cleaning.
Thank you once again for time you spent writing your review. We will do our best to fully justify our rating in the future.

Sincerely yours,
Mirjana Mrkalj,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

We were on a bussines trip and stay in Hotel Splendid. Big rooms, very clean- spotless. Stuff was very pleasant. It was my wife birthday and they surprise us with cake and champagne. Food was Ok, could be better. The beach in front of the hotel is great.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DarkoCivk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontenegroStars, General Manager at Hotel Splendid Conference & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear DarkoCivk,
Thank you very much for your wonderful feedback. We were happy to find out that you liked your room, and approve our beach and the work of our staff. We were thrilled to know that your spouse enjoyed her birthday meal.
We look forward to welcome you back on your next visit to Budva, hopefully not only on business.

Sincerely yours,
Mirjana Mrkalj,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Becici
0.2 mi away
Hotel Montenegro Beach Resort
0.7 mi away
Queen of Montenegro
Queen of Montenegro
#3 of 9 in Becici
640 reviews
13.7 mi away
Regent Porto Montenegro
Regent Porto Montenegro
#1 of 10 in Tivat Municipality
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tara
Hotel Tara
#5 of 9 in Becici
414 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mediteran Hotel & Resort
6.4 mi away
Montecasa Spa & Wellness
Montecasa Spa & Wellness
#4 of 10 in Petrovac
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Splendid Conference & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Splendid Conference & Spa Resort

Address: Becici, Budva Municipality 85315, Montenegro
Region: Montenegro > Budva Municipality > Becici
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Becici
#2 Spa Hotel in Becici
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Becici
#2 Luxury Hotel in Becici
Price Range: £82 - £266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Splendid Conference & Spa Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the small town of Bečići in Montenegro, Splendid Conference & SPA Resort was opened in 2006 as the first 5 stars hotel on the eastern coast of the Adriatic sea. Hotel Splendid is situated 2 kilometers from the tourism capital of Montenegro - Budva - right at the seafront, with its own private beach. The hotel has 322 superior rooms, most of them with sea view, as well as 4 Junior and 13 Wellness suites, a Penthouse and a Presidential suite for VIP guests. Our hotel has four bars and three restaurants of different cuisines, the largest SPA centre in Montenegro and the Casino Royal. Splendid Conference & SPA Resort has the largest conference venue in Montenegro. The venue can host up to 800 people. Hotel Splendid offers several modern halls and syndicate rooms with beautiful decoration and all the necessary technical equipment, suitable for business events, but also for weddings, gala dinners or family celebrations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Splendid Conference & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Splendid Conference And Spa Resort
Splendid Hotel Becici
Splendid Conference Hotel
Splendid Hotel Budva
Splendid Conference Becici
Hotel Splendid Conference & Spa Resort Montenegro/Becici

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing