We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean City”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cape of Good Hope

Cape of Good Hope
Book In Advance
More Info
US$63.41*
and up
Private Tour: Cape Peninsula and Boulders Beach Penguins Day Trip from Cape Town
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
238 reviews
77 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Clean City”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

I love to visit Cape Town. It is clean and friendly. I only have one complaint and that is the high cost of food in Restaurants, Sadly tourist are being overcharged at every opportunity.. not good for tourism to this beautiful country.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Stan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,544 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,027
    1,261
    227
    22
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Astoria, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Well worth the trip!”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I took a small tour bus (African Eagle tours) to see Cape of Good Hope and am so glad I did! We had great views and great photos. Be prepared for a line at the sign for Cape of Good Hope. It moves quickly and people were patient and friendly, which helped with the wait. It's also worth your time to go over to Cape Point and do the climb (or take the cable car up) to the lighthouse. The lighthouse is not very exciting, but the views sure are!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
610 reviews
140 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
“Breath taking views”
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Definitely worth the 1+ hour drive from the City Centre. Nature at its best. Scenic drive along the Atlantic Ocean and a short steep funicular ride brings you to the lighthouse at the peak. Magnificent views of the ocean, craggy cliffs and awesome surf. The drive around the Nature Reserve yielded encounters with a family of baboons, 6 ostriches and a herd of antelopes.
Be very careful not to snack indiscriminately! You might attract the fearsome baboons and it pays to remember that they are as strong as six men.

Helpful?
2 Thank nsl115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Dias is spectacular”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Dias beach is a bit of a hike down from the funicular, but well worth it. It is deserted. It is a truly spectacular beach - you sink 2 feet into the sand when you get off the steep steps. Look out for all the dasi (kind of like cute gophers) on the steps down - you are surrounded by them.

Last year we went into the water - and this has to be the most dangerous beach I've ever been to. The surf was crashing in with about 6 ft waves. We didn't go in past out knees - but there was 4 feet of foam and the undertow was wicked, both the foam and undertow knock you down. An awesome sight this beach is.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank halifaxenergyguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pakse, Laos
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful and Rewarding”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Scenic 360 views. Take the hidden path connecting the lookout point to the lighthouse. Hidden beaches and jaw-dropping views await.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank nhauser89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cape of Good Hope also viewed

Table Mountain National Park, Cape Town
Simon's Town, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Simon's Town, Cape Town
 

Been to Cape of Good Hope? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing