We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clearwater Island Lodge Review”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Melville Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Clearwater Island Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Clearwater Island Lodge Review”
Reviewed 12 June 2013

I just got back from 2 days at The Lodge with a fairly large group (about 20). All from our group had a great experience. The highlight for me was the hospitality offered from day break until stumps from the genuine crew. Nothing was too hard. The balance of capturing the natural beauty of this pristine location with just a enough of the home comforts was perfect. The fishing guides were all sensational & top blokes. They worked tirelessly all day trying to get us the best & most diverse fishing experience we could jam into our 2 days. We were truly lucky to be able to spend the time we did there & i will definitely be back for more...2 days was just not enough. Thanks heaps guys! Regards Paul

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClearwaterLodge, Owner at Clearwater Island Lodge, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thanks for taking the time to share your experience with everyone on Tripadvisor about your stay with us at Clearwater Island Lodge.

We're glad you had the opportunity to enjoy the great fishing and the unspoilt wilderness all the staff are really excited to hear that you will be returning for another adventure and we all can't wait to host you all again.

All the team were delighted that you have rated them so highly.

Wishing you safe travels throughout 2013 and beyond.

Kerri-Ann and the Clearwater team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    13
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
23
9
3
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

My partner & I have just spent 6 days & nights at Clearwater Lodge to "get away from it all"
What a wonderful place to do so,. Michael, Kerri & daughter Neisha welcomed us with exceptional hospitality and nothing was ever too much trouble, the lodge itself could be anywhere in the world with it's 5 star meals served each evening, the sunsets and the local wildlife are just a pinch of what this lodge is about. The only complaint we have is that the 6 days went way too fast...
Thankyou again for a wonderful & memorable stay.
Sue & Tony

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClearwaterLodge, Owner at Clearwater Island Lodge, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
2014 TRIPADVISOR CERTIFICATE OF EXCELLENCE
Based on your wonderful feedback you have helped us achieve and become a Top Performing Business as Reviewed by you recently.
Winning the TripAdvisor 2014 Certificate of Excellence is a true source of pride for the entire team at CLEARWATER ISLAND LODGE and we’d like to thank all of our past guests who took the time to complete a review on TripAdvisor. There is no greater seal of approval than being recognised by one’s customers. With the TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence based on your review, the accolade is a remarkable vote of confidence to our business and our continued commitment to excellence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 22 May 2013

5 of us had 5 great days of fishing. I had not been on an extended fishing trip before and so I cannot make comparisons against other sites but it must be hard to beat Clearwater Island Lodge. The lodge is well located with fantastic views of the Aspley Strait and Bathurst Island, great sunsets and only a few steps away from the boats and fishing.
The accommodation was good and we were lucky, although we booked shared rooms, we were allocated a room each. Each night the food at the Lodge was exceptional with the menu focussing on the freshly caught mud crabs and some of the fish caught that day. The menu varied each night and the food was enjoyed with a few beers and telling stories of that day's fishing.
The fishing was great - the boats were functional, all equipment was provided and the fishing guides were very experienced, helpful and good company. The fish caught varied from barramundi, mangrove jacks, salmon, queenfish, trevally, snapper and many others. Occassionally there were some quite periods but when this occurred the guides would always seek new spots to kept the action happening.
The Michael and Kerri and the team have put together something very special.
I hope to do it again soon.
David

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank David I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClearwaterLodge, Owner at Clearwater Island Lodge, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thanks for taking the time to share your experience with everyone on Tripadvisor about your stay with us at Clearwater Island Lodge.

We're glad you had the opportunity to enjoy the great fishing and the unspoilt wilderness all the staff are really excited to hear that you will be returning for another adventure and we all can't wait to host you all again.

All the team were delighted that you have rated them so highly.

Wishing you safe travels throughout 2013 and beyond.

Kerri-Ann and the Clearwater team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 May 2013

If you're looking for great fishing and top food, in a very remote spot. Well this is it. I had 4 great days at the lodge. The trip starts with a short flight from Darwin. Picked up from the dirt runway and back to the lodge for a beer. The rooms and amenities are adequate. The view from the lodge is crash hot. To say that the food is impressive and generous, would be an under statement. The owners and guides are very friendly. Apart from the lodge boats I only spotted 3 other boats. I pointed this out to David. He jokingly replied, yes it gets busy up here some times. The boats are sturdy and comfortable. There are plenty of species on offer here. They all fight hard and will test your gear. Smashed up lures and trebles, are to be expected. I took my own rods and reels, you don't have to.(Check with the airline if you are taking your gear,restrictions apply) Accurate casting and listening to the guides, is an advantage. The guides are patient and offer an easy style of coaching, if required.
The scenery will blow you away. Adventure is abundant. I have fished some great spots in NT and QLD. Done the 2hrs each way by 4 wheel drive and live aboard on a mother ship. They are all good in their own way. There is just something very special about staying at Clearwater Lodge. You maximise your fishing and partying time. There is a score board near the bar, to tally up your catch each day. A bit of friendly rivalry makes it more fun. Get up there and get your name on it!
I look forward to my next visit to the Lodge. Cheers. Dave A

Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClearwaterLodge, Owner at Clearwater Island Lodge, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thanks for taking the time to share your experience with everyone on Tripadvisor about your stay with us at Clearwater Island Lodge.

We're glad you had the opportunity to enjoy the great fishing and the unspoilt wilderness all the staff are really excited to hear that you will be returning for another adventure and we all can't wait to host you all again.

All the team were delighted that you have rated them so highly.

Wishing you safe travels throughout 2013 and beyond.

Kerri-Ann and the Clearwater team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013 via mobile

In spite of visiting other 'Barra' camps we are drawn back to this lodge time & time again.

Everything just seems to come together in this wonderful environment. The hosts and the guides are exceptional and the scenery makes the fish a bonus.

Not to mention that not only am I in the 1Mt + Barra club BUT I am also now in the 1Mt+ Thread fin club.

We have come to the conclusion that this place is as close to "fishing heaven" as it could get.

Congratulations to Michael, Kerri, Dave and team for keeping the standards so high for so long.

Kim Linton

Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Anaza L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClearwaterLodge, Owner at Clearwater Island Lodge, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thanks for taking the time to share your experience with everyone on Tripadvisor about your stay with us at Clearwater Island Lodge.

We're glad you had the opportunity to enjoy the great fishing and the unspoilt wilderness all the staff are really excited to hear that you will be returning for another adventure and we all can't wait to host you all again.

All the team were delighted that you have rated them so highly.

Wishing you safe travels throughout 2013 and beyond.

Kerri-Ann and the Clearwater team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 5 May 2013

I had great time at the clearwater island lodge. The location is amazing, staff are friendly and the food is sensational. The rooms are neat and tidy and so are the showers and pool.
Michael and Kerry were wonderful hosts, very warm and attentive and i would recommend this place to anyone coming to Tiwi.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClearwaterLodge, Owner at Clearwater Island Lodge, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thanks for taking the time to share your experience with everyone on Tripadvisor about your stay with us at Clearwater Island Lodge.

We're glad you had the opportunity to enjoy the great fishing and the unspoilt wilderness all the staff are really excited to hear that you will be returning for another adventure and we all can't wait to host you all again.

All the team were delighted that you have rated them so highly.

Wishing you safe travels throughout 2013 and beyond.

Kerri-Ann and the Clearwater team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013

If you love fishing and great people this is the place.

Unspoilt wilderness, a laid back and super friendly place to be and the most extraordinary choice of fishing experiences from reef to estuary which are easily accessed in the one day.

I only had 2 days fishing which wasn't nearly enough for me. I can't wait to go back.

Thanks to everyone up there for a fantastic time - Michael, Kerr-ann, Clinton (what a guide), Dave (what a cook), David (for his guitar playing), Glenn (for guiding me last time) and Jarrod (thanks for that last g&t mate..)

Oh and I went to the local art gallery and bought the most awesome painting. I just love it there!


I

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brett S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClearwaterLodge, Owner at Clearwater Island Lodge, responded to this review, 26 April 2013
Thanks for taking the time to share your experience with everyone on Tripadvisor about your stay with us at Clearwater Island Lodge.

We're glad you had the opportunity to enjoy the great fishing and the unspoilt wilderness all the staff are really excited to hear that you will be returning for another adventure and we all can't wait to host you again.

All the team were delighted that you have rated them so highly.

Wishing you safe travels throughout 2013 and beyond.

Kerri-Ann and the Clearwater team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Clearwater Island Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clearwater Island Lodge

Property: Clearwater Island Lodge
Address: Lot 288, Pularumpi St, 0822, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Tiwi Islands > Melville Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Melville Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you ready to get out amongst it and experience Australia’s best fishing adventure? Welcome to Munupi Wilderness Lodge Melville Island Darwin Northern Territory. Our fishing lodge offers anglers, hands on fishing adventures. Imagine casting a lure off the deck of one of our fishing boats into our pristine fishing waters and as you begin to retrieve your lure, your rod gets hit with an awesome strike from a huge barramundi. Imagine no longer call us today to find out more on our affordable fully inclusive fishing packages. We are the original Melville Island fishing destination with direct exclusive access to the best Darwin fishing locations. If you like estuary fishing then Munupi offers it all. If you like blue water fishing then our fishing grounds are rated some of the best in Australia.When you call us, ask about our fish catch guarantee, that’s right we guarantee you will catch a fish or your fishing trip will be refunded or replaced it’s your choice, it’s our guarantee to you. So don’t delay come and play in our part of the world you will be really glad you did. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing