We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Experience!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Melville Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Clearwater Island Lodge
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bunbury, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Experience!”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed 3 nights and 2 days at Clearwater Lodge on a fishing trip. After flying to Darwin and then a scenic 30 minute flight to the tip of Melville island I had already been treated to some spectacular scenery and was looking forward to getting on the ground. The lodge is situated 3 minutes drive from the airport and our hostess Kerri-Anne and her partner Michael gave us a quick overview of the amenities and a cold beer and immediately we felt welcome and at home.
A quick snack of fresh crumbed fish and Calamari was welcome as we had a look around.
the facilities are basic but clean and comfortable and the rooms were tidy and air-conditioned. We had the run of the place as all guests do and it was a very relaxing and pleasant afternoon. The meals at dinner were an absolute highlight with Fresh Seafood being the star. Mud crab expertly cooked every night with fish grilled or steamed cod was worth the trip on its own. The chef is a genius and every dish was brilliant.
Breakfast each morning was enhanced by the excellent coffee machine which was available for each guest to make their favourite brew, fresh coffee beans and the bonus of a "real" coffee set the day up
We fished 3 to a boat with our guide Glen taking us into the tidal Mangrove creeks nearby. We immediately hooked into a couple of Blue Noose Salmon and the rest of the day saw us take in some Estuary cod and late in the day a few lazy Mangrove Jack
The water temperature was about 27C which was too cold for the famous Barramundi but just casting in and around the creeks from the sure platform of the tinnie was a pleasure.
The next day Glen took us trolling past a small rock ledge and we took a few hits on our Minnows but nothing substantial. Heading back into the creeks we had an increase in tempo and we caught more Jacks then the day before, most likely as we started to understand Glen's hints and techniques better. During the day Glen gave us a brief history of the area and his families experiences which was as good a cultural tour as any I have been on.
The last part of the day was trolling the ledge again which produced a hefty GT on light gear and this tied the fishing part off brilliantly
Another excellent meal was washed down with cold beers and big lies.
The weather in June was temperate and a light jumper kept the evening pleasant. We used insect repellent to ward off sand-flies however we hardly saw any bugs so not a big issue, still handy to keep repellent handy
I went to Clearwater for the fishing however the whole experience was simply fantastic. Kerri Anne and Michael were great hosts, the guides were fun and happy to help and the meals were unbelievable , better than I have had at many seafood restaurants.
I regards to an authentic experience Clearwater island lodge is it. There is no pretence, just great company, good facilities and a very relaxing and welcoming set up.
The cost was well within reach of everyone's budget and simply being in this stunning part of the world was enough to bring out a smile. Going again soon!

Room Tip: All rooms were good, those in the actual Lounge area of the lodge were quiet and air-conditioned
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tillo_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClearwaterLodge, Owner at Clearwater Island Lodge, responded to this review, 24 October 2014
Thanks for taking the time to share your experience with everyone on Tripadvisor about your stay with us at Clearwater Island Lodge.

We're glad you had the opportunity to enjoy the great fishing and the unspoilt wilderness all the staff are really excited to hear that you will be returning for another adventure and we all can't wait to host you all again.

All the team were delighted that you have rated them so highly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    12
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
23
9
2
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Basic rooms and facilities but clean and comfortable. Fishing, food and service all great. I have been four times and it the fishing has always been fantastic. The guides really know their stuff and cater well for all standards of fisho's. I will keep going back.
Max

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maxg50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClearwaterLodge, Owner at Clearwater Island Lodge, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thanks for taking the time to share your experience with everyone on Tripadvisor about your stay with us at Clearwater Island Lodge.

We're glad you had the opportunity to enjoy another great fishing trip with us again.

All the team were delighted that you have rated them so highly.

Wishing you safe travels throughout 2014 and we look forward to your fifth adventure with us again soon.

Kerri-Ann and the Clearwater team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
61 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

A great lodge in the beautifully remote Mellville Island ,about 30 minutes flight out of Darwin.very good basic accommodation that is Comfortable ,clean and cosy.
The open lounge area where guests eat and mingle after a long days fishing .
The room air cons work well but are very noisy and probably in need of replacement,but ear plugs do the job if your fussy.nightly meals are tastey and give you a a chance to enjoy the days catch.
And the fishing...... Great guides ,good gear,and you ll just have to go to unearth one of the country s greatest fishing spots.we caught a great variety of fish that appear on most people's wanted list.

Room Tip: Really everyone's preference but days are long so no problem getting to sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SydneyRossco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClearwaterLodge, Owner at Clearwater Island Lodge, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
2014 TRIPADVISOR CERTIFICATE OF EXCELLENCE
Based on your wonderful feedback you have helped us achieve and become a Top Performing Business as Reviewed by you recently.
Winning the TripAdvisor 2014 Certificate of Excellence is a true source of pride for the entire team at CLEARWATER ISLAND LODGE and we’d like to thank all of our past guests who took the time to complete a review on TripAdvisor. There is no greater seal of approval than being recognised by one’s customers. With the TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence based on your review, the accolade is a remarkable vote of confidence to our business and our continued commitment to excellence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

My wife, son and I had three days at this Island paradise three weeks ago. What a life changing experience. The staff, the accommodation and don't forget the food. Fishing with an experienced local guide, catching the fish you dream of and then come back to the resort to have your catch cooked there and then. Absolutely terrific place. Even if you don't fish, the local culture is there for you to embrace. Get there and do it!

Room Tip: Just make sure of your connecting flights. Things are a bit casual with the carrier to the island a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daryl V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClearwaterLodge, Owner at Clearwater Island Lodge, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
2014 TRIPADVISOR CERTIFICATE OF EXCELLENCE
Based on your wonderful feedback you have helped us achieve and become a Top Performing Business as Reviewed by you recently.
Winning the TripAdvisor 2014 Certificate of Excellence is a true source of pride for the entire team at CLEARWATER ISLAND LODGE and we’d like to thank all of our past guests who took the time to complete a review on TripAdvisor. There is no greater seal of approval than being recognised by one’s customers. With the TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence based on your review, the accolade is a remarkable vote of confidence to our business and our continued commitment to excellence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
86 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

There were 6 of us, Kerry and staff at lodge,excellent. Fishing guides, gear and tackle supplied,excellent. Food and bar,excellent. Accomadation,clean and tidy and comfortable, aircons in rooms a bit noisy. Overall nothing was a bother, fish were bitting all over the place, 6 happy guys! Yes, would come back again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Casino2470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClearwaterLodge, Owner at Clearwater Island Lodge, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thanks for taking the time to share your experience with everyone on Tripadvisor about your stay with us at Clearwater Island Lodge.

We're glad you had the opportunity to enjoy the great fishing and the unspoilt wilderness all the staff are really excited to hear that you will be returning for another adventure and we all can't wait to host you all again.

All the team were delighted that you have rated them so highly.

Wishing you safe travels throughout 2014 and beyond.

Kerri-Ann and the Clearwater team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirrawee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Spent a fantastic four days at the lodge with a group of four, some of the group had never really fished before and didnt know what to expect. We were welcomed by Kerrie and the staff and nothing was too much trouble for the whole trip. The room are clean and comfortable, its not fancy but you arent here to spend time sitting in your room!! the main area is spacious with spectacular views across to bathurst island and there is a plunge pool to wash the day away. The fishing can only be described as awesome the days on the water simply fly by, the fishing guides are patient, helpful, incredibly knowledgeable and they make it a fun experience. Then there is the food, the fishing guides are also the cooks and I tell you what the quality is simply 5 star, from a hearty breakfast and fresh simple lunch to awesome seafood dinners at night .

Truly for me it was the trip of a lifetime, and I will be going back, you have a smile on your face the whole time you are there. As or the guys who didnt fish?? they loved and are keen to go back.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClearwaterLodge, Owner at Clearwater Island Lodge, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thanks for taking the time to share your experience with everyone on Tripadvisor about your stay with us at Clearwater Island Lodge.

We're glad you had the opportunity to enjoy the great fishing and the unspoilt wilderness all the staff are really excited to hear that you will be returning for another adventure and we all can't wait to host you all again.

All the team were delighted that you have rated them so highly.

Wishing you safe travels throughout 2013 and beyond.

Kerri-Ann and the Clearwater team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

I travelled to Clearwater Lodge with my two 11 year old sons. I have been going to other fishing lodges in the general area for the past 7 or 8 years and I have to say, Clearwater was by far the best. Easy access from Darwin, easy access to the boats and the fishing, large guestrooms with air-conditioning and bar fridges, and well laid out dining and group areas with a pool table and darts. The food and beverages were also better than the other lodges I have stayed at. Most importantly, the "can do" attitude of the staff was what really made the trip. Every request was responded to with a yes and a smile. I would most certainly recommend Clearwater Lodge as the one to choose for NT fishing. Oh, and yes, the fishing guides and fishing was top notch too!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Barraben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClearwaterLodge, Owner at Clearwater Island Lodge, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thanks for taking the time to share your experience with everyone on Tripadvisor about your stay with us at Clearwater Island Lodge.

We're glad you had the opportunity to enjoy the great fishing and the unspoilt wilderness all the staff are really excited to hear that you will be returning for another adventure and we all can't wait to host you all again.

All the team were delighted that you have rated them so highly.

Wishing you safe travels throughout 2013 and beyond.

Kerri-Ann and the Clearwater team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Clearwater Island Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clearwater Island Lodge

Property: Clearwater Island Lodge
Address: Lot 288, Pularumpi St, 0822, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Tiwi Islands > Melville Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Melville Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you ready to get out amongst it and experience Australia’s best fishing adventure? Welcome to Munupi Wilderness Lodge Melville Island Darwin Northern Territory. Our fishing lodge offers anglers, hands on fishing adventures. Imagine casting a lure off the deck of one of our fishing boats into our pristine fishing waters and as you begin to retrieve your lure, your rod gets hit with an awesome strike from a huge barramundi. Imagine no longer call us today to find out more on our affordable fully inclusive fishing packages. We are the original Melville Island fishing destination with direct exclusive access to the best Darwin fishing locations. If you like estuary fishing then Munupi offers it all. If you like blue water fishing then our fishing grounds are rated some of the best in Australia.When you call us, ask about our fish catch guarantee, that’s right we guarantee you will catch a fish or your fishing trip will be refunded or replaced it’s your choice, it’s our guarantee to you. So don’t delay come and play in our part of the world you will be really glad you did. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing