We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good for relaxation”
Review of Chettinadu Court

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chettinadu Court
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Karaikudi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 April 2014

i went there for relaxation rooms are having good ventilation
foods are excellent i like mutton chukka and idly very much there houses are 100 years back
chettinadu chicken curry i like very much.bullock cart riding is very nice

Room Tip: corner suites are large and ventilation
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 117nana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ANUP000, AGM-BUSINESS DEVELOPMENT at Chettinadu Court, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your good comments.

We hope after your good experiences you can also share the same with your near and dear ones.

Looking forward to serving you soon.

Warm Regards


Anup

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (68)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 68 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2014

We, two women, stayed here for 3 days and found this Hotel an excellent place to stay. In fact it looked far better than Chettinadu Mansion,..., which had come highly recommended.... but which turned out to be quite dark and dingy. Our Ch Court was bright and with a lovely little garden outside our room where we sat out often. Just a few rooms and no bus loads of noisy tourists. The manager, Mr Gopal, was a great asset to the hotel. He had all the knowledge of South Indian destinations and also all the contacts to book our onward journey. The staff were always smiling and always ready to help, esp the man at the reception desk.The food was excellent and at each meal we were given suggestions for the local delights. A map of the area was given and we walked around this small town, also to the swimming pool and the massage spa, with no problems. A taxi was arranged to take us to the town of Karaikudi one morning which was a nice outing, especially for shopping at the antique market. And do not miss the Chettinad Plantain Leaf meal at the hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ANUP000, AGM- BUSINESS DEVELOPMENT at Chettinadu Court, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2014

Dear Sir,

Thank you for choosing Chettinad Court for your stay.

We have thoroughly enjoyed to read through your comments.

Expecting your re- visit soon.

Warm Regards


Anup

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

We had to travel from chennai to reach chettinadu court in our car,The Manager of the resort helped us to check in and give us good food, helping us to what to do here, giving us route map of loacal place, even he taken us to Chettinadu Mansion a great Heritage house which we enjoyed it, chef gave us chicken biriyani along with some veg dishes. we enjoyed the food and stay was comfortable, rooms are very neat, clean linen and nice sit out on grass, overall we had good enjoyment there and we planned to travel again..

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank archanakishore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anup B, AGM- Business Development at Chettinadu Court, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2013

Dear Sir,

As rightly mentioned it the best place to take a break and relax.

Thank you very much for your great comments.

Looking forward to serving you again.

WARM REGARDS


Anup Balan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

Highly recommended by our car booking agency at Madurai, we planned a lunch stopover here. Unfortunately they do the full chettinad meal only for residents and for guests who have booked in advance. We had to do with a la carte - still the chef did dish up a chettinad style chicken curry which was good. Staff was helpful and the manager gave us a local map highlighting the couple of heritage houses that we could visit. They also guided me to chettinad mansion - a sister property, a heritage hotel - where we were given a guided tour by the owner/manager who was very gracious and helpful.

In sum, good food and good service. We did not stay and therefore cannot comment on the hotel facilities.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank max_km
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anup B, AGM- Business Development at Chettinadu Court, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2013

Dear Sir,

Thank you for your wonderful comments.

Chettinad is a must place to visit.

We are in the process of popularizing Chettinad meals, we hope more and more guest will explore Chettinad and experience Chettinad as a whole.

Warm Regards


Anup

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

I stayed for 3 days between 15th and 18th October 2012. Mr. Gopukumar was very friendly and arranged for very hot food when I reached around 8:30 PM. He helped me plan the trip to Rameswaram during this period. He also helped me with a short tour of the place including Chettinad mansion. The chettinad lunch he arranged was really good. Overall a very good experience.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mjsraman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anup B, Director of Sales at Chettinadu Court, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2013

Dear Sir,

It gives us a greater confidence to project Chettinad Court as the best property with great service and food.

We are looking forward to extend our hospitality to all our valued guest at all times.

Warm Regards


Anup Balanb

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2012

We booked this to get a resort experience and wanted to enjoy authentic chettinad food. The rooms are neat. However, they are over-priced. Definitely, not worth Rs 3000. Food was the worst of all. They do not serve Chettinad food. Being a vegetarian, I was looking forward to the pulikuzhambu which is a chettinad specialty. I was very disappointed to taste a coconut filled curry. Worst of all, the supervisor was not open to the feedback and told me that pulikuzhambu can be made in 16 different ways and this is how it is made in Kerala. But why would anyone want to have a kerala style dish after travelling all the way to Kanadukathan? I would have gone to Kerala. Probably explains that the Chef is from Kerala...

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveller2012Chennai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anup B, Director of Sales at Chettinadu Court, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2012

Dear Sir,

We have to thank you for your feedback which will help us in understanding the concerns raised by you.

We will make sure that necessary rectification is done so as to provide the best services to all our guest at all times.

Warm Regards


Anup

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2012

As the last leg of my tour from Mumbai with 13 persons, I checked in to Chettinadu Court on 1st of Feb 2012. I always thought the travel agents booked a hotel in Karaikudi for me. After a fruitless search in Karaikudi town, I called the Chettinadu Court and duly redirected 10km away to Kanadukathan. Mr.Gopakumar received us and made a swift check in.
we had 5 rooms. all the rooms were made to feel an authentic chettiar clan house interior. this property is only 2 years old. the floor tiles were athangkudi tiles, which are very famous here. There is a swimming pool that is located outside of this mansion. Also available : Ayurveda Massage center and bullock cart village tour. One can walk all over this Kanadukathan village and view all the huge mansions especially the rajas palace which is the pride of Chettinadu history. Complimentary breakfast was all south indian and dinner was ala cart, have to mention Mr.Junaid the young chef who dished out mouthwatering food.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gawtham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anup1, Manager at Chettinadu Court, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2012

Dear Sir,


Thank you for your great response.

We will make sure that such comments are getting posted by each guest staying with us so as to spread the message across of Chettinad Hospitalities.

Looking forward to serving you more better during your next visit.

Regards


Anup

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Karaikudi
5.9 mi away
Bluebell Residency
Bluebell Residency
#4 of 5 in Karaikudi
7 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hotel MVV Residency
Hotel MVV Residency
#3 of 5 in Karaikudi
5 reviews
0.2 mi away
Visalam
Visalam
#1 of 2 in Kanadukathan
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Chettinadu Mansion
Chettinadu Mansion
#2 of 2 in Kanadukathan
206 reviews
4.4 mi away
Chidambara Vilas-Luxury Heritage Resort
7.1 mi away
Brindhavan Residency
Brindhavan Residency
#2 of 15 in Karaikudi
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chettinadu Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chettinadu Court

Address: Behind Rajas House | Kanadukathan (via) Karaikudi, Karaikudi, Karaikudi Taluk 630103, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Sivaganga District > Karaikudi Taluk > Karaikudi
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Karaikudi
Price Range: £42 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chettinadu Court 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Chettinadu Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing