We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ficifolia Lodge Kangaroo Island
Cairns, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“great location”
Reviewed 16 May 2013

We chose Ficifolia because of its central location on the island and because the photos made it look comfortable. It was everything and a bit more that we expected. Sue was just wonderful. She is so friendly and cheery. She mapped out our day for us so we wouldn't miss anything which was good. The units are a real home away from home. Everything you could possibly want it provided. they are a good size and fitted out beautifully so that you feel you can really relax and be comfortable. The pub is just a stroll down the road and you have 2 shops across the road for take aways, and groceries. It is in a great central location. We did Penneshaw, America River and Kingscote in the morning after getting off the ferry, stopped at the lodge for the afternoon then headed off early next morning to do some of the beaches at the top of the island then down to Admirals arch, the remarkables, seal bay and raptor domain then 15 mins back to the lodge for the night. Sue you do a wonderful job of making people feel at home. I have been recommending to all our friends after the great time we had on KI.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great. they have just been refurbed so you will find them all excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barry p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ficifolia, Owner at Ficifolia Lodge Kangaroo Island, responded to this review, 4 August 2013
Hello Barry, thanks you so much for taking the time to review our property. We are so pleased that our services met your expectations. Your comments are appreciated and we hope you visit us again when you next travel to Kangaroo Island. Regards Sue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    21
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
9
46
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wangaratta, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Ideally located in the center of Kangaroo Island, this place is a gem. These are self-contained units and are well-furnished and very comfortable. The host was wonderful and very helpful to us.We were extremely pleased with our stay and highly recommend this accomodation.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ficifolia, Owner at Ficifolia Lodge Kangaroo Island, responded to this review, 4 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property through Trip Advisor. Your experience which has now been published. Your valued comments go along way to encouraging potential new customers to our business during their visit to Kangaroo Island. Being a very small business, your review has contributed in a positive way to our market efforts, and we thank you for this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burgess Hill, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
373 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2013

Ficifolia Lodges are right in the middle of Kangaroo Island making it easy to travel around. On arrival we met Sue. She asked us what we were interested in and straight way marked up a map of the island for us to ensure we covered what we wanted to see without wasting time and backtracking. Sue is very friendly and helpful and a lovely person to meet. The Lodges were clean and well equipped. Parndana has a nice rural feel to it. If we visit the Island again we would stay here. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ficifolia, Owner at Ficifolia Lodge Kangaroo Island, responded to this review, 1 April 2013
Hello Sue, thank you so much for your review through Trip Advisor. My guest reviews form an important part of my marketing online, so your comments and kind words contribute to the reputation we have achieved and continue to strive for. It was a pleasure to meet you both and I trust you have enjoyed the rest of your holiday in Australia. Kind regards Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2013

We found Ficifolia through great reviews on TA. Everything about Kangaroo Island lived up to expectations. The central location lets you get to the best stuff on the island (and there is a lot). The rooms are comfortable & fully equipped with kitchen & sitting areas. Sue went out of her way to give us information on the best places to go & what to see. The internet connection was fast & efficient and would shame many big hotels. No problem getting a meal pretty much across the road at the Hotel & Bar.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ficifolia, Owner at Ficifolia Lodge Kangaroo Island, responded to this review, 1 April 2013
Hello, Chris - thank you for your review on Ficifolia Lodge. We really appreciate any feedback our guests wish to leave. I am so please that you enjoyed your time with us and delighted that you have decided to make a public comments. It was pleasure to meet you both during your stay and I trust the rest of your holiday met up to your expectations. Kind Regards Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2013

Friendly owners who will do all they can to help, they gave good advice for touring the island. We had cottage number 4. Layout included ... kitchen area with fridge, microwave, cooker, toaster, kettle etc etc; Dining area with table and chairs; Sitting area with 2 settees, tv, dvd player, patio doors to outside patio with table and chairs; Bedroom area with queen bed, wardrobes etc. The beds were very comfortable and a bathroom/toilet area with shower, wc and vanity area.
The cottage was air-conditioned and clean.
Daily breakfast was left in the fridge for us the night before, it was plentiful and of good quality, cereals, ham, bread, fruit, coffee.
Outside the front door there was an area to park the car and a drier for hanging washing. Onsite there was a laundry and bbq area.
The only niggle was with the bathrobes, they were clean but were a greyish colour not white which made them look a little off putting to wear.
Would we certainly recommend this accommodation to others.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MozBru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ficifolia, Owner at Ficifolia Lodge Kangaroo Island, responded to this review, 22 February 2013
Thank you for taking the time to make comment about your stay with us at Ficifolia Lodge. It was a pleasure to meet you both during your visit. I am glad that our services met your expectations as we strive to provide a personal service to each of our guests. You never know we may meet again one day, so until then keep safe and happy. Owner Sue ....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 December 2012

We had planned for years to go to Kangaroo Island. We chose Ficifolia Lodge on the Internet because it was in the centre of the Island. Also loved the name as we love Australian Natives & liked the look of the accomodation. We booked via Sealink so that we had our car. Great deal!

We were not one bit disappointed, from the first time we met Sue. We were made welcome & advised later of all the great places to see on the island. We were glad we chose the centre because, yes, it is a big island. Each day Sue gave us time to chat on where we had been & what's next? Sue is very informative of places to see & proudly supports her fellows in KI.
We enjoyed all the places advised, especially the Flora & Fauna of the Island. Perhaps not many see the 'Birds of Prey' 'Reptile show' 'Rare Breed animal farm' & 'Native Garden in a home' -- well worth the time, to really see more of Australia.

The Unit was just what we wanted for our 5 nights stay...Home away from Home, very attractive, comfortable, spotlessly clean & superbly equipped. The BEST comfy bed & pillows. Unit 4.
We forgot one bag when leaving & once found, Sue & Lyn made every efffort to contact us before leaving the island. Fortunately we had time to go back! Thanks again girls.

We loved the 'outback feel' of Parndana, nice little town, friendly shopkeepers & most of what we needed for day to day. I have read several of the positive comments & we agree with it all.
Space does not allow for more so, simply, we were very happy at Ficifolia Lodge & hope to return. Thanks to Sue & Lyn

Room Tip: We stayed in Unit 4 at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joybell184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ficifolia, Owner at Ficifolia Lodge Kangaroo Island, responded to this review, 7 February 2013
Hello there, not sure if it is appropriate to publish your real names. But I know who you are ! I would like to sincerely thank you for your kind comments about your stay here at Ficifolia Lodge and your holiday to Kangaroo Island .... I am sure others will appreciate the information you have provided. Hope you are both in good health and continuing to enjoy life.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Ficifolia Lodge is Ideally situated in the center of Kangaroo Island, so transport is essential as there is no public transport. Having said that, it is central and no parts of the island are much more than an hours drive away. So going anywhere is a sightseeing trip by itself.
Fuel and food, and a bakery are available in Parndana, as well as a very good pub with very good grub.
Ficifolia Lodge is very clean, well equipped, and was being re furnished when I was there in Feb, and March 2012, I actually stayed there twice, and next time I'm in Oz I'll certainly stay there again. Sue and the staff are spot on with their service, but of course it's down to guests to do their own catering, washing up etc while staying there.
I liked the feeling of remoteness there.
Quite simply I love Parndana and Ficifolia Lodge. Fantastic! :o)

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ficifolia, Owner at Ficifolia Lodge Kangaroo Island, responded to this review, 30 August 2012
Thank you Dick for your candid comments based on your experience during your stay at Ficifolia Lodge @ Parndana. Much appreciated. Looking forward to your next visit to Kangaroo Island. Take care. Kind regards Sue Florance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Parndana
28.9 mi away
Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat
38.2 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seafront
Kangaroo Island Seafront
#1 of 1 in Penneshaw
381 reviews
11.9 mi away
Waves and Wildlife Cottages
Waves and Wildlife Cottages
#1 of 50 in Kangaroo Island
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Open House
The Open House
#1 of 1 in Parndana
37 reviews
48.3 mi away
Sea Dragon Lodge
Sea Dragon Lodge
#1 of 2 in Willoughby
187 reviews
28.0 mi away
Western KI Caravan Park and Wildlife Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ficifolia Lodge Kangaroo Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ficifolia Lodge Kangaroo Island

Property: Ficifolia Lodge Kangaroo Island
Address: 45 Cook St, Parndana, Kangaroo Island, South Australia 5220, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Kangaroo Island > Parndana
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Parndana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ficifolia Lodge Kangaroo Island 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality modern, self-contained, accommodation with all the comforts of home, supported by our highly regarded personalised service. Centrally located in the township of Parndana, you are best positioned to visit all of the Island's key attractions. Ficifolia Lodge is a unique small owner operated business independently managed. We take great care in the presentation of our property so you can relax knowing we have already thought of everything you need for a comfortable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ficifolia Lodge Kangaroo Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing