We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, nice and quiet, friendly dogs”
Review of Beach Club Cagpo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Beach Club Cagpo
Reviewed 16 May 2013

Stayed here for a night with my family. The rooms were very cheap and basic, but spacious and comfortable. Due to limited electric supply in the island, the ACs have to be turned off for a few hours every night, but it's not a problem. They have a bar that serves local beer until about 9PM or later, when Harry and Charmaine, the very accommodating owners, decide to call it a night. Their labradors, Max and Ludwig, roam freely around the resort, and they're very friendly!

Their patch of the beach is small, but it has a small hut out near the shore where you can just lounge and relax. They have a bar that looks out to the beach, and you can hang out with Harry there and drink. The resort is adjacent to other noisier resorts in Cagpo, which could have their karaoke machines on until late. In Harry's words, we were unfortunate enough to stay there on the night the resort had a live band performing, but it wasn't really a problem.

The best thing about our stay was their food. Though you can't bring in your own snacks, they have quite a menu that has huge servings - meant to suit Harry's German/Aussie appetite, so it's more than what you would expect from a resort, and also worth the money. Their Aussie Monster burger is so good! They make the beef patties themselves - it's probably a quarter/third of a pound, and it's thick and juicy. The food is worth coming back to.

Room Tip: They don't let more than five people stay per room, so you have to split your group if there are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Arianne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (33)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 33 reviews

Reviewed 16 January 2013

When you go to the seas of Marinduque the main concern is the Boat and the Knowledge of the local boatman. You need to visit the Floating Island that appear around 4pm before the High Tide, they call this " Palad or Palm of your hand ". Imagine yourself in the middle of the sea and still walking on a beach with 12 inch shallow water ( thats the lowest level of water and then slowly as hightide returns it will go back to 30 feet or more. The experience of it is something not to be missed while in marinduque. and if you are a fan of fish. this is where you'll see big parrot fish and some scary Barracuda.

Now going to Marinduque.i always visit with my friend who is a local of Lucena. we drive to General Luna a local town in lucena. there locals have boats and will bring you to the resort for 2500 pesos, or there is a commuter boat for 75 pesos that brings you to Marinduque . But i suggest take the local boats from general luna as they can go as low for the boat rates for a 10 seater boat. The rate im quoting is a BIG 30 seater boat that i chartered for me and my friend only. i am scared of rough seas so i required a BIG boat. as ive said 2500 this includes the island hopping and the search for Palad, the pick up for your return to Lucena and also all the other movement on the sea. The room is just right nothing special. it was just a sleeping area for me and a toilet to do my personal stuff. most of the time we are on the boat because the water is just remarkable. at 40 feet the bottom is still white sand. so imagine how clear the water is.

Room Tip: Any Room is OK. nothing special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BrawnJoeBlack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2012

My wife and I spent 3 nights here. Had we known how nice the place was we could have happily spent all of our vacation to the Philippines here. The owners, Harry and Charmaine, treated us more like family than guests, and the staff were very friendly. If you're looking for a quiet break this is the place to go to relax for a few days. The island has frequent power cuts but the resort has its own generator so it was no problem. If we visit Marinduque again then we will certainly return to this small resort.

Room Tip: We recommend the air-con cottage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Ray M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

My husband and I stayed here at Easter. Came to Marinduque to see mariones festivals as well as the island. Harry met us at airport and on way to resort wonderful views of island and stopped to see two mariones parades - second one especially interesting to see flagellation - looked sore. Resort is small right on own private sandy beach - just great for early morning swim in warm clear water. Stayed in Ricks room - clean and quiet. Wonderful food each night from own restaurant. Harry and Charmaine made us very welcome and took us on island boat trip one day for a barbque lunch and swimming. Another day took us to local weaving factory and left us to beginning of walk up to memorial - it is a bit hard to get find entrance in as it is neglected (only cows care for it!) but the views are well worth it.
Overall relaxing friendly uncrowded place.
Only drawback was Zest Air's untimely departure back to Manila

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 447Emma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Beach Club Cagpo is a private homestay establishment with their own restobar which I strongly recommend for many good reasons.

We stayed at the Rick’s room for 1,200/ night. The room is neatly kept and tidy. It is just below the room of the owner (Harry and Charmaine) and beside the restobar.

During our stay, all meals ordered in the restobar is awesome from grilled tuna (with veggies), beef vindaloo, porkchop, sinigang na baboy and cheese burger (this I strongly recommend for everyone to try because of the delicious homemade patty).

On our first day, we took a 30 mins. leisure walk to Poctoy White Beach – great beach with no wave. Entrance fee is 20 pesos for adults and 10 pesos for kids.

On our second day, we rented the resorts motorcycle. We first want to go to Pulang Lupa historical park but we never made it due to road conditions however, we had great time taking pictures on one of the clearing in the mountain, a great view of the southwest portion of the island.

Then we went to Marinduque Hot Spring in Buenavista through the mountain route. A good ride in the cozy mountain with some drizzles. Before we check-in, we decided to have our lunch so we try to look for a restaurant in Buenavista but no luck cause we didn’t find any, just a small eatery (carinderia). We ordered tuna steak and fish in coconut milk and some handful of rice. Though the place may not attract picky eaters, but they serve good food. The eatery doesn’t have any name but it is just from the corner of the road from Boac to Torrijos.

The hot spring is a good place to rest after the long motorcycle journey. Before we even decided to continue our journey back, this time through the scenic costal road, the rain starts pouring. Due to unfamiliarity with the place and road conditions, we decided to take-off even with rain. A good view for picture taking on some places of the coastal road was not made possible due to rain. Up ahead the road, we saw the Elephant Island were Bellaroca resort is. This time the rain stop, so I took out my camera from my bag covered with plastic for some quick pictures.

We headed on straight to the beach club. At third day, we decided to just stay on the resort and have a walk on the beach and some picture taking before we set out our journey back to busy life.

Harry and Charmaine were so nice to offer us a ride up to the bus terminal.

A thumbs up for the owner of the resort, because without their warm hospitality and kindness none of the above is possible.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank MarlonCandelaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2012

My boyfriend and I were there Holy week last year, perfect accommodation,delicious food and very friendly owners :) Price range is very tourist friendly, you get MORE than what you pay for :D

Room Tip: Backpacker's room is at 550 Pesos good for 4 people already, great value for money :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sol G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Stayed for 4 night at the resort, the food is of a very good standard, the owners werent there at the time (perhaps a good thing?) all the meals i ate were delicious, the only problem is you cant bring any other food in with you and they dont stock any fruit - i long walk to torrijos is the only source i fruit i could find) anyway the beach is nice -great view of Mt. Malindig from the shore, i snorkelled a lot, most of the sea life was killed of (as far as i could tell from the mining pollution in the mid-90's) but if you are prepared to spend some time you will spot some interesting creatures. the rooms (i stayed in the "Ricks room") are clean and comfortable, overall a very pleasant stay with nice staff

Room Tip: i imagine the "honeymoon" cottage is the best, but there are a range of rooms to suit pric...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Free-Range85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Beach Club Cagpo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Club Cagpo

Address: | Beachclub Cagpo, Lot 2773, Marinduque Island 4903, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Mimaropa > Marinduque Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Marinduque Island
Price Range: £14 - £18 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beach Club Cagpo is a private beach resort located on the island of Marinduque in the heart of the Philippine islands. Club Cagpo features a Restaurant serving European, Asian and Filipino cuisines, infused with our local herbs and spices grown from our very own herb and vegetable garden. We also feature a Restaurant Bar as well as a new Cabana Beach Bar located right on our Beach, serving cold alcoholic beverages as well as non-alcoholic beverages alongside our Pulutan (snacks) and tapas.Beach Club Cagpo is located on the south east portion of Marinduque, in the municipality of Torrijos. The resort is located right on the beach and can be accessed via Resort Van hire or local transport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Beach Club Cagpo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing