We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Homey” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tahanan sa Isok

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marinduque Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tahanan sa Isok
Batangas Province, Philippines
Level Contributor
69 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Homey”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2013

We had our meeting in Boac Marinduque and we stayed in Tahanan sa Isok. It was located near the center of Boac. We arrived at 3:30AM and requested for any available room since we were really tired from the after-midnight trip. The one in-charge obliged and we were advised to transfer to our previously assigned room in the morning before the actual check in time. The room was nice, it wasn't really a hotel-type room but it was very clean with an AC unit working perfectly. The bathroom has a water heater but the temperature was very difficult to control, you might end up scalding yourself. They provide you with a towel and soap so make sure you bring the basics if you plan to stay there. They also have a very nice swimming pool and a garden outside the dining area.
In the morning, we were allowed to just stay in the room which was initially given to us, instead of transferring to our supposed accommodation. We had a set breakfast of garlic rice, longganisa, egg and coffee. After checking out the next day, I was pleasantly surprised that we were not charged an extra day or even half the daily rate even if we came in way earlier than the check in time.
Tahanan sa Isok is a 15-room accommodation and it gets filled up during the Moriones Festival since a lot of foreigners and pilgrims go to Marinduque during the Holy Week to witness the week-long activities. I would highly recommend this mini hotel to anyone who is planning to visit the island.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chumadle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    8
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
3
4
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2011

We stayed here a day before we went to Bellarocca to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We opted for the cheapest room since we're just staying here for a day and would like to save our cash for the next days. When we got to our room - it smelled like it has not been used for months, even years! The smell is like your dusty, mouldy clothes that were stuck for years at the bottom of your closet. Unlucky me, I instantly has allergies after a few minutes of staying in the room due to dust and the weird smell - I just kept sneezing and sneezing! Not really a good experience...

We also tried to go around town even if it's raining, and the staff were kind enough to let us borrow umbrellas. Nothing much to see around - we just got some groceries on the nearby mini-mart. Food was 'meh'... egg drop soup? (broth with an egg literally dropped on it)... lousy...

To top it all off, that same night, there was a battle of the bands on the hotel dining area... very lucky indeed! We had to endure noise for hours before finally getting some quality sleep. We could not wait to get out of this place and get to our real destination (Bellarocca - which was a breath of fresh air!)

Reason of giving this 2/5 = free wifi at our room and the friendliness of the staff... overall, if you have other options - stay away. This was way back March 2011 - and with Bellarocca's boom, I'm sure there would be other small hotels mushrooming nearby the town.

Room Tip: ASk for a room that is frequently used - most likely they would clean that room more often.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Deevs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2011

We checked-in here after our stay in Bellarocca Island. It is located 20 minutes away from the airport (riding on a tricycle), and it is very near the Boac church and plaza.

To me, it looked like a big house that was turned into an apartelle. The room was a bit "stuffy"... The usual smell of small hotel rooms that haven't been used for a while. My nose and throat got a little irritated from the stuffiness. I guess it would be better to let the air circulate by opening the windows while turning on the air conditioner.

They have a kitchen downstairs. Very very affordable, and yet, the food were really good! If you would want to eat some other place, the town plaza is just near. Just take a tricycle, pay only Php10/person to get to the town. If you go around the town, you can still see very old styled Filipino houses, with windows made of wood and capiz. It reminded me of our grandparents' house in the province :)

The staff were all very accomodating. I would stay here again, but I'll make sure to bring some linen spray, and open the windows first before staying in their room to rest and sleep :)

And do order a whole body massage. They will call some local masseurs, and they are very good! Better actually, than same masseurs in Manila. Php300/person for one hour.

The pictures on their website were probably taken when they first opened their hotel. The rooms feels more older compared to the photos posted.

http://www.tahanansaisok.com/
5 Canovas St., Brgy. Isok 1
Boac, Marinduque
Philippines
Phone: (042) 332-1231
Owner's phone: (042) 332-2144
Email: tahanansaisok34@yahoo.com

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank yzQaLo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasig city
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2010

The hotel is nice and very affordable. The attendants are friendly and courteous

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank powlaw18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marinduque Island hotels
20.0 mi away
Beach Club Cagpo
Beach Club Cagpo
#2 of 4 in Marinduque Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Tahanan sa Isok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tahanan sa Isok

Property: Tahanan sa Isok
Address: Canovas St | Boac, Marinduque Island 4900, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Mimaropa > Marinduque Island
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Marinduque Island
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tahanan sa Isok is a hotel in Boac, Marinduque - located about 20 minutes from the airport and about 30 minutes from Balanacan Port. All of our 15 rooms are air conditioned and have the amenities to make for a comfortable stay. We have a garden to relax in, a swimming pool to refresh in and a restaurant to indulge in. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing