We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's impossible not to fall in-love with this place!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marinduque Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bellarocca Island Resort and Spa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“It's impossible not to fall in-love with this place!”
Reviewed 9 February 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights at the Valhalla villa and the views of the Mountain and the sea are unparalleled. We enjoyed the privacy and the beauty of the villa. The resort itself is Asia's Santorini. The staff is very polite and accommodating. The food is quite good too although it is a bit pricey. Our flight via Zest Air got cancelled last minute, luckily the resort manager let us stay an extra night at the villa without downgrading out accommodation! So very nice and considerate of them when it's not their mistake in the first place. It's a very good honeymoon place, I will surely come back next year.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    47
    26
    10
    3
See reviews for
41
47
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2013

My wife and I had an excellent stay in this resort. It may not have the best beach and my opinion about a greek themed architecture in asia set aside, Bellarocca offers a wonderful private experience with plenty of activities to choose from and most of them are free with your accommodation. During the length of our stay, we felt that we are the only ones there. The biggest let down to Bellarocca is ZestAir which exclusively flies Marinduque-Manila. Our flight was delayed for 6 hours going to Marinduque and more than an hour in our return flight.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Zando E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paranaque, Philippines
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2013

From the airport, it would take you an hour or so, going to the islands, it would take another 20 minutes just by waiting for the available speed boat, bum boat, rubberboat, depends on which ride will be picking you up. The place is really quiet and serene but yes, it is not well maintained. You can see the pools with mold build up. The place is really great but needs a little tweaking. Travel is exhausting, the place is relaxing, then going back home is another dilemma because of the same route. I suggest helicopter pick up fro guests, theres actually a helipad in the island .... But nice ü

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sudhiira24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013

Our stay in Bellarocca was booked through Asiatravel months in advance and my fiance (now husband) was able to get a good deal. There were some issues indirectly linked to Bellarocca as Zest Air, the only commercial carrier to Marinduque cancelled flights to the island and then months after, resumed them. This required a lot of emails and phone calls for refund of flights then rebooking and changing hotel stay based on dates available. We soon learned that booking closer to the date at Bellarocca resulted in a 6 fold increase! But thankfully the booking agent was able to change our date for us without any additional fees or penalty, after explaining our flight issues. Now onto the stay itself. The moment we arrived at Marinduque airport we were greeted by Bellarocca staff, given cold towels and bottled water. After a 30min van ride we took a 5min speedboat to the island. It really felt like a luxury trip, with so few of us there we also felt like we had a private island all to ourselves. The rooms are beautiful, well stocked and the air in the resort is so fresh and breezy, we rarely used the aircon. Service throughout from check in, room service, food service, check out was excellent and attentive. On our first night we had dinner in the outdoor dining area where we watched the sunset whilst having our meal. Staff even put rose petals on our table and offered to take pictures of my husband and I. Now onto the food, the food by Filipino standards is pricey but in comparison to other hotels we stayed at, it's on par. The serving sizes are generous and I believe for 4 day stay we spent about 7,000php on our food which included, breakfasts, lunches, dinners, snacks and poolside drinks. It's more economical to order Filipino dishes and main dishes than just salads and the more Western food. Highly recommend the molo soup, crispy pata (good for 4) and the roast chicken (good for two). For Christmas dinner Bellarocca treated us with a yummy cheese platter and a whole chocolate sponge cake, we were so stuffed we had to bring the rest back to our room. We had such a relaxing stay we'd love to go back, as long as we can get over the small plane ride we took with Zest Air and can also get another good deal. Can't comment much on the watersports as we mostly took walks around the island and went swimming in the infinity pool. Pros: the freshly baked bread with the french butter is delicious! Cons: coffee was a bit weak and serving of coffee is on the small size, best to just make your own in your room.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BVGUARD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pateros, Rizal, Philippines
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013

I recently stayed at the resort last Dec for 2 nights for my girlfriends surprised b-day. It was only then that I got to appreciate the true beauty and the privacy, tranquility and serenity the resort & Marinduque promise. The warmth and genuine smiles and sincerity of the local resort staff made our stay unforgettable. Believe it, We were the only guests in the island and resort was ours for 3 days..whew!
With reference to the activities offered, there is a plethora of things to do and see, both at the resort and on the island of Marinduque. of course we did not expect any night life there because we did our research prior to the trip.Those looking for nightlife here, clearly did not read on what the resort offers and should be in Boracay instead of Marinduque. They have DVD Library, a billiard hall, WIFI internet and computer stations, Hotel and Infinity Lap pool. food is great! Nature Beyond! The bathroom amenities are very unexpected, state of art media/ 5.1 surround with 42" sony bravia. We stayed in a Deluxe room on a our first day and ended the vacation on a suite. It bothers me that many reviews here indicated that there is nothing to do and that its boring?. In addition, previous comments that there is nothing to do in the island, these "complainers" are referring to "nothing FREE to do". If they just went there with some pocket money or extra budget, the marine sports, golf, driving range, island hopping ( ofcourse you have to pay if its motored water activities) local tours of the butterfly farms, churches, hotsprings, fresh waterfalls, caves, the old spanish town and local museum and massages in the treatment rooms or in your accommodation are ALL readily available. So if one will not spend extra or doesn't avail of this, they shouldn't be blaming the resort for their inability to purchase these activities and tours. The resort should not be ruined by reviewers who are on a budget or scrimp on their vacations and expect freebies, when they clearly purchased an item on sale on a bulk buying site. When you buy a roundtrip economy ticket with an airline, why would you expect business class treatment and service.
Bottom line is, Bellarocca is an exceptional resort that offers one with a quiet, peaceful and tranquil holiday away from crowded beaches, masses and a bustling night scene. Plan your trip, read some reviews and dont expect too much if you dont want to expend much.

Thanks to the F&B Staff for the Birthday song, cake and the candle light dinner setup. To their Manila Reservations staff for their assistance and coordination. It was a very memorable experiece for us. Fabulous indeed !

Room Tip: stay on a junior suite. you'll have both the view of the beach on your left and Mt. Malindig on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank itishome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2012

Bellarocca is said to be a luxury 5-star resort but I guess I expected too much for the following reasons:
- We booked a terraza villa which had 2 rooms. The bathroom was ok.. a bit old with a little mold and mildew in the corners of the shower. My bed had a yellow stain which is gross but I decided to just overlook it.. i'm sure they washed the sheets but the stain just wasn't removed. In my 3 days stay there, the sheets weren't changed and the stain stayed as is (eew). Room feels a bit dated.. there were water stains from the airconditioning down to the wall.. Also, the villa had a weird smell like it hasn't been stayed on for a long time
- Food was so-so.. It's a hit or miss.. some of the menu items were good some were not so.. But for the price we are paying, we were expecting top notch food
- Beach is extremely small if you can even call it that..
- Pools were okay.. nothing great. The infinity pool was far from the terrazas so you must take the golf carts (which is readily available anyway)
- Nothing to do in the resort. at the end of our 3 day stay, we couldn't wait to go back home
- We had a tour of the entire facility..saw the more expensive rooms with the private pool, etc. Place was nice but, again, it smells weird..like no one has ever stayed there before. I don't think I'd spend my money to stay in one of those luxury suite villas
- Wifi is available in the lobby and dining area but signal is not so good

Good parts:
- Breakfast was acceptable
- Good service from the staff.. everything was done with a smile
- Free mineral water
- Free use of Karaoke room (closes at 11pm), table tennis, gym

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank joy101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2012

Spent the weekend in Bellaroca with my fiancee, her sister and a friend. The rooms are top notch, spacious and cozy. Bathroom is full featured, and the lay-out is good as well. There are 2 pools, the infinity and the lap pool so you can take your pick where to swim. There isn't much of a "beach" to talk about since its man made and its too rocky.

Great staff and service, but the food served was somewhat average. It could definitely improve still. We did the sunrise climb, waited for the sunset setting, and we did the island tour. We also snorkeled a bit but since the water was rich in algae - there were some jellyfish swimming around albeit small ones. Not as good as Palawan or Bohol but still nice. Great experience over-all.

What's disappointing was the budget airline flight which is the only option to get there. Flight didn't have air conditioning at all. Drains you from the nice relaxing vacation you just had.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kwokie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marinduque Island
0.0 mi away
Beach Club Cagpo
Beach Club Cagpo
#1 of 4 in Marinduque Island
32 reviews
0.0 mi away
DEDON Island Resort
DEDON Island Resort
#4 of 9 in Siargao Island
83 reviews
0.0 mi away
Misibis Bay Resort
Misibis Bay Resort
#1 of 2 in Cagraray Island
756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Bali Beach Garden Resort and SPA Mindoro
0.0 mi away
The Farm at San Benito
The Farm at San Benito
#1 of 7 in Lipa City
370 reviews
0.0 mi away
Eskaya Beach Resort & Spa
Eskaya Beach Resort & Spa
#13 of 49 in Panglao Island
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bellarocca Island Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bellarocca Island Resort and Spa

Property: Bellarocca Island Resort and Spa
Address: Marinduque Island 4904, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Mimaropa > Marinduque Island
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Marinduque Island
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bellarocca Island Resort and Spa in Marinduque is distinct from the other upscale, luxury resorts of its category anywhere in the country. All 20 hectares of Bellarocca Island Resort and Spa is mountainous terrain, with its highest point at 114 meters above sea-level. To many seasoned travellers, the images of the picturesque island of Santorini in Greece come to mind upon approaching the resort. Common to both are its rolling terrain and immaculate white buildings perched atop its cliffs: white structures that reflect the sun and contrast with the azure blue sea below. Bellarocca Island Resort and Spa is located on a small mountain island of the southern coast of Marinduque and offers 69 luxurious deluxe suites, casas, terrazas and private villas (with individual Jacuzzis and infinity pools). Guests relax in utmost privacy while enjoying the resort's complete aqua sports facilities, a full spa and wellness facility, a 9-hole golf course and other land-based recreational activities. Guests arrive on the island direct via commercial flights (SEAIR or Zest Air), private helicopters, chartered flights from Manila to Marinduque or onboard an exclusive luxury yacht. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bellarocca Island Hotel Marinduque

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing