We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A place where you could do nothing and still have an incredible time”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marinduque Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bellarocca Island Resort and Spa
Philippines
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A place where you could do nothing and still have an incredible time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2010

The total travel time from the airport to the island (plane, van & boat) took just under 90 minutes. We booked a Terraza which was more that what I expected. The Bellarocca website doesn't show interiors of the units so I was pleasantly suprised with two large bedrooms with a kitchen and dining room. The bedrooms were well appointed with wired internet access and incredibly comfortable beds and beddings. The bathroom was well stocked with toiletries by Molton Brown and oversized bath towels. Also included in the room were waffle robes with matching bedroom slippers.

Despite the many luxuries the resort had on offer, for me, the view of Mount Malindig from any point in the resort (whether indoors or out) coupled with the absence of crowds, proved to be the most therapeutic. It was also quite refreshing to be able to avail of many of the non-motorized watersports without having to wait. Resort staff seem to be required to accompany all guests even when indulging in water activites, thereby adding a certain degree of security.

The staff of the resort are very well-trained to be courteous. They do their best to cater to your every whim. Requests for private meals are done with efficiency and flair. The resort has many pockets of private spaces where special meals and\or treatments can be arranged. Perfect for couples on a romantic holiday.

The food, while pricey, is quite good and the servings are plentiful. They likewise have a spa which is quite indulgent in amenities while offering a view that is hard to beat.

Something I would suggest the resort can improve on is making it more elderly friendly. While wheelchair access is standard in the entire resort, railings in the bathrooms and staircases would be helpful for more mobile senior citizens.

The beach is also nothing great, largely because of the rough coral sand which is downright painful on barefeet. However, what the beach lacks in comfort, the water more than makes up for in terms on conduciveness to sport.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank moleonthesole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    47
    26
    10
    3
See reviews for
41
47
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Caloocan City
Level Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2010

Our Zest Air flight for Marinduque scheduled to leave at 7am was delayed for almost two hours. The plane only had 15 rows of four seats each. The flight was only 30 minutes!

When we got to the Marinduque Airport at Gasan, we were picked up by vans from the Bellarocca Resort where we were booked. We followed the main road to the southern tip of the island province. The was still a very long stretch of rough road. The surrounding plant life was quite dull and dry, but the seaside scenes can be quite dramatic. This rough road was actually the foot of the dormant volcano, Mt. Malindig. The road trip was about 45 minutes.

And then there it was, Elephant Island, now called Bellarocca (Greek for "beautiful rock"). It took another five minutes or so of a motorized banca ride to get to the island itself. The island had been transformed by its Japanese owner into a mini replica of Santorini Island in Greece. We were welcomed by a group of young native dancers. Then we were greeted by the French Gen. Manager, Mr. Gaultier. We were then brought to the main hotel using golf carts. My room had a great view of the lap pool, the sea and the main island.

I joined the short tour around the resort. We were shown the various types of accommodations, the terrazas, the cliffside villas, etc. each in its own unique Santorini design. They had ethereal names of the Greek Gods or legendary gardens.

We learned from the guide that the resort opened only last Feb. 14, 2009. We visited the Tea Room, the Meditation Room (2 weddings had been held here already), and the Remote Spa. A lot of its facilities are still under construction though.

Everything was very scenic and quiet. The staff was very accommodating and friendly. You can wander around by yourself and not encounter anybody. This place is really geared for a getaway from the hustle and stress of city life.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DMHYF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
150 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2010

Nice resort they have great rooms, nice pools, good food but expensive, warm staff and lots of water activities to do like wind surfing, snorkeling, jet skiing etc. best for honeymooners. this place is very peaceful.

Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank cresil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roxas City, Philippines
Level Contributor
132 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2010

If you want to go to a place that is completely PRIVATE to relax and bond with your love one - then Bellarocca Island Resort is the place for you. Despite having more than 50 guests at the time we were there, we still had the swimming pools (there were two) all to ourselves. The resort is so picturesque that you can have your pictures taken anywhere and they will come out good!

Six stars service - from the time we landed at the Marinduque airport until we left for Manila. They make all the effort to please their guests.

But for the steep price, one would also expect the food to be at par with other 5 star hotels or resorts elsewhere. To be fair, the food was not that bad. But I do not expect to be served with powdered orange juice for breakfast! Or luke-warm brewed coffee for that matter. I suspect that their chef (recruited from Manila Hotel, where food is not necessarily the best in Manila) used to be a pastry chef because the dessert spread is GREAT.

The place is not ideal for kids though - there are not enough things to do there aside from swimming and lounging around. The small "beach" is made up of dead corrals so it's not pleasant to the bare feet.

But for complete relaxation - this is an ideal place to do NOTHING! :)

BTW, forget about taking the four hour town tour of mainland Marinduque. Unless it's holy week (Moriones festival), there is nothing significant to see in the town.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rickydmd888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2010

From Manila we took a propellar plane and landed on a dirt runway! that alone for me was an experience. The resort van picked us up at the airport and drove us through some of the most eye opening third world living that I have never seen. Then we boarded a small boat to take us to the island. (see website www.bellarocca.com) the site doesn't lie! It was the most relaxing two days I have ever had. If you need to write a book in peace and quiet that would be the place to go! The resort was just under a year old (1yr anniv. in Feb 2010) so they were still under construction with some of the ammenities. but it was still worth the trip and would love to return when all of the accomodations are open. great place for a honeymoon or anniversary present. very secluded and first class service. the beach is very small but we stayed in a suite with a private pool which was great.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TimmonsFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Pinas, Philippines
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2009

Luxurious accommodations, excellent service, tasty meals, mouth-watering desserts, extremely comfortable beds, the attention to detail (in every aspect), the serene surroundings....i could go on and on.

We were lucky that we were able to avail of their soft-opening rates and packages. We (with my husband, brother-in-law, and friends) availed of their 3-days, 2-nights package with meals and were not in any way disappointed. The set meals included were sumptuous and beautifully plated. Our third night was supposed to be spent in a nice little inn in Boac town so that we could explore the sights of Marinduque, but we all decided that we did not want to leave the tranquility of this place. We felt that we had the whole resort to ourselves, with all the super friendly staff catering to all our needs, and the General Manager personally entertaining us with his hilarious stories.

Their spa facilities are still being completed at the time we were there, but we still had a wonderfully memorable stay. The special surprise dinner set-up they prepared for us on our second night was truly overwhelming! I can not say enough about this place. One has to actually experience Bellarocca to really appreciate what this resort has to offer. We are all already aching to go back.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank momsie1017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2009

My wife heard about Bellarocca resort from a common friend of ours who shared positive reviews of it after spending his vacation there with his family. Lucky for us, we were still able to catch their promo period and thus enjoyed a lower package rate - about 40%-off their regular prices, I think.

After a quick 35-minute flight from Manila to Marinduque airport, a 40-45 min on board the resort van, and an exciting 5 minute speed boat trip from the shore, we finally made it to Bellarocca. And if you've managed to get hold of a copy of their brochure, or seen photos of the place on the net, then you're in for a pleasant surprise - being there feels so much better than seeing it on a 2-dimensional surface. They called it "beautiful rock", and believe me, that's the best way to describe it.

It's architectural design fools guests into thinking that they're on a private Greek island. From the main reception building to the beach pavillon to the villas and terrazas, everything followed the same theme. It was a very welcome change from the more "conventional" resort designs.

Buildings were well-spaced out, giving each structure (and whoever its occupants were), a good sense of privacy. Golf carts are the main mode of transportation here. Just get in touch with any of their staff , and in just a few minutes, either a 4-seater or a 6-seater arrives, driven by their very friendly and hospitable staff, ready to take you anywhere on the island.

And since I already mentioned the staff, I have never received such warm and caring treatment compared to any other place (be it a hotel or resort) that I've been to. From the moment their staff welcomes us upon our arrival at the Marinduque airport to the time they handed to us our boarding passes for our trip back home, the way they treated us never changed. There was always a smile on their face, and we really felt like they really cared about our welfare while staying with them.

I'd like to go on an enumerate the many positives about the place, but then find myself confused over where to start. I believe, though, that I managed to cover the more significant ones (at least to me) in this narrative.

I'm looking forward to returning to Bellarocca one day, a place of relaxation and solitude, where all you'll be really worried about is, "do I really have to leave this place?"

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank markiphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marinduque Island
0.0 mi away
Beach Club Cagpo
Beach Club Cagpo
#1 of 4 in Marinduque Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
0.0 mi away
Misibis Bay Resort
Misibis Bay Resort
#1 of 2 in Cagraray Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Farm at San Benito
The Farm at San Benito
#1 of 7 in Lipa City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Bali Beach Garden Resort and SPA Mindoro
0.0 mi away
Eskaya Beach Resort & Spa
Eskaya Beach Resort & Spa
#13 of 48 in Panglao Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
0.0 mi away
Palm Beach Resort
Palm Beach Resort
#1 of 6 in Laiya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bellarocca Island Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bellarocca Island Resort and Spa

Property: Bellarocca Island Resort and Spa
Address: Marinduque Island 4904, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Mimaropa > Marinduque Island
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Marinduque Island
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bellarocca Island Resort and Spa in Marinduque is distinct from the other upscale, luxury resorts of its category anywhere in the country. All 20 hectares of Bellarocca Island Resort and Spa is mountainous terrain, with its highest point at 114 meters above sea-level. To many seasoned travellers, the images of the picturesque island of Santorini in Greece come to mind upon approaching the resort. Common to both are its rolling terrain and immaculate white buildings perched atop its cliffs: white structures that reflect the sun and contrast with the azure blue sea below. Bellarocca Island Resort and Spa is located on a small mountain island of the southern coast of Marinduque and offers 69 luxurious deluxe suites, casas, terrazas and private villas (with individual Jacuzzis and infinity pools). Guests relax in utmost privacy while enjoying the resort's complete aqua sports facilities, a full spa and wellness facility, a 9-hole golf course and other land-based recreational activities. Guests arrive on the island direct via commercial flights (SEAIR or Zest Air), private helicopters, chartered flights from Manila to Marinduque or onboard an exclusive luxury yacht. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bellarocca Island Hotel Marinduque

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing