We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise is here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Taboga Eco Boutique Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Monte Gordo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 24 July 2014

I had the privilege to stay for a short trip at this hotel - and it was simply perfect. The staff was friendly, the place was neat and amazing, and the moment you arrive and see it all (the quiet beach, the perfect sea) will be a memory that you'll keep for a long time. If you have the chance, do discover the surroundings! I had a amazing time at Chachalacas on the sand dunes. This ecohotel has gotten great reviews and now i understand why. If you wish to unwind, it is the perfect place to do so.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Sophie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (145)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 145 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2013

Myself and a friend stayed here recently for 8 nights. We hired a car a drove North for 2hrs ish from Veracruz airport which although sounded daunting was very simple and Taboga can easily be found without a sat nav as it is basically just one road (the 180) all the way up. The hotel was beautiful and very much off the regular tourist trapping route. The stunning clean beach was about a 20 meter walk from the hotel pool and so quiet that it almost felt we had booked into a hotel with a private beach!

Being off the tourist track we were never bothered by people trying to sell us postcards etc, however it also meant that if you didn't speak Spanish then communicating in the area was a little challenging. A great bonus at this hotel was the manager is a native English speaker and many of the staff can also understand and/or use basic English terms. There are lots of things to do for the more sporty types, local attractions like El Tajin for the culture types and a beautiful setting for the pina colada by the pool types. I would recommend in particular taking the opportunity of getting a kitesurfing lesson from Omid who although an excellent kitesurfer himself is also a great teacher plus his rates are better than in the UK and the water is a lot warmer! I would also recommend a stand-up paddleboard (SUP) tour of the local mangroves with Omid. He has an excellent stock of new SUP kit and kite kit that is great, easy and safe to use.

The day staff were also very welcoming, were always on-hand if we needed anything and the food was excellent every time and would be served at anytime thoughout the day. I would happily book into this hotel again and most definitely recommend it to anyone who is after a beautiful beach/sport/cultural holiday experience off the regular tourist route.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 123Cazzi123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2012

Awsome place, whent there and didnt know what to expeact but i was blown away by the magical place, the great service and delicious food. I had the best kiteboarding setion i had in months Omid is fantastic teacher!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sotnam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2011

I stayed here in October with 3 other friends and was blown away with the whole stay. I didn't really know what to expect as I'd never been to Mexico before, all I can say is I'm planning my next trip there already! The owners who run the hotel are a mexican/english couple and are very hands on and give a real personal service. There wasn't anything that was too much trouble, they organised trips for us, gave us ideas of what we could do and see. I looked up the place on google earth before we went and thought we might struggle to find stuff to do, we went to see some local ruins, visited some towns close by, went quad biking amongst other stuff and most importantly kite surfing! The hotel is on a beautiful stretch of immaculately clean sandy beach. They have a kite instructor who lives on site so I had lessons from him and the owner who also kites. They are both great teachers who really took their time to understand me and how best to teach me - it was great! After a hard day learning there was nothing better than sitting in one of their hammocks or in their bar outside in the breeze and sun and relaxing. The staff were really friendly, the rooms were really clean and I have to say that although we did a lot of activities it was one of those holidays I came away from really refreshed and relaxed and for once not needing another holiday to get over it! I am definitely going back there and would have no problem in recommending this place to anyone who is looking to stay in Mexico. If your looking for a crazy place full of drunken tourists then you should stick to Ibiza or something, if your looking for somewhere to really experience the culture, local people, great kite surfing experience and a 1st class service then this is my number one choice - cant say a bad word about the place!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tomsealey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2011

During a recent trip to Veracruz, Mexico we were lucky enough to find out about this little gem of a hotel located in Costa Esmeralda along the beautiful and peaceful beach. The staff were always on hand and we felt very looked after which is why I cannot fault the service one bit. The manager is a native English speaker and with expert knowledge on the local area was more than helpful in planning out day trips around the surrounding area. We picked this hotel due to the beach location and distance to the El Tajin ruins which is a short drive away. The rooms were perfect, good quality (A/C, Sky TV etc) and were spotlessly clean. The rooms closer to the beach had more appeal to use than the ones nearer the entrance. Food was great and we could the ingredients were very fresh! (eg, seafood) - There are some lovely restaurants in the nearby vicinity but we found ourselves constantly drawn back to the food at Taboga due to the quality and reasonable price - the beach bar is a great place to hangout too!. Another place I can recommend is Hotel Arena which also serves great food - this is just a short 2min drive down the road. I cannot recommend this hotel enough and would like to extend a big thankyou to the staff at Taboga for making our trip to Mexico one that we will never forget!

Room Tip: Rooms nearer the beach/pool area were best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2011

Me and a few friends recently stayed at Taboga Hotel! We are all in our 20's so although we love to chill out we also enjoy doing fun things to fill our days when in the mood! Taboga Hotel is perfect for both, it's quiet and very peaceful surroundings are perfect for chilling by the pool but the great thing is we could also do soo many different activities like kite surfing, body boarding, quad biking, theres even a giant trampoline that we found ourselves spending a good few hours on! We visited the 'El Tajin' ruins which are a short hour drive away from Taboga and we also took a drive to Chachalacas sand dunes where you can rent quad bikes and ride the dunes which was great fun! Dont be afriad to ask the owners for directions to the near by sites as Omid was very helpful in drawing us a map of how to get to these places and good spots to stop along the way like restaurants and shops. All the staff at Taboga are all such happy nice people, who tend to your every need. The kite surf instructor Nando was a great guy and made our lessons very fun! All the meals we had from Taboga menu were delicious, all fresh local ingredients & tasted amazing! The rooms are all very clean, very spacious with extremely comfy beds and great bathroom facilities! I would advise anyone who's visiting Mexico to stay at Taboga wether its for a week or just a couple of days, you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2011

Awesome kite spot to learn and perform!
Water is warm, beach is nice, and people are super kind!
It is a cool Hotel located on Costa Esmeralda,ideal to spend a week end or vaccations.
Interresting cultural things around as well ! Always something to do.
And the food is great... so do not hesitate

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicko_V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monte Gordo
16.3 mi away
Hotel Santa Luisa Finca-Resort
0.7 mi away
Hotel Azucar
Hotel Azucar
#2 of 3 in Monte Gordo
100 reviews
11.8 mi away
Hotel Istirincha
Hotel Istirincha
#1 of 2 in Nautla
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.8 mi away
Hotel Real del Quijote
Hotel Real del Quijote
#7 of 8 in Tecolutla
10 reviews
21.9 mi away
Hotel Casa Blanca
Hotel Casa Blanca
#2 of 2 in Martinez de la Torre
2 reviews
18.3 mi away
Hotel Palencia
Hotel Palencia
#1 of 1 in Gutierrez Zamora
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taboga Eco Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taboga Eco Boutique Hotel

Address: Carretera Federal Nautla Poza Rica Km 82.5 | Costa Esmeralda, Monte Gordo 93588, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Veracruz > Monte Gordo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Monte Gordo
Price Range: £50 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Taboga Eco Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taboga: Eco Boutique Hotel was designed by a well travelled English/Mexican couple. It has been inspired by truly beautiful beach hotels from around the world. Here you will find the perfect combination of natural beauty and balanced energy that will make your stay an unforgettable experience. You can expect open spaces, beautiful gardens and access to a clean and quiet beach. Try your hand at Kitesurfing in our fully equipped school with certified instructors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Taboga Eco Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taboga Eco Boutique Hotel Mexico/Veracruz - Monte Gordo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing