We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“the best!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of York House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Borth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
York House
Ranked #3 of 4 Borth B&B and Inns
Banbury, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“the best!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2013

I really cant say enough good things about staying here.The rooms are spotless...the breakfasts are spectacular.Its like having breakfast in a restaurant.....smoked salmon,poached eggs done properly,smo,ed haddock,creamy yogurt and lots of fruit and cereals.
The residents lounge was great....being able to bring a meal home and have plates glasses and cutlery provided was a real treat.
Staying here was such a luxuryvery good value and i cant wait to come back.

Room Tip: We were two friends on a girlie break and had the family room at £70 a night.Excellent value,really...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
18
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, South Australia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

We found Peebles by chance whilst looking for accommodation after a long day's drive. We had a fantastic ground floor room with a four poster bed overlooking the sea front. The hosts were fantastic, they certainly know how to make their guests feel comfortable. The breakfast was amazing, great choice and well cooked. I would recommend Peebles to anyone visiting South Wales.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthWest UK
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2012

We booked a night at York House, as we were visiting friends, and we were not disappointed as usual. We have stayed at Pebbles on several occasions and at York House once before, both truly wonderful. The Compass room in York House is amazing: huge bed, luxurious bathroom, with bath and shower, and a compass (which is correctly aligned) and our hosts, Rona and Phil, were more than happy for us to eat our takeway there. Breakfast was fantastic, local Welsh produce all cooked to perfection. My only regret is we couldn't stay another night, as my husband had to get back for work!

Room Tip: The Compass room everytime, worth it for the comfort and the sea view (just across the road)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jainw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

Attached to Pebbles guest house my review will give you more information but rest assured that this is the place to say in the Aberystwyth area, beautiful rooms, great location, reasonably price, fantastic breakfasts and lovely hosts - you won't beat it!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HevNige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2012

We have been visiting this area of North Wales for more years than we care to remember and York House is the best guest house we have ever stayed at. The room we stayed in was beautiful and the view was to die for. The breakfast was on a par with some 5 star hotels we have stayed in, we will definitely be returning and hopefully the weather will be a little warmer.
Trev & Liz

Room Tip: Book a room with a sea view, it will take your breath away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trevor R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redditch, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

We've just come back from our third stay at this little gem (my daughter is at nearby Aberystwyth University) and we will certainly be going back again and again and again. Rona is there each time to greet us with a warm welcome, interesting conversation and a tray of tea and Welsh cakes brought to us in the residents lounge which overlooks the beach. During the course of our stays and between the various family members, we've sampled 4 of the rooms, all of which have been lovely. The rooms are all tastefully furnished and decorated, very cosy, with facilities for making tea, coffee or hot chocolate and with biscuits and bottled water. All the rooms were ensuite (the towels are unbelievably fluffy!!) and with TV and the beds are really comfy.
The breakfast bar is amazing: 5 different fruit juices (including freshly squeezed orange juice), cereals, charcuterie, prunes, grapefruit, Greek yoghurt, selection of nuts, selection of cheeses, jams, bread rolls and then there's the array of choices from the menu of freshly cooked breakfasts....we've never left hungry yet!!!
The prices per room per night (which of course includes breakfast) are very reasonable and Rona and Phil are the perfect hosts. Thankfully my daughter has 2 more years to go at the uni, so I've got plenty of excuses to return to this lovely B&B....can't wait til the next time! :-)

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

Ideal little place comfortable room all conveniences. Fridge and microwave in resident lounge very useful. Room cost and lovely window seat to watch the sea. Good breakfast. Cost unknown

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boijg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to York House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about York House

Property: York House
Address: Borth SY24 5HY, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Borth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Borth
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
York House Borth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing