We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful accommodation”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Borth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Heulwen Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 4 Borth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful accommodation”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We stayed here for a weekend in September 2013. We had a family room, which was very comfortable, clean and quiet with plenty of toys to keep the children amused. Lovely breakfasts. A good location very close to the beach and near plenty of beautiful countryside, even if the weather was somewhat Welsh. It would also be ideal for anyone travelling by public transport as it is just opposite the station.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    4
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
26
39
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

This B&B is in a great location right next to the sea. We stayed in the family room for one night over the bank holiday weekend and couldn't have been happier with our stay. Shirley was so welcoming and gave me her mobile number before we arrived so I could see if the room was ready for when we arrived - and it was which meant we could get into our room at 11:30am which is brilliant when you have young children like we do (1&3 years). The family room is fantastic with a double bed, bunk beds and a single bed, table & chairs and sofa and TV - they also provided a cot for our one year old too. The best thing about this B&B is that you don't need to take a thing!! There are so many toys and books that your little ones will be kept quiet for hours! They also let you take a wide range of beach toys to the beach which is brilliant - you just help yourself and return them when you're finished. The B&B was really quiet and we slept really well, we didn't hear a peep from anyone else (though with our 2 young children we might have woken others!).
Also this B&B is spotlessly clean which is lovely, and the bathroom, which although is not directly connected with the family room is large and very clean.
The breakfast was lovely and for us as a family so welcoming, which is a refreshing change. When we came down for breakfast our table was laid out with plastic bowls & beakers and small cutlery for our girls - when they brought through the breakfast for our girls they brought through the sausages we'd asked for already cut up which meant everything had cooled down enough for them to eat straight away. It's the little touches like this that go a long way.
An extra special mention to Shirley who went out of her way to post back a shirt of my husband's which we left in the wardrobe (despite Shirley asking us several times if we'd remembered everything!!) Could not recommend this B&B highly enough.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SSBS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Booked my mum in law in at Heulwen for a week in August - its her second visit. The room was large, beautifully clean and with a stunning little outdoor area.The breakfasts were fantastic and the hosts are lovely. This is a fabulous place to stay for those who want to be looked after and treated as special.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank japmap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malta
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Stayed at Heulwen B&B in August and we spent a night in the Family Room. The room was huge and very clean. It was equipped with everything (tea, coffee, sofa, four beds (+ a double bed), a big TV, and a large window overlooking the rest of the street. The bathroom was across the hall but it was clean and very large.

It is situated right next to the Borth railway station which can easily connect you to the main town, Aberystwyth. It is also next to the beach and along the promenade you can easily find a good place to eat.

Breakfast was very good and the family who runs the place were very nice, helpful and extremely friendly!

Would suggest this B&B to anyone and would definitely visit again!

Room Tip: I'm sure that all rooms are great, so all would be pleasant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlenSpiteri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llandudno Junction, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Stayed at Heulwen B&B 1st - 4th August and found it delightful. The suite was large, spotless, very comfortable and well equipped! Everything we needed for a long weekend. We received a lovely welcome and the breakfasts were amazing! We would most certainly stay here when next in Borth.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coljabec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nuneaton
Level Contributor
164 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We spent two nights here in the Lilac room, the Family room and the downstairs room at the back. Both are enormous, well equipped and very comfortable and have all nice little touches that make a very good B&B great such as well stocked tea/coffee, high quality bathroom consumables, nice biscuits, a fridge and a jug of water Great views from the Lilac room too. We have stayed in many, many B&Bs and we expect high standards, Heulwen did not disappoint us in our high expectations. Spotlessly clean, nicely furnished and very well maintained. Shirley and Francis are excellent hosts and serve up a high quality bounteous breakfast in the morning. Although our girls are older now we can imagine that younger families will have a great time here too, the family room is enormous and even has a table and chairs. Book here and you can't go wrong.

Room Tip: The Lilac room has a little lobby with fridge etc, large bathroom with shower, a sofa and a chair. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nuneatonmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llandudno Junction, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Stayed at Heulwen B&B 1st - 4th August and found it delightful. The suite was large, spotless, very comfortable and well equipped! Everything we needed for a long weekend. We received a lovely welcome and the breakfasts were amazing! We would most certainly stay here when next in Borth.

Room Tip: We had the lilac suite, a few stairs but well worth the climb! Sea view from side of front window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColletteR2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Borth
5.3 mi away
Harry's Hotel
Harry's Hotel
#5 of 13 in Aberystwyth
300 reviews
5.2 mi away
Premier Inn Aberystwyth
Premier Inn Aberystwyth
#4 of 13 in Aberystwyth
120 reviews
5.4 mi away
Gwesty Cymru
Gwesty Cymru
#1 of 13 in Aberystwyth
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
#9 of 13 in Aberystwyth
322 reviews
0.0 mi away
YHA Borth
YHA Borth
#1 of 6 in Borth
54 reviews
3.7 mi away
Seabreeze Restaurant with Rooms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heulwen Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heulwen Bed and Breakfast

Property: Heulwen Bed and Breakfast
Address: 5 Cambrian Terrace | Aberystwyth, Borth SY24 5HU, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Borth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Borth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Heulwen Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just imagine waking up to the sound of the sea & looking out of the window to the splendid backdrop of the Cambrian Mountains & Cors Fochno. Heulwen B&B is situated 9 milesNorth of Aberystwyth & is conveniently situated close to the Railway Station, Beach & Golf Course. All rooms are tastefully furnished & fully equipped to make your stay as comfortable & welcoming as possible. *Free Wi Fi available* Holistic Therapies are also available to all guest at a reduced price. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Heulwen Bed And Breakfast Borth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing