We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long wait for a sandwich and poor service”
Review of Sands Bistro

Sands Bistro
Ranked #1 of 2 Dessert in Borth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Description: Cafe and restaurant
Restaurant details
Description: Cafe and restaurant
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Long wait for a sandwich and poor service”
Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

The cafe was really noisy with the door slamming constantly and lots of banging on the counter. The service was poor, the waitress wasnt friendly and slammed our food and drinks down without a word. Waited for ages for a sandwich which was very mediocre. Wouldnt bother returning.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lupiloo1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    37
    10
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food and Dog Friendly!”
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Ate her on three occasions during out stay, the conservatory allows dogs in so if the weather turns you are nice and warm inside. On our days it was sunny and we chose to sit outside with our dog.

The service was fast and the staff were friendly thank you!!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanidloes, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“it was because we were hungry”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

And the Victoria had closed until the evening, otherwise we probably wouldn't have ended up here. The service was friendly, and even though we were told that we would have to go inside to order, a waitress came into the conservatory for our order :-) The All Day Breakfast looked a bit anaemic but tasted reasonable. the burger, however, was less than mediocre; bought in, made from elderly livestock, rolled out thin and not palatable at all. When it came to paying, a different s waitress at first tried to charge extra for the tree free with the All Day Breakfast... We noticed! A shame.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Vertaler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
loobyloo40
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“lovely food and staff”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

lovely place to eat and the food is very good. always visit here when we stay in borth. will be visiting again soon.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank loobyloo40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Breakfast and Milkshake.”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

The breakfast was superb. Big, filling and absolutely devine! Taste and substance. And the Banana Milkshake was out of this world. Sand's was the cherry on top of the perfect holiday.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kriss H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sands Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Sands Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing